Vaccines and COVID-19: where are we exactly?

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

November 18, 2020. Just over eight months after the start of the global COVID-19 pandemic and a frantic race for the miracle cure, two vaccines appear to be effective and safe at 95% according to the full results of their clinical trials. Insights into how a vaccine is made.
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

November 18, 2020. Just over eight months after the start of the global COVID-19 pandemic and a frantic race for the miracle cure, two vaccines appear to be effective and safe at 95% according to the full results of their clinical trials.

This means that Moderna and the Pfizer / BioNTech alliance will soon be able to potentially provide billions of doses to try to eradicate the new coronavirus which continues to claim victims all over the planet. The chances are therefore good that the first Americans will be vaccinated before the end of 2020.

The United States, Europe, Canada, Japan and other wealthy countries have already reserved hundreds of millions of doses of one or both vaccines. A logistical difference exists, on the other hand, between the two vaccines: that of Pfizer is more complicated to distribute, because it must be transported at -70 ° C, against -20 ° C for Moderna.

A compulsory vaccine?

Could a vaccine as important as that against COVID-19 be mandatory? In Quebec, the probability is very low, according to Dr. Arruda:

“We have a law in Quebec which allows for an obligation to vaccinate in exceptional circumstances of a health crisis. I want to tell you that we have never used it and that it is not at all in our boxes, indicated the DArruda at a press briefing, Tuesday, in Quebec. "

Le Journal de Québec, Tuesday, November 17, 2020

According to a recent survey, approximately 70% of the Quebec population would be inclined to be vaccinated against COVID-19. And the arrival of a vaccine would not be synonymous with the end of the health measures in place. Mr. Arruda warns by mentioning that the wearing of the mask could continue:

“To think that the day we have a vaccine, we come back as before the COVID in the short term, I think it's no, he admitted. According to the national director of public health, it is still too early to say for how many months the health measures will remain in place. "

Le Journal de Québec, Tuesday, November 17, 2020

The role of vaccines

Vaccines are used to protect people by preventing them from developing certain potentially dangerous diseases. During vaccination, the bacteria or attenuated virus is introduced into the body. An attenuated infectious agent is harmless to our health since it cannot cause disease. This is where the immune system kicks in by making antibodies to fight off the bacteria or virus in question. The body therefore trains itself to fight the enemy and if it encounters it for real, it will be protected from it and will not fall ill!

The antibodies that have been developed with the vaccine may be effective against several strains of the same virus at the same time. For example, in the case of influenza, the vaccine contains three different strains (influenza type B, H1N1 and H3N2), which all circulate at the same time, and therefore may be effective against either of these influenza. In 2020, we are talking about an efficacy of 69% for influenza type B, 44% for H1N1 and 62% against H3N2. Overall, this vaccine protects up to 58%.

The manufacture of vaccines

The manufacture of vaccines makes it possible to obtain viruses or bacteria which have lost their pathogenicity, but which have retained their characteristics. Once injected, the vaccine allows the body to produce specific antibodies without developing the disease. To begin manufacturing a vaccine, researchers perform a massive cell culture of the bacteria or virus in question. Then, the collected cells must be heated and treated with chemicals in order to make them harmless.

There are two main processes in vaccine design: live (attenuated) vaccines and inert (inactivated) vaccines. Live or attenuated vaccines, such as those against measles, mumps and rubella require an infectious agent that is still alive, but which has lost its power to infect due to chemical treatments. Other vaccines, like rabies, are created by suppressing infectious agents living in viruses. Or as with tetanus, only a harmless part of the bacteria is used. These are called inert or inactivated vaccines.

Challenge

At least nine other pharmaceutical or biotech companies are working hard to present a vaccine candidate likely to hit the market soon. Search the Internet for the names of these companies and give a particular characteristic of the vaccine they are producing. You can use a document like Padlet to collect and compare your data.


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

Science and technology (secondary 3)

  • Medical technologies: vaccines
  • Technological universe (biotechnology)
  • Living universe (immune system)

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning
  • Communicate with digital

Suggested digital tools

  • Padlet
  • Edpuzzle
  • LearningApps
  • Flipgrid

Educational intention of the guide

The following activities will allow students to deepen their knowledge of vaccines and their uses around the world.

Objectives of the activities

  • Know the stages of manufacturing a vaccine.
  • Learn a specialized lexicon related to vaccines.
  • Give your point of view on vaccination.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!


SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Vaccins et COVID-19 : où en sommes-nous exactement?

Paru le

 

18 novembre 2020. Un peu plus de huit mois après le début de la pandémie mondiale de COVID-19 et d’une course effrénée au remède miracle, deux vaccins apparaissent comme efficaces et sûrs à 95% selon les résultats complets de leurs essais cliniques.

C’est donc dire que Moderna et l’alliance Pfizer/BioNTech pourront bientôt fournir possiblement des milliards de doses pour tenter d’éradiquer le nouveau coronavirus qui ne cesse de faire des victimes partout sur la planète. Les chances sont donc bonnes de voir les premiers Américains se faire vacciner avant la fin de l’année 2020.

Les États-Unis, l’Europe, le Canada, le Japon et d’autres pays riches ont déjà réservé des centaines de millions de doses d’un ou des deux vaccins. Une différence logistique existe, par contre, entre les deux vaccins : celui de Pfizer est plus compliqué à distribuer, car il doit être transporté à -70 °C, contre -20 °C pour Moderna.

Un vaccin obligatoire?

Un vaccin aussi important que celui contre la COVID-19 pourrait-il être obligatoire? Au Québec, la probabilité est très faible, selon le docteur Arruda :

« On a une loi, au Québec, qui permet une obligation de vacciner dans des circonstances exceptionnelles de crise sanitaire. Je tiens à vous dire qu’on ne l’a jamais utilisée et que ce n’est pas du tout dans nos cartons, a indiqué le DArruda en point de presse, mardi, à Québec. »

Le Journal de Québec, mardi 17 novembre 2020

Selon un récent sondage, ce serait environ 70% de la population québécoise qui serait encline à se faire vacciner contre la COVID-19. Et l’arrivée d’un vaccin ne serait pas synonyme pour autant de la fin des mesures sanitaires en place. M. Arruda prévient en mentionnant que le port du masque pourrait perdurer :

« De penser que le jour où on a un vaccin, on revient comme avant la COVID à court terme, je pense que c’est non, a-t-il admis. Selon le directeur national de santé publique, il est encore trop tôt pour dire durant combien de mois les mesures sanitaires vont demeurer en place. »

Le Journal de Québec, mardi 17 novembre 2020

Le rôle des vaccins

Les vaccins servent à protéger les gens en leur évitant de développer certaines maladies potentiellement dangereuses. Lors de la vaccination, la bactérie ou le virus atténué est introduit dans le corps. Un agent infectieux atténué est inoffensif pour notre santé puisqu’il ne peut pas causer de maladie. C’est là que le système immunitaire entre en action en fabriquant des anticorps pour combattre la bactérie ou le virus en question. Le corps s’entraîne donc à combattre l’ennemi et s’il le rencontre pour vrai, il en sera protégé et ne tombera pas malade!

Les anticorps qui ont été développés grâce au vaccin peuvent être efficaces contre plusieurs souches à la fois d’un même virus. Par exemple, dans le cas de la grippe, le vaccin contient trois souches différentes (influenza type B, H1N1 et H3N2), qui circulent toutes en même temps, et peut donc être efficace contre l’une ou l’autre de ces grippes. En 2020, on parle d’une efficacité de 69% pour l’influenza type B, 44% pour la H1N1 et 62% contre la H3N2. Globalement, ce vaccin protège à hauteur de 58%.

La fabrication des vaccins

La fabrication de vaccins permet d’obtenir des virus ou des bactéries qui ont perdu leur pouvoir pathogène, mais qui ont conservé leurs caractéristiques. Une fois injecté, le vaccin permet au corps la production d’anticorps spécifiques sans développer la maladie. Pour débuter la fabrication d’un vaccin, les chercheurs effectuent une culture cellulaire massive de la bactérie ou du virus en question. Ensuite, les cellules recueillies doivent être chauffées et traitées aux produits chimiques dans le but de les rendre inoffensives.

Il existe deux procédés principaux dans la conception de vaccins : les vaccins vivants (atténués) et les vaccins inertes (inactivés). Les vaccins vivants ou atténués, comme ceux contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole nécessitent un agent infectieux toujours vivant, mais qui a perdu son pouvoir d’infecter grâce aux traitements chimiques. D’autres vaccins, comme celui de la rage, sont créés en supprimant les agents infectieux vivant des virus. Ou comme dans le cas du tétanos, c’est seulement une partie inoffensive de la bactérie qui est utilisée. On les appelle les vaccins inertes ou inactivés.

Ton défi

Au moins neuf autres compagnies pharmaceutiques ou biotechs travaillent intensément pour présenter un candidat-vaccin susceptible d’arriver sur le marché prochainement. Fais une recherche sur Internet pour retrouver le nom de ces compagnies et donne une caractéristique particulière du vaccin qu’ils sont en train de produire. Tu peux utiliser un document dans le genre de Padlet pour recueillir et comparer tes données.


 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!


Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Impression en 3D d’un coeur : quand technologie et biologie s’unissent pour l’avenir

Le lundi 15 avril 2019, une équipe de chercheurs israéliens a annoncé avoir imprimé en 3D, à partir de cellules provenant d'un patient, le tout premier coeur avec ses vaisseaux sanguins. Regards sur une révolution scientifique : la bio-impression.

Google vient au secours des éléphants au Kenya

Google aide à la protection des pachydermes avec l’arrivée de nouvelles cartes en trois dimensions. Voyons comment cette nouvelle technologie aidera à protéger les éléphants ainsi que leur habitat.

Le robot Curiosity explore la planète Mars

La Nasa a lancé le 26 novembre 2011 une mission vers la planète Mars pour savoir s'il y a déjà eu de la vie sur cette planète dans le passé. Le robot Curiosity parcoure la planète à la recherche d'indices…