ADVERTISEMENT

Don't touch my teacher

In 2010, a survey carried out by the Autonomous Federation of Education (FAE) indicated that 85 % teachers claimed to be victims of psychological or verbal violence. Half claimed to have been the victim of physical violence. The FAE, which brings together nine education unions, yesterday launched a centralized register to document cases of violence at school.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

In 2010, a survey carried out by the Autonomous Federation of Education (FAE) indicated that 85 % of teachers claimed to be victims of psychological or verbal violence. Half claimed to have been the victim of physical violence. The FAE, which brings together nine education unions, yesterday launched a centralized register to document cases of violence at school.

“We are convinced that this measure will further encourage teachers to denounce situations of violence and intimidation suffered. Knowing that their complaint will be heard should motivate them to act. In addition, this measure should force the management to be more active and to stop trivializing these situations knowing that the information is now shared ”, indicated Pierre St-Germain, president of the AWF.

Despite the action plan launched by the government in 2008 and the recent announcement of Bill 56 aimed at combating bullying and violence at school, the AWF believes that a lot remains to be done. "Little has been done in terms of prevention or in terms of assistance, support or protection measures for victims or witnesses," one said in a press release.

A contest

The AWF is also launching the awareness campaign Don't touch my teacher to “break the wall of silence”. In addition, young people will be invited to participate in the competition. Don't be shy when you're intimidating. They will be invited to submit awareness-raising projects or projects aimed at providing solutions to create a more harmonious and respectful climate at school. The deadline for entries is May 23, 2012. Prizes with a value ranging from 100 $ to 400 $ will be offered to the winners.

 

Read also :

Getting the tools to fight cyberbullying

From victim to superhero against bullying

Ten days without screens

 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Touche pas à mon prof

En 2010, un sondage réalisé par la Fédération autonome de l’enseignement (FAE) indiquait que 85 % des enseignants se disaient victimes de violence psychologique ou verbale. La moitié affirmait avoir été victime de violence physique. La FAE, qui regroupe neuf syndicats de l’enseignement, a donc lancé hier un registre centralisé pour documenter les cas de violence à l’école.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

En 2010, un sondage réalisé par la Fédération autonome de l’enseignement (FAE) indiquait que 85 % des enseignants se disaient victimes de violence psychologique ou verbale. La moitié affirmait avoir été victime de violence physique. La FAE, qui regroupe neuf syndicats de l’enseignement, a donc lancé hier un registre centralisé pour documenter les cas de violence à l’école.

« Nous sommes persuadés que cette mesure incitera davantage les enseignants à dénoncer les situations de violence et d’intimidation subies. Le fait de savoir que leur plainte sera entendue devrait les motiver à agir. De plus, cette mesure devrait forcer les directions à être plus actives et à cesser de banaliser ces situations sachant que l’information est maintenant partagée », a indiqué Pierre St-Germain, président de la FAE.

Malgré le plan d’action lancé par le gouvernement en 2008 et l’annonce récente du projet de loi no 56 visant à lutter contre l’intimidation et la violence à l’école, la FAE estime qu’il reste beaucoup à faire. « Peu de choses ont été réalisées en matière de prévention ou en ce qui concerne les mesures d’aide, d’accompagnement ou de protection pour les victimes ou les témoins », indique-t-on dans un communiqué.

Un concours

La FAE lance aussi la campagne de sensibilisation Touche pas à mon prof pour « briser le mur du silence ». De plus, les jeunes seront invités à participer au concours Sois pas timide quand on intimide. Ils seront invités à soumettre des projets de sensibilisation ou visant à apporter des solutions pour créer un climat plus harmonieux et plus respectueux à l’école. La date limite pour les inscriptions est le 23 mai 2012. Des prix d’une valeur variant de 100 $ à 400 $ seront offerts aux gagnants.

 

À lire aussi :

S’outiller pour combattre la cyberintimidation

De victime à superhéros contre l’intimidation

Dix jours sans écrans

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :