An immersive class to immerse yourself in your future profession

The CFP des Riverains, a vocational training center located in Repentigny, recently inaugurated a state-of-the-art immersive virtual reality class.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

Since more and more companies are asking for employees capable of adapting quickly to technological innovations, the CFP des Riverains, a vocational training center located in Repentigny in the Montreal region, has decided to take up the challenge. How? 'Or' What ? By arranging an immersive virtual reality classroom at the cutting edge of technology in a 360-degree environment.

As we know, vocational training is often criticized. Certain authors such as Jacques Tondreau and Marcel Robert write, in their work on The Quebec school, appeared in 2011, that, since the mid-1990s, “the attraction for this type of training for young people is not as strong as one would like”.

With the creation of its immersive class, the CFP des Riverains offers its students a completely impressive experience based on interactive technology.

When the educational advisor within the CFP, Jonathan Perron-Miville juggled with a 3D formula, adapted to professional training, he quickly put aside the virtual reality headsets that he considered too individualistic. "I was looking for something that would bring more of a group together." Then, the Quebec firm IMMERSIVE Design Studios caught the attention of his organization.

An immersive classroom for all

At the CFP des Riverains, students can learn hairdressing, building design, accounting, sales or even secretarial skills. It was therefore important that this new class be able to meet the specific requirements of each profession. The various scenarios put in place are there to represent situations that students may be confronted with upon their arrival in the labor market.

Photo credit: Frédéric Dagenais, audiovisual technician CFP des Riverains

Mr. Perron-Miville explains that, for example, they went to shoot in a hairdressing salon. In progress, future hairdressers can thus analyze the inventory, in particular the way in which the products offered to customers are arranged.

In building design, we will go more into visualizing the making of concrete, while in sales, we are able to reproduce the interior of a car dealership in order to put students in an environment similar to what they will live later.

In a CFP near you

With just a few clicks, students can travel without having to travel. This is a bit like what happened in the classroom of computer teacher Tommy Paulhus. As part of a problem-solving course, with the advice of his educational advisor, he brought his students inside a spaceship! They had 15 minutes to answer a questionnaire, to find a solution, otherwise the spaceship of Mr. Paulhus' class would be close to disaster!

For the teacher, it is clear that the immersive classroom brings "a change of dynamics". They are more active. Depending on the course, they also have the choice of being seated or standing.

For her part, Véronyk-Émylie Dinelle, a CFP student, nods. The new immersive classroom "allows you to stay awake more". She who says she loves multimedia considers that the CFP and its new creature allow to approach the computer with more creativity.

During the press conference in May, which announced the inauguration of this new educational tool, the Premier of Quebec himself, François Legault, mentioned that the immersive class was a way of motivating students "and improve their training. It will also strengthen the status of the CFP des Riverains as a leader in computer science in the education sector. "

Main photo credit: Frédéric Dagenais, audiovisual technician CFP des Riverains

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

André Magny
For more than 30 years, André Magny has been going back and forth between journalism and teaching French to teenagers and adults alike. Freelance freelance writer for various media including Francopresse, he was also a cultural journalist at Law in Ottawa and in charge of new technologies at Soleil de Québec. He also did sports journalism in France. He has a weakness for the Francophonie, culture, sports, cuisine and politics.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Une classe immersive pour s’imprégner de sa future profession

Le CFP des Riverains, centre de formation professionnelle situé à Repentigny, a récemment inauguré une classe immersive de réalité virtuelle à la fine pointe de la technologie.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :
English EN French FR

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) vont se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Puisque que de plus en plus d’entreprises demandent des employés capables de s’adapter rapidement aux innovations technologiques, le CFP des Riverains, centre de formation professionnelle situé à Repentigny dans la région de Montréal, a décidé de relever le défi. Comment ? En aménageant une classe immersive de réalité virtuelle à la fine pointe de la technologie dans un environnement 360 degrés.

