Yves Debigaré: An IT coordinator serving his community

There are those who work with new technologies in concert with the students. There are also those for whom a connected school means creating applications that will facilitate the work of the school administration. Yves Debigaré is one of them.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

There are those who work with new technologies in concert with the students. There are also those for whom a connected school means creating applications that will facilitate the work of the school administration. Yves Debigaré is one of them.

Courtesy of Yves Debigaré

As part of its 50e anniversary, the Association québécoise des cadres scolaires (AQCS) honoured ten managers with remarkable backgrounds and accomplishments, including Yves Debigaré, who has developed a series of applications to make it easier for those who interact with students.

Coordinator of the application systems and development sector in the information technology department of the Centre de services scolaires (CSS) des Patriotes, in the Mont St-Hilaire region, he has just won one of the awards presented by the AQCS in the Up-and-Coming category at its Cadre scolaire émérite and Reconnaissance awards.

Debigaré set up a web application co-development project for his CSS. "Instead of working in silos, co-development allows committed CSSs to bring their strengths to a project," he explains.

Examples of applications

Mr. Debigaré specifies that he and his team have developed a good dozen applications, including 3 or 4 in the context of co-development. His research is mainly in the field of software.

The pandemic was a source of motivation and inspiration for the man who had mostly worked in private industry before joining the Patriots' CSS. With homeschooling in full swing in 2020 and 2021 and students sometimes in urgent need of tutors, Yves Debigaré designed an application linked to a central database that facilitated the matching of students and tutors. Tutors could see the needs of students who were asking for help, while putting forward their own teacher profile.

It's the kind of tool that "lightens the workload for administrators," says Debigaré. We worked hard, but we got there on time."

Also during the pandemic, several schools needed to know if parents were sufficiently equipped with computer equipment to allow their children to take their classes remotely. Yves Debigaré took on the task and constructed a survey to identify equipment needs.

Yves Debigaré mentioned that many of the research projects in the application systems and development sector of the CSS des Patriotes' information technology department are carried out in collaboration with GRICS, an information technology company specializing in education in Quebec.

Other accomplishments include applications to showcase regional summer school offerings online and a console to track student absences, employee absences and group closures.

The AQCS award is one more element in Yves Debigaré's motivation for his work. And he already has several other ideas! "For 2022, the project book is very full," he says in conclusion.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Yves Debigaré : Un coordonnateur TI au service de son milieu

Il y a ceux qui travaillent avec les nouvelles technologies de concert avec les élèves. Il y a aussi ceux pour qui une école branchée signifie créer des applications qui vont faciliter le travail de l’administration scolaire. Yves Debigaré est de ceux-là.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Il y a ceux qui travaillent avec les nouvelles technologies de concert avec les élèves. Il y a aussi ceux pour qui une école branchée signifie créer des applications qui vont faciliter le travail de l’administration scolaire. Yves Debigaré est de ceux-là.

Gracieuseté d’Yves Debigaré

Dans le cadre de son 50e anniversaire, l’Association québécoise des cadres scolaires (AQCS) a honoré dix gestionnaires aux parcours et aux réalisations remarquables, dont Yves Debigaré, qui a mis en place une série d’applications pour rendre plus facile la tâche de ceux qui sont en contact avec les élèves.

Coordonnateur du secteur des systèmes applicatifs et du développement au service des technologies de l’information du Centre de services scolaire (CSS) des Patriotes, dans la région notamment du Mont St-Hilaire, il vient de remporter l’une des récompenses décernées par l’AQCS, dans la catégorie Relève, lors de sa remise des Prix Cadre scolaire émérite et Reconnaissance.

M. Debigaré a mis en place un projet de codéveloppement d’applications Web pour son CSS. « Au lieu de travailler en silo, le codéveloppement permet aux CSS engagés d’apporter leurs forces à un projet », explique-t-il.

Des exemples d’applications

M. Debigaré précise qu’il a mis au point avec son équipe une bonne douzaine d’applis dont 3 ou 4 dans le cadre du codéveloppement. Ses recherches portent principalement dans le domaine des logiciels.

La pandémie aura été une source de motivation et d’inspiration pour celui qui avait surtout fait carrière dans le privé avant de se joindre au CSS des Patriotes. Alors que l’éducation à la maison battait son plein en 2020 et 2021 et que les élèves avaient parfois un urgent besoin de tuteurs, Yves Debigaré a conçu une application reliée à une banque centrale qui a facilité le jumelage entre élèves et tuteurs. Ces derniers pouvaient voir quels étaient les besoins des élèves qui demandaient de l’aide, tout en mettant de l’avant leur propre profil d’enseignant.

C’est le genre « d’outil qui allège le travail des administrateurs, estime M. Debigaré. On a travaillé fort, mais on est arrivé dans les temps. »

Toujours pendant la pandémie, plusieurs écoles avaient besoin de savoir si les parents étaient suffisamment équipés en termes de matériel informatique pour permettre à leurs enfants de suivre leurs cours à distance. Yves Debigaré s’est attelé à la tâche et a construit un sondage en vue d’identifier les besoins en matière d’équipement.

Yves Debigaré mentionne que plusieurs des recherches au sein du secteur des systèmes applicatifs et du développement au service des technologies de l’information du CSS des Patriotes se font en collaboration avec la GRICS, entreprise de technologie de l’information spécialisée en éducation au Québec.

Parmi ses réalisations, on peut aussi ajouter des applications pour présenter l’offre régionale de cours d’été en ligne et une console de suivi des absences d’élèves, d’employés et de fermetures de groupe.

Le prix de l’AQCS est un élément de plus dans la motivation d’Yves Debigaré à l’égard de son travail. Et il a déjà plusieurs autres idées! « Pour 2022, le carnet de projets est très chargé! », dit-il en conclusion.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :