ICT and PSE: facilitating mental representation and other benefits

In physical and health education (PHE), ICTs can play a very important role when we realize their potential. Continuation of yesterday's article, which reports on the conference by Joël Bouthillette, host at the RÉCIT national du développement de la personne, on the occasion of the Summit on the iPad in education. (Last of 2 parts)

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

In physical and health education (PHE), ICTs can play a very important role when we realize their potential. Continuation of yesterday's article, which reports on the conference by Joël Bouthillette, host at the RÉCIT national du développement de la personne, on the occasion of the Summit on the iPad in education. (Last of 2 parts)

In addition to the other ideas stated yesterday, Mr. Bouthillette explained during his presentation that one can benefit from ICT in physical and health education (PSE) to activate prior knowledge before an activity, for example using 'a simple questionnaire produced using Google Drive. “If you ask the activation questions orally, it is often the same people who answer, or the super sportsmen in the group. "By doing everything in smaller teams depending on the tablets available, everyone has a voice and we can make a group feedback thanks to the graphics generated by Google Drive according to the responses.

Joël Bouthillette went on to talk about modeling with the aim of getting students to make a mental representation of a task or an activity. “Often this step is done by the teacher or a peer, but once it's done, it's over. With a poster for example, it is already more visual and some students will manage to make their mental representation by consulting it. But some need to go further, and it's the video that will help them. “Good thing, it seems that making or viewing a video on a mobile tablet is child's play. In this way, the student will be able to consult the video at the right place and at the right time, a fine example of educational differentiation!

He goes on to suggest the use of applications representing sports fields, through which students can develop a team strategy together. And, following the video capture of their performances, the students will be able to analyze themselves in order to make the necessary adjustments. It is common to return to the game after a game of basketball. “In many cases, the explanation of young people after a defeat is We were pockets or the teams are not fair! Okay, but still? They have no benchmark, no visual to refer to to explain their difficulties. "" You can also use it to take a photo of a static acrobatics and compare it to a model by annotating the lines of the body for example. »Finally, the RÉCIT facilitator reminds us that the tool can sometimes simply be used as a point counter or a stopwatch.

On the installation side, the environment is of course different from that of a classroom. For example, if there is a television or projection screen in the gym, it should be well protected, or simply placed on the other side of the glass in the teacher's desk. “With a device like the Apple TV (for television) or the AirServer application (for a computer), you can project the iPad screen so that everyone can see clearly. »Digital tablets paired with an interactive gun increase interactivity in learning.

He ended his presentation with an inspiring quote heard from a teacher in his community: “The more resources there are available for my students while they are learning, the more time I have to play my role as a teacher. "

1er IPad Summit in Education took place on 1er May 2013 in Montreal, organized by the Interuniversity Research Center on Training and the Teaching Profession (CRIFPE).

To see: the full lecture by Joël Bouthillette:

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

TIC et EPS : faciliter la représentation mentale et autres avantages

En éducation physique et à la santé (EPS), les TIC peuvent jouer un rôle très important quand on saisit leur potentiel. Suite de l’article d’hier, qui fait un compte-rendu de la conférence de Joël Bouthillette, animateur au RÉCIT national du développement de la personne, à l’occasion du Sommet sur le iPad en éducation. (Dernière de 2 parties)

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

En éducation physique et à la santé (EPS), les TIC peuvent jouer un rôle très important quand on saisit leur potentiel. Suite de l’article d’hier, qui fait un compte-rendu de la conférence de Joël Bouthillette, animateur au RÉCIT national du développement de la personne, à l’occasion du Sommet sur le iPad en éducation. (Dernière de 2 parties)

En plus des autres idées énoncées hier, M. Bouthillette a expliqué lors de sa présentation qu’on peut bénéficier des TIC en éducation physique et à la santé (EPS) pour activer les connaissances antérieures avant une activité, par exemple à l’aide d’un simple questionnaire réalisé grâce à Google Drive. « Si on pose les questions d’activation de façon orale, ce sont souvent les mêmes qui répondent, ou les supers sportifs du groupe. » En réalisant le tout en plus petites équipes selon les tablettes disponibles, tous ont une voix et on peut faire un retour en groupe grâce aux graphiques générés par Google Drive selon les réponses.

Joël Bouthillette a poursuivi en parlant de modélisation dans le but d’amener les élèves à se faire une représentation mentale d’une tâche ou d’une activité. « Souvent, cette étape est faite par l’enseignant ou un pair, mais une fois qu’elle est faite, c’est passé. Avec une affiche par exemple, c’est déjà plus visuel et certains élèves vont arriver à se faire leur représentation mentale en la consultant. Mais certains ont besoin d’aller plus loin, et c’est la vidéo qui va les aider. » Ça tombe bien, il semble que fabriquer ou consulter une vidéo sur une tablette mobile soit un jeu d’enfant. De cette façon l’élève pourra consulter la vidéo à l’endroit et au moment opportun, un bel exemple de différenciation pédagogique!

Il continue en suggérant le recours à des applications représentant des terrains de sport, grâce auxquelles les élèves peuvent développer ensemble une stratégie d’équipe. Et, suite à la capture vidéo de leurs prestations, les élèves pourront s’analyser dans le but d’apporter les ajustements nécessaires. Après une partie de basket-ball, il est courant de faire un retour sur la partie. « Dans plusieurs cas, l’explication des jeunes après une défaite est On était poches ou les équipes ne sont pas justes! D’accord, mais encore? Ils n’ont pas de repère, pas de visuel auquel se référer pour expliquer leurs difficultés. » « On peut aussi s’en servir pour prendre une photo d’une acrobatie statique et la comparer à une modélisation en annotant les lignes du corps par exemple. » Enfin, l’animateur RÉCIT rappelle que l’outil peut parfois simplement servir de compteur de points ou de chronomètre.

Côté installation, l’environnement est bien sûr différent de celui d’une salle de classe. Par exemple, s’il y a un téléviseur ou un écran de projection au gymnase, il doit être bien protégé, ou simplement placé de l’autre côté de la vitre du bureau de l’enseignant. « Avec un dispositif comme l’Apple TV (pour la télévision) ou l’application AirServer (pour un ordinateur), on peut projeter l’écran de l’iPad pour que tous voient bien. » Des tablettes numériques jumelées à un canon interactif viennent augmenter l’interactivité dans l’apprentissage.

Il a terminé sa présentation avec une inspirante citation entendue d’une enseignante dans son milieu : « Plus il y a de ressources disponibles pour mes élèves en cours d’apprentissage, plus j’ai le temps de jouer mon rôle d’enseignante. »

Le 1er Sommet sur le iPad en éducation a eu lieu le 1er mai 2013 à Montréal, organisé par le Centre de recherche interuniversitaire sur la formation et la profession enseignante (CRIFPE).

À voir : la conférence complète de Joël Bouthillette :

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Éditrice du magazine École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), elle s'intéresse particulièrement l'actualité liée au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias. Elle s'active à créer des ponts dans l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. En 2021, elle est reçue à l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!