research and studies

Generation connected: how to help them concentrate in class?

A psychology teacher has found that young people have an average attention span of 3-5 minutes during their home study period, and that less distraction from social media results in lower academic performance. How to teach concentration to this ultra-trendy generation? One track: teaching metacognition.

Reducing social inequalities at school through daycare services

According to a study that has just appeared in a special issue of the Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry on prevention in early childhood, children from disadvantaged backgrounds are more likely to arrive on school benches in n '' not ready to learn and have more difficulty in school afterwards, unless they have attended a childcare service in a facility or in a family environment.

Math: much more concrete with visual tools

World - Everyone who uses technological applications in mathematics agrees that they make completely abstract concepts more concrete, making it easier for students to understand. Nevertheless, it's always interesting to read scientific research reports that prove it!

recherches et études

Génération branchée : comment l’aider à se concentrer en classe?

Un professeur en psychologie a trouvé que les jeunes ont une moyenne d’attention de 3 à 5 minutes pendant leur période d’étude à la maison et que la moindre distraction due aux médias sociaux entraîne des résultats scolaires inférieurs. Comment apprendre la concentration à cette génération ultra-branchée? Une piste : enseigner la métacognition.

Réduire les inégalités sociales à l’école par les services de garde

Selon une étude qui vient de paraître dans un numéro spécial de la revue Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry portant sur la prévention à la petite enfance, les enfants issus de milieux défavorisés ont plus de chances d’arriver sur les bancs d’école en n’étant pas prêts pour apprendre et ont plus de difficultés à l’école par la suite, à moins qu’ils n’aient fréquenté un service de garde en installation ou en milieu familial.

Les maths : beaucoup plus concrètes avec des outils visuels

Monde - Tous ceux qui utilisent des applications technologiques en mathématiques s’entendent pour dire qu’elles permettent de rendre plus concrets des concepts complètement abstraits, facilitant du même coup la compréhension des élèves. Néanmoins, c’est toujours intéressant de lire des rapports de recherche scientifique qui le prouve!