Vaccination: science versus belief

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

A disease that has been eradicated for several years, measles, is creating a public health problem in the United States. Indeed, New York City has ordered vaccination against a recent measles outbreak since 700 cases were reported in a matter of weeks. The sharing of wrong facts, fake news and disinformation are said to be at the center of this most recent epidemic. A look at one of WHO's greatest enemies: mistrust of vaccines.
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)
 

A disease that has been eradicated for several years, measles, is creating a public health problem in the United States. Indeed, New York City has ordered vaccination against a recent measles outbreak since 700 cases were reported in a matter of weeks. The sharing of wrong facts, fake news and disinformation are said to be at the center of this most recent epidemic.

"This is all the more important as measles cases have increased by 50 % in 2018 and that the United States is currently struck by the worst epidemic since 2000. The first factor involved is the drop in vaccination. "

Source: News, April 25, 2019

“The World Health Organization has also established that the anti-vaccine movement is one of the ten greatest risks to global health in 2019. The resurgence of measles in New York, and in several other regions of the world, like Europe, would be in particular attributable to the rise of these groups, estimate the experts. "

Source: La Presse, April 11, 2019

In Canada, about thirty cases have been identified since the beginning of 2019. The authorities therefore reiterate the importance of the measles vaccination and are working to strengthen public communications in order to counter the false news that invades social networks . 

Although 90% of two-year-old children have been vaccinated (according to a 2017 census), this figure remains worrying for the authorities who are instead targeting the 95% to reduce the risks to a maximum.

“Since the majority of people get their children vaccinated, what's the problem with having people who refuse? For extremely contagious diseases like measles, the protective barrier that allows the vaccination of a sufficient number of people (estimated at 95 % to be more or less tight) weakens, which allows the virus to spread. "

Source: News, April 12, 2019

And why do 10% of Canadians continue to deny immunization to their children? Misinformation would be the key element and the most striking example is the one which, more than twenty years ago, would cause panic all over the planet by claiming that the measles vaccine caused autism. Indeed, Andrew Wakefield, backed by anti-vaccine groups, published an article that was to be one of the biggest scientific frauds to date. Although the research of this doctor had been discredited on all sides by science, the damage was already done. Even today, anti-vaccine campaigners are using this study to prove their point, and many parents fear getting their children vaccinated.

Your challenge

Several “memes”, for better or for worse, have been created and posted on Instagram under the hashtag #thetruthaboutvaccines. What do you think of this phenomenon?

Now create your own "meme" which this time references the benefits of vaccination, while adding a touch of humor if you wish.

 

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Vaccination : science versus croyance

Paru le

 

Une maladie pourtant éradiquée depuis plusieurs années, la rougeole, est en train de créer un problème de santé publique aux États-Unis. En effet, la ville de New York a ordonné la vaccination contre une récente éclosion de rougeole depuis que 700 cas ont été rapportés en quelques semaines. Le partage de faits erronés, les fausses nouvelles et la désinformation seraient au centre de cette plus récente épidémie.

« C’est d’autant plus important que les cas de rougeoles ont augmenté de 50 % en 2018 et que les États-Unis sont actuellement frappés par la pire épidémie depuis l’an 2000. Le premier facteur mis en cause, c’est la baisse de la vaccination. »

Source : L’actualité, 25 avril 2019

« L’Organisation mondiale de la santé a d’ailleurs établi que le mouvement anti-vaccins constitue l’un des dix plus grands risques pour la santé mondiale en 2019. La résurgence de la rougeole à New York, et dans plusieurs autres régions du monde, comme l’Europe, serait notamment attribuable à la montée de ces groupes, estiment les experts. »

Source : La Presse, 11 avril 2019

Au Canada, environ une trentaine de cas ont été recensés depuis le début de 2019. Les autorités réitèrent donc l’importance de la vaccination contre la rougeole et s’affairent à renforcer les communications publiques afin de contrer les fausses nouvelles qui envahissent les réseaux sociaux. 

Bien que 90% des enfants de deux ans aient été vaccinés (selon un recensement de 2017), ce chiffre demeure préoccupant pour les autorités qui visent plutôt les 95% pour diminuer les risques à un maximum.

« Puisque la majorité des gens font vacciner leurs enfants, quel est le problème d’avoir des personnes qui s’y refusent ? Pour des maladies extrêmement contagieuses comme la rougeole, la barrière de protection que permet la vaccination d’un nombre suffisant de personnes (estimé à 95 % pour être à peu près étanche) se fragilise, ce qui permet au virus de se propager. »

Source : L’actualité, 12 avril 2019

Et pourquoi 10% des Canadiens continuent-ils de refuser la vaccination à leurs enfants? La désinformation en serait l’élément clé et l’exemple le plus frappant est celui qui, il y a plus de vingt ans, allait semer la panique partout sur la planète en affirmant que le vaccin contre la rougeole causait l’autisme. En effet, Andrew Wakefield, soutenu par des groupes anti-vaccins, publiait un article qui allait être une des plus grosses fraudes scientifiques à ce jour. Quoique les recherches de ce docteur aient été discréditées de toutes parts par la science, le mal était déjà fait. Encore aujourd’hui, les militants anti-vaccin se servent de cette étude pour prouver leur point, et de nombreux parents craignent de faire vacciner leurs enfants.

Ton défi

Plusieurs « mèmes », pour le meilleur et pour le pire, ont été créés et publiés sur Instagram sous le mot-clic #thetruthaboutvaccines. Que penses-tu de ce phénomène?

Crée maintenant ton propre « mème » qui fait référence, cette fois, aux bienfaits de la vaccination, tout en ajoutant une touche d’humour si tu le souhaites.

 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Une image vaut mille mots!

Suite à la publication récente de 15 superbes photographies de notre planète, prises par des satellites de l’Agence spatiale européenne, SCOOP! vous propose 4 activités invitant vos élèves à analyser de 4 façons différentes des photographies sur des thèmes très variés.

Il y a cinquante ans, John F. Kennedy était assassiné

Le 22 novembre 1963, le 35e président des États-Unis, John F. Kennedy (JFK), était assassiné à Dallas. Cinquante ans plus tard, la mort tragique du plus jeune président américain fascine toujours.

#Trashtag challenge : quand les réseaux sociaux font du bien à l’environnement

Depuis moins d'un mois, un nouveau défi a pris naissance sur les réseaux sociaux. Après les #Ice bucket challenge, #Mannequin challenge et #10 years challenge, voilà que le #Trashtag challenge fait son apparition, et pour une cause plus que noble. C'est que le mot-clé #trashtag renvoie à des photos de gens qui veulent faire une différence pour l'environnement. Regard sur un phénomène social qui fait du bien à notre planète.