On le sait, la formation professionnelle est souvent décriée. Certains auteurs comme Jacques Tondreau et Marcel Robert écrivent, dans leur ouvrage sur L’École québécoise, paru en 2011, que, depuis le milieu des années 1990, « l’attrait pour ce type de formation pour les jeunes n’est pas aussi fort qu’on le souhaiterait ».

Avec la création de sa classe immersive, le CFP des Riverains propose à ses élèves une expérience tout à fait impressionnante basée sur la technologie interactive.

Quand le conseiller pédagogique au sein du CFP, Jonathan Perron-Miville jonglait à une formule 3D, adaptée à la formation professionnelle, il a rapidement mis de côté les casques de réalité virtuelle qu’il jugeait trop individualistes. « Je cherchais quelque chose qui rassemblerait plus un groupe ». Puis, la firme québécoise IMMERSIVE Design Studios a retenu l’attention de son organisation.

Une classe immersive pour tous

Au CFP des Riverains, les élèves peuvent apprendre tant la coiffure, le dessin de bâtiment, la comptabilité, la vente ou encore le secrétariat. Il était donc important que cette nouvelle classe puisse satisfaire les exigences propres à chaque métier. Les divers scénarios mis en place sont là pour représenter des situations auxquelles pourront être confrontés les élèves à leur arrivée dans le marché du travail.

Crédit-photo : Frédéric Dagenais, technicien en audiovisuel CFP des Riverains

M. Perron-Miville explique que, par exemple, ils sont allés tourner dans un salon de coiffure. En cours, les futurs coiffeurs peuvent ainsi analyser l’état des lieux, notamment la façon dont sont disposés les produits offerts à la clientèle.

En dessin de bâtiment, on ira davantage dans la visualisation de la confection du béton, alors qu’en vente, on est capable de reproduire l’intérieur d’un concessionnaire automobile afin de mettre les étudiants dans un environnement semblable à ce qu’ils vivront plus tard.

Dans un CFP près de chez vous

En quelques clics, les élèves peuvent voyager sans avoir à se déplacer. C’est un peu ce qui est arrivé dans la classe de l’enseignant en informatique Tommy Paulhus. Dans le cadre d’un cours de résolutions de problèmes, avec les conseils de son conseiller pédagogique, il a amené ses élèves à l’intérieur d’un vaisseau spatial ! Ils avaient 15 minutes pour répondre à un questionnaire, pour trouver une solution, sinon le vaisseau spatial de la classe de M. Paulhus allait frôler la catastrophe !

Pour l’enseignant, il est clair que la classe immersive amène « un changement de dynamique ». Ils sont plus actifs. Selon le cours, ils ont d’ailleurs le choix d’être assis ou debout.

De son côté, Véronyk-Émylie Dinelle, élève du CFP, opine du chef. La nouvelle classe immersive « permet de rester davantage éveiller ». Elle qui dit aimer le multimédia considère que le CFP et sa nouvelle créature permettent d’aborder l’informatique avec plus de créativité.

Lors de la conférence de presse du mois de mai, qui annonçait l’inauguration de ce nouvel outil pédagogique, le premier ministre du Québec lui-même, François Legault, mentionnait que la classe immersive était un moyen de motiver les élèves « et d’améliorer leur formation. Ça va aussi renforcer le statut du CFP des Riverains comme un leader en informatique dans le milieu de l’éducation. »

Crédit de la photo principale : Frédéric Dagenais, technicien en audiovisuel CFP des Riverains

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Avatar
André Magny
Depuis plus de 30 ans, André Magny fait les allers-retours entre le journalisme et l'enseignement du français tant auprès des ados que des adultes. Pigiste régulier pour divers médias dont Francopresse, il a également été journaliste culturel au Droit d’Ottawa et s'occupait des nouvelles technologies au Soleil de Québec. Il a aussi fait du journalisme sportif en France. Il a un faible pour la francophonie, la culture, les sports, la cuisine et la politique.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l'École branchée!

Recevez l'École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre veille professionnelle en éducation!