ADVERTISEMENT

The MEES publishes a guide for teachers to demystify the educational use of computer programming

In July 2020, the Ministry of Education and Higher Education (MEES) published an explanatory guide for preschool, primary and secondary teachers, entitled “The pedagogical use of computer programming”. Have you seen it?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

In July 2020, the Ministry of Education and Higher Education (MEES) published The educational use of computer programming, a guide for preschool, primary and secondary school teachers. Have you seen it?

Through this publication, the Ministry aims to demystify the use of computer programming (also called coding) and robotics in the classroom. He also wishes to contribute to reflection on the subject by proposing educational avenues to facilitate the integration of coding into teaching practices.

Coding, an educational activity

The popularity of school-based programming is currently experiencing a second wave. Indeed, after language Logo and his famous turtle from the 1980s, here is the cat from Scratch is spreading in schools around the world. Easier-to-use applications, sites devoted to programming such as MTL code and nice little robots like Bee-bot contribute to this success. Helped by the ministerial budget measure which allows schools to acquire digital didactic resources used for teaching, coding is slowly taking hold in classrooms in Quebec.  

Reference framework for digital competence

In itself, the 12-page MEES document is not a program or a policy. Rather, it is a leaflet that situates programming and robotics in the Québec school training program and more particularly in the Reference framework for digital competence. One of the elements of dimension 2 (Develop and mobilize their technological skills), consists of "developing their computer thinking, in particular by developing their understanding and skills with regard to computer programming". The document also recalls the positive effects of programming on young people such as engagement, creativity, problem solving and exploration of careers in the field of technology, for example. 

Activities within everyone's reach

The MESS document also underlines the importance of the teaching posture, where the teacher is not necessarily an expert, but rather a guide. To this end, there is no lack of digital resources in school programming, and co-learning with students is a relevant approach. The MEES reminds that the evaluation of the process is more important than that of the finished product. Computer programming no longer consists of typing a series of incomprehensible codes on a computer; coding activities are now presented under six categories, including unplugged activities (using a deck of cards) and visual programming (in blocks or pictograms). Coding is now accessible to everyone, even toddlers. 

Finally, the guide offers professional development opportunities through self-study offered by STORY Campus and CADRE21, also partner of online training to the École branchée. 

The automation of processes, the omnipresence of digital technology and artificial intelligence are realities that our young people will have to contend with shortly. Programming and robotics can prepare them for the challenges of tomorrow. Many speak of computer programming as a skill of the 21e century. With this guide, the MEES invites the world of education to recognize coding and robotics as teaching methods in their own right, at the service of disciplinary and transversal skills.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe laurendeau
For 25 years, the biologist, teacher, educational advisor and now technopedagogue has accumulated a rich and diversified experience in education. In her texts, Phylippe uses her background and her passion for digital resources, efficient practices and distance learning.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le MEES publie un guide à l’attention des enseignants pour démystifier l’usage pédagogique de la programmation informatique

En juillet 2020, le Ministère de l'Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieur (MEES) a publié un guide explicatif destiné aux enseignants du préscolaire, du primaire et du secondaire, intitulé « L’usage pédagogique de la programmation informatique ». L'avez-vous vu?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

En juillet 2020, le Ministère de l’Éducation et de l’Enseignement supérieur (MEES) a publié L’usage pédagogique de la programmation informatique, un guide destiné aux enseignants du préscolaire, du primaire et du secondaire. L’avez-vous vu?

Par cette publication, le Ministère vise à démystifier l’utilisation de la programmation informatique (aussi appelée codage) et la robotique en classe. Il souhaite également à contribuer à la réflexion sur le sujet en proposant des pistes pédagogiques pour faciliter l’intégration du codage dans les pratiques enseignantes.

Le codage, une activité pédagogique

La popularité de la programmation en contexte scolaire connaît présentement une deuxième vague. En effet, après le langage Logo et sa célèbre tortue des années 1980, voici que le chat de Scratch se répand dans les écoles du monde entier. Des applications plus simples d’utilisation, des sites consacrés à la programmation comme Code MTL et de sympathiques petits robots comme Bee-bot contribuent à ce succès. Aidé par la mesure budgétaire ministérielle qui permet aux écoles d’acquérir des ressources didactiques numériques servant à l’enseignement, le codage s’installe lentement dans les classes du Québec.  

Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique

En soi, le document de 12 pages du MEES n’est pas un programme ni une politique. Il s’agit plutôt d’un feuillet qui situe la programmation et la robotique dans le Programme de formation de l’école québécoise et plus particulièrement dans le Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique. L’un des éléments de la dimension 2 (Développer et mobiliser ses habiletés technologiques), consiste à « développer sa pensée informatique, notamment par le développement de sa compréhension et de ses habiletés à l’égard de la programmation informatique ». Le document rappelle également les effets positifs de la programmation sur les jeunes tel l’engagement, la créativité, la résolution de problèmes et l’exploration de carrières du domaine des technologies, par exemple. 

Des activités à la portée de tous

Le document du MESS souligne aussi l’importance de la posture enseignante, celle où le maître n’est pas nécessairement un expert, mais plutôt un guide. À cet effet, les ressources numériques en programmation scolaire ne manquent pas, et le coapprentissage avec les élèves constitue une approche pertinente. Le MEES rappelle que l’évaluation de la démarche est plus importante que celle du produit fini. La programmation informatique ne consiste plus qu’à taper une suite de codes incompréhensibles sur un ordinateur ; les activités de codage se présentent maintenant sous six catégories, dont les activités débranchées (à l’aide d’un jeu de cartes) et la programmation visuelle (par blocs ou pictogrammes). Le codage est désormais à la portée de tous, même des tout-petits. 

Enfin, le guide propose des occasions de développement professionnel par le biais d’autoformations offertes par Campus RÉCIT et CADRE21, aussi partenaire des formations en ligne à l’École branchée. 

L’automatisation des processus, l’omniprésence du numérique et l’intelligence artificielle sont des réalités avec lesquelles nos jeunes devront composer sous peu. La programmation et la robotique peuvent les préparer aux enjeux de demain. Plusieurs parlent de la programmation informatique comme d’une compétence du 21e siècle. Par ce guide, le MEES invite le monde de l’éducation à reconnaître le codage et la robotique comme des modalités pédagogiques à part entière, au service des compétences disciplinaires et transversales.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Phylippe Laurendeau
Phylippe Laurendeau
Depuis 25 ans, le biologiste, enseignant, conseiller pédagogique et conseiller en évaluation des apprentissages a cumulé une expérience riche et diversifiée en éducation. Maintenant édimestre à Carrefour éducation, Phylippe met à profit son bagage et sa passion dans l’exploration et le partage de ressources numériques à l’ensemble du réseau scolaire québécois.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez nos nouvelles chaque semaine

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!