ADVERTISEMENT

A new program to counter hatred and prejudice in the media

(News release) The Media Awareness Network (the Network) has launched a set of media literacy and digital literacy resources with the aim of teaching young people how the media help to convey an image to us. negative of certain social groups, by the media representation they make of them.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

(News release) The Media Awareness Network (the Network) has launched a set of media literacy and digital literacy resources with the aim of teaching young people how the media help to convey an image to us. negative of certain social groups, by the media representation they make of them.

The Educational kit - diversity and media, an interactive online program designed for teachers, students, law enforcement and the general public, examines hot topics such as hatred, prejudice and stereotypes in our media and on the Internet. This program has two distinct but complementary components: 1) hatred on the Internet and 2) representation of ethnic groups, indigenous people and people based on race, religion, disability and sexual orientation.

“What young people see and hear in the media allows them to understand our world and to assess which values and people are popular in our world. A society that is both tolerant and diverse like ours is being challenged by the advent of the Internet, which provides easy access to hate content, ”says Jane Tallim, co-executive director of Réseau Éducation-Médias. These new tools will help our young people - who sometimes lack experience and critical analysis - to recognize and fight against stereotypical and hateful messages conveyed by the media they consume. "

Our Educational kit - diversity and media includes online tutorials, educational activities, interactive student modules and accompanying materials. It can be obtained for free via our site www.education-medias.ca.

The creation of this kit was made possible through financial support from the Government of Canada through the Legal Partnerships and Innovation Program, under the Department of Justice.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Un nouveau programme visant à contrer la haine et les préjugés dans les médias

(Communiqué) Le Réseau Éducation-Médias (le Réseau) a procédé au lancement d’un ensemble de ressources en matière d’éducation aux médias et de littératie numérique dans le but d’enseigner aux jeunes comment les médias contribuent à nous transmettre une image négative de certains groupes sociaux, par la représentation médiatique qu’ils en font.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

(Communiqué) Le Réseau Éducation-Médias (le Réseau) a procédé au lancement d’un ensemble de ressources en matière d’éducation aux médias et de littératie numérique dans le but d’enseigner aux jeunes comment les médias contribuent à nous transmettre une image négative de certains groupes sociaux, par la représentation médiatique qu’ils en font.

La Trousse éducative – diversité et médias, un programme interactif en ligne conçu pour les enseignants, les élèves, les corps policiers et le grand public, se penche sur des sujets brûlant d’actualité comme la haine, les préjugés et les stéréotypes véhiculés dans nos médias et sur Internet. Ce programme comporte deux volets distincts mais complémentaires : 1) la haine sur Internet et 2) la représentation des groupes ethniques, des autochtones et des personnes fondée sur la race, la religion, l’handicap et l’orientation sexuelle.

« Ce que les jeunes voient et entendent, dans les médias, leur permet d’appréhender notre monde et d’évaluer quelles sont les valeurs et les gens qui ont la cote dans notre monde. Une société à la fois tolérante et diversifiée comme la nôtre est mise au défi par la venue d’Internet qui donne facilement accès aux contenus haineux » affirme Jane Tallim, codirectrice exécutive de Réseau Éducation-Médias. Ces nouveaux outils aideront nos jeunes – qui manquent parfois d’expérience et d’analyse critique – à reconnaître et à lutter contre les messages stéréotypés et haineux véhiculés par les médias qu’ils consomment. »

Notre Trousse éducative – diversité et médias comprend des tutoriels en ligne, des activités pédagogiques, des modules interactifs pour l’élève et des documents d’accompagnement. On peut se le procurer gratuitement via notre site www.education-medias.ca.

La création de cette trousse fut rendue possible grâce au soutien financier du gouvernement du Canada par l’entremise du Programme juridique de partenariats et d’innovation, relevant du ministère de la Justice.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :