Use, Understand and Create: A Digital Literacy Framework for Canadian Schools

MediaSmarts, the Canadian center for media education and digital literacy, launched on May 25, 2016 the final component of its important program to support teachers in integrating digital literacy into the classroom.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

MediaSmarts, the Canadian center for media education and digital literacy, launched on May 25, 2016 the final component of its important program to support teachers in integrating digital literacy into the classroom. 

The framework Use, understand and create, which completes the framework of primary schools launched in 2015 with a high school component, is a bilingual, transdisciplinary program that provides teachers with a range of tools to equip students with the skills they need for the digital age.

In the press release announcing the launch, Jane Tallim, Co-Executive Director of MediaSmarts, explains, “Through our research, we have been able to see how digital literacy and digital citizenship fit into Canadian programming, which helped create a practical curriculum for teachers so that they can provide even the youngest students with the skills needed for today's digital world ”.

The framework Use, understand and create Provides teachers with access to free in-class digital literacy resources based on program outcomes in their province or territory. It was funded by the Community Investment Program of the Canadian Internet Registration Authority (CIRA).

The framework Use, understand and create includes more than 50 interactive lessons and games, organized by grade level, from Kindergarten to 12e year, which focus on seven principles of digital literacy: find and verify; ethics and empathy; privacy and security; digital health; consumer awareness; and community mobilization. A new subject, Create and remix, was added at the launch of the secondary schools framework: it encourages students to be media producers rather than media consumers by creating and remixing their own works.

Follow the conversation about him on Twitter using the hashtag #DigLit.

Source: press release

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Utiliser, comprendre et créer : Un cadre de littératie numérique pour les écoles canadiennes

HabiloMédias, le centre canadien d'éducation aux médias et de littératie numérique, a lancé le 25 mai 2016 le volet final de son important programme pour appuyer les enseignants dans l'intégration de la littératie numérique en classe.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

HabiloMédias, le centre canadien d’éducation aux médias et de littératie numérique, a lancé le 25 mai 2016 le volet final de son important programme pour appuyer les enseignants dans l’intégration de la littératie numérique en classe. 

Le cadre Utiliser, comprendre et créer, lequel complète le cadre des écoles primaires lancé en 2015 avec un volet pour le secondaire, est un programme bilingue transdisciplinaire qui offre aux enseignants une gamme d’outils pour donner aux élèves les compétences dont ils ont besoin pour l’ère numérique.

Dans le communiqué annonçant le lancement, Jane Tallim, codirectrice exécutive de HabiloMédias, explique : « Par le biais de notre recherche, nous avons été en mesure de voir comment la littératie numérique et la citoyenneté numérique sont situées dans les programmes canadiens, ce qui nous a aidés à créer un programme pratique pour les enseignants afin qu’ils puissent fournir même aux plus jeunes élèves les compétences nécessaires pour le monde numérique d’aujourd’hui ».

Le cadre Utiliser, comprendre et créer donne aux enseignants accès à des ressources en classe gratuites sur la littératie numérique selon les résultats des programmes établis dans leur province ou territoire. Il a été financé par le Programme d’investissement communautaire de l’Autorité canadienne pour les enregistrements Internet (ACEI).

Le cadre Utiliser, comprendre et créer comprend plus de 50 leçons et jeux interactifs, organisés par niveau scolaire, de la maternelle à la 12e année, lesquels portent sur sept principes de la littératie numérique : trouver et vérifier; éthique et empathie; vie privée et sécurité; santé numérique; sensibilisation du consommateur; et mobilisation de la communauté. Un nouveau sujet, Créer et remixer, a été ajouté lors du lancement du cadre des écoles secondaires : il encourage les élèves à être des producteurs médiatiques plutôt que des consommateurs de médias en créant et en remixant leurs propres œuvres.

Suivez la conversation à son sujet sur Twitter à l’aide du mot-clic #DigLit.

Source : communiqué

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!