ADVERTISEMENT

A pair of glasses for students with learning disabilities

Rimouski - “Computing for a child with a learning disability is like a pair of glasses. This is how Brigitte Sirois, remedial teacher at the Commission scolaire des Phares, explains to young people, their parents and their teachers, the contribution of technological aids to students with learning disabilities.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Rimouski - “Computing for a child with a learning disability is like a pair of glasses. This is how Brigitte Sirois, remedial teacher at the Commission scolaire des Phares, explains to young people, their parents and their teachers, the contribution of technological aids to students with learning disabilities.

Just as people with a visual impairment need glasses, people with a learning disability need technological aids to compensate for their difficulties. "It is a permanent tool that they need to meet the demands of learning, particularly in writing," specifies Ms. Sirois. They may also need it for reading and reading comprehension.

But be careful, warns Ms. Sirois, do not confuse learning disabilities with learning difficulties. A learning difficulty is recoverable. Gradually, "the student will regain complete control of his learning," she explains. This temporary difficulty may be due to an illness, an emotional problem, etc.

In contrast, a learning disability is permanent. “The neurological disorder will remain for life, but the child will be able to improve his lot. He has the same intellectual potential as the others. "

Thanks to technological aids, students will have more control over their learning. "The student sees his progress when he uses the software continuously," says Ms. Sirois. This has a positive impact on his self-esteem and on his motivation. "I have seen students go from an absolutely apathetic demotivation to a really more important motivation," says the remedial teacher.

Educate the student, teacher and parent
As part of an effective intervention, students must acquire a deep awareness of their learning disability and related difficulties. To do this, Brigitte Sirois invites the dyslexic student to write a letter explaining his situation to his teacher and his parents.

The youngest give a PowerPoint presentation in front of their class. "It takes all the guilt away from them for not being like the others," she says.

As learning disabilities are hereditary, the objective is also to "make parents feel guilty". "Children and parents are familiar with computers, it remains to educate them so that they use it according to their problem", suggests Ms. Sirois.

In addition, a better understanding of learning disabilities and technological aids by teachers improves the educational support of the student. However, Ms. Sirois observes that some teachers find it difficult to accept the use of technological aids during exams, despite ministerial authorization, because they perceive it as unfair for other students.
In this regard, she repeats her comparison with a student who has a problem with his eyesight. "Are we going to take his glasses off during an assessment?" She says.

Specific tools
Brigitte Sirois works with elementary and preschool students who are disabled or have learning disabilities. These students are integrated into the regular classes of the Commission scolaire des Phares.

Ms. Sirois uses the WordQ writing assistance software a lot with dyspraxic, dyslexic or dysorthographic students. Its two main functions are word prediction and text to speech.

Inspiration software allows students with dyslexia or dysphasia to visually organize their ideas. For example, the student will put a novel or a text in pictures in order to extract the relevant information or to constitute a summary.

The Antidote corrector is useful for students who have difficulty orienting themselves in space. For example, a student having difficulty finding his or her orientation in a usual dictionary performs a faster and more functional search with the virtual dictionary.

Audacity software is a reading aid for dyslexic or dysphasic pupils. The pupil records his voice during a first reading, then listens to himself again by increasing the reading speed. This second listening allows him to concentrate on understanding the text instead of paying all his attention to decoding the syllables.

In addition, "the majority of children with a learning disability also have a fine motor problem," reports Ms. Sirois. Thus, typing on the keyboard becomes "much less energy intensive" than writing with a pencil.

By Elsa Iskander

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Une paire de lunettes pour élèves en trouble d’apprentissage

Des élèves fabriquent leurs lunettes de réalité virtuelle

Des élèves de l’École secondaire L’Horizon ont pu expérimenter la réalité virtuelle pour la première fois cette année.

Margarida Romero : Devenir des créateurs numériques, non plus de simples consommateurs

Dans ce Rendez-vous pédagogique de l’École branchée, Margarida Romero explique pourquoi les élèves du 21e siècle doivent utiliser la technologie pour créer plutôt que de se contenter de l’utiliser comme consommateur.

Écrire avec les technologies, ça change l’écriture!

Écrire avec un crayon sur une feuille de papier ou écrire en tapant sur un clavier et en regardant un écran, qu’est-ce que ça change pour les élèves?

Le calcul mental est un jeu

Le jeu de calcul mental à l’envers Mathador est maintenant disponible en deux nouvelles applications : Solo et Chrono.

Ces articles pourraient aussi vous intéresser...

L’École branchée lance un numéro spécial réalisé avec l’Institut des troubles d’apprentissage

L’École branchée a lancé son numéro spécial « Vers une éducation inclusive », qui regroupe les plus grands auteurs du domaine de l’inclusion des personnes vivant avec une différence, ainsi que le point de vue d’experts sur la façon dont les technologies peuvent hausser la capacité du système éducatif afin de répondre aux besoins de tous les élèves.

Douance : des pistes pour favoriser le développement du plein potentiel des élèves doués

Présenté dans le contexte du congrès international des troubles d'apprentissage, cet article aborde le sujet des impacts de la douance sur les élèves et propose des moyens de les accompagner et de favoriser leur plein développement.

Nouveau hors série gratuit sur les troubles d’apprentissage

L'École branchée propose une nouvelle version bonifiée de son guide hors série sur les troubles d'apprentissage. À télécharger gratuitement!

Un colloque à l’intention des parents pour le mois de la sensibilisation aux troubles d’apprentissage

L'Institut des troubles d'apprentissage profite du mois de la sensibilisation aux troubles d'apprentissage pour sensibiliser la population à cette cause qui touche une personne sur dix au Québec.

Rimouski – « L’informatique pour un enfant ayant un trouble d’apprentissage, c’est comme une paire de lunettes. » C’est ainsi que Brigitte Sirois, orthopédagogue à la Commission scolaire des Phares, explique aux jeunes, à leurs parents et à leurs enseignants, l’apport des aides technologiques aux élèves en trouble d’apprentissage.

Tout comme les personnes ayant une déficience visuelle ont besoin de lunettes, les personnes avec un trouble d’apprentissage ont besoin d’aides technologiques afin de compenser pour leurs difficultés. « C’est un outil permanent dont ils ont besoin pour répondre aux exigences de l’apprentissage, particulièrement en écriture », spécifie Mme Sirois. Ils peuvent aussi en avoir besoin en lecture et en compréhension de texte.

Mais, attention, prévient Mme Sirois, il ne faut pas confondre les troubles d’apprentissages avec les difficultés d’apprentissage. Une difficulté d’apprentissage est récupérable. Peu à peu, « l’élève va retrouver le contrôle complet de son apprentissage », explique-t-elle. Cette difficulté passagère peut être due à une maladie, un problème affectif, etc.

En revanche, un trouble d’apprentissage est permanent. « Le trouble neurologique va demeurer à vie, mais l’enfant va pouvoir améliorer son sort. Il a le même potentiel intellectuel que les autres. »

Grâce aux aides technologiques, l’élève aura plus de contrôle sur ses apprentissages. « L’élève voit sa progression lorsqu’il utilise les logiciels en continu », relate Mme Sirois. Ceci a un impact positif sur son estime personnelle et sur sa motivation. « J’ai vu des élèves passer d’une démotivation absolument apathique à une motivation vraiment plus importante », affirme l’orthopédagogue.

Sensibiliser l’élève, l’enseignant et le parent
Dans le cadre d’une intervention efficace, l’élève doit acquérir une conscience approfondie de son trouble d’apprentissage et des difficultés reliées. Pour ce faire, Brigitte Sirois invite l’élève dyslexique à écrire une lettre expliquant sa situation à son enseignant et à ses parents.

Les plus jeunes font une présentation PowerPoint devant leur classe. « Cela leur enlève toute la culpabilité de ne pas être comme les autres », constate-t-elle.

Les troubles d’apprentissage étant héréditaires, l’objectif est aussi de « déculpabiliser les parents ». « Les enfants et les parents sont familiers avec l’informatique, il reste à les éduquer pour qu’ils l’utilisent en fonction de leur problématique », propose Mme Sirois.

Par ailleurs, une meilleure compréhension des troubles d’apprentissage et des aides technologiques par les enseignants améliore l’encadrement pédagogique de l’élève. Cependant, Mme Sirois observe que certains enseignants acceptent difficilement l’utilisation d’aides technologiques lors des examens, malgré l’autorisation ministérielle, car ils perçoivent cela comme injuste pour les autres élèves.
À cet égard, elle répète sa comparaison avec un élève qui aurait un problème de la vue. « Est-ce qu’on va lui enlever sa paire de lunettes pendant une évaluation? », lance-t-elle.

Des outils spécifiques
Brigitte Sirois travaille auprès d’élèves du primaire et du préscolaire qui sont handicapés ou qui présentent des troubles d’apprentissage. Ces élèves sont intégrés dans les classes régulières de la Commission scolaire des Phares.

Mme Sirois utilise beaucoup le logiciel d’aide à la rédaction WordQ avec les élèves dyspraxiques, dyslexiques ou dysorthographiques. Ses deux fonctions principales sont la prédiction de mots et la synthèse vocale.

Le logiciel Inspiration permet aux élèves dyslexiques ou dysphasiques d’organiser visuellement leurs idées. Par exemple, l’élève va mettre un roman ou un texte en images afin d’en extraire l’information pertinente ou de se constituer un résumé.

Le correcteur Antidote est utile pour les élèves ayant une difficulté à s’orienter dans l’espace. Par exemple, un élève ayant de la difficulté à s’orienter dans un dictionnaire habituel effectue une recherche plus rapide et fonctionnelle avec le dictionnaire virtuel.

Le logiciel Audacity est une aide à la lecture pour élèves dyslexiques ou dysphasiques. L’élève enregistre sa voix lors d’une première lecture, puis se réécoute en augmentant la vitesse de lecture. Cette deuxième écoute lui permet de se concentrer sur la compréhension du texte au lieu de porter toute son attention au décodage des syllabes.

Par ailleurs, « la majorité des enfants avec un trouble d’apprentissage ont aussi un problème de motricité fine », rapporte Mme Sirois. Ainsi, taper au clavier devient « beaucoup moins énergivore » qu’écrire avec un crayon.

Par Elsa Iskander

Recevez chaque mardi l'École branchée | Hebdo, votre outil de veille professionnelle en éducation!




🤩 Vous pouvez vous aussi publier un article dans les pages de l'École branchée! Partagez vos projets, idées, conseils et coups de coeur éducatifs avec nos plus de 60 000 visiteurs par mois! Voici comment faire!



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : Nos abonnés connectés ne voient pas ces annonces!
Avatar
Martine Rioux
Martine a été rédactrice en chef d'Infobourg.com (le premier nom du site de l'École branchée) pendant plusieurs années. Elle est aujourd'hui conseillère en communication pour l'organisme Québec numérique.