mathematics

The TNI: "instrument of intelligibility of a reality" in mathematics and science

Technologies, including TNI, can help students move from the abstract to the concrete in science and mathematics. The thesis “Potential contributions of the interactive digital whiteboard in a problem situation requiring the passage from the abstract to the concrete in a context of mathematics, science and technology” is concerned with it.

UQAM researchers demonstrate the effectiveness of the game Slice Fractions

In particular, they found that it allows Grade 3 students to reach the level of Grade 4 students in understanding fractions after only 3 hours of play!

XtraMath: a free online resource to help elementary school students memorize operating tables

Very popular in the United States, XtraMath adapts to the abilities of each student and provides detailed reports for teachers and parents. A French version of the tool has recently been put online.

Maths, the coolest subject during a competition!

Maths Day 2015 is a competition that allows students to revise concepts adapted to their level, online or on iPad, in an environment closer to the game than to the exercise book, in class or at home. , and which could allow your school to rise to the top of the ranking! (Let's face it, everyone loves to win!)

Call for workshops for the next high school mathematics development session

The improvement session of the Group of Responsible for Secondary Mathematics (GRMS), which brings together teaching staff and educational advisers every year, will take place in Drummondville at the hotel Le Dauphin on October 14 and 15, 2015. It is already the time to offer workshops.

Learn geometry with the Kinect?

Can body movement make math learning easier? A small-scale study focused specifically on learning angles using the Kinect motion sensor camera found it to be.

Exciting workshops at the 58th congress of the Mathematical Association of Quebec

The Mathematical Association of Quebec (AMQ) is a group made up of mathematics enthusiasts. It is mainly composed of mathematicians, university researchers, teachers of all levels as well as students interested in this discipline.

Slice Fractions: A game that helps kids learn fractions

"Slice Fractions" is a learning game (iOs and Android) designed for children who are new to fractions. It is the result of the work of the company Ululab, in collaboration with experts in mathematics and education from the University of Quebec in Montreal (UQÀM).

FEEP partner of the first Quebec Math Day!

The Federation of Private Educational Institutions is a partner of the first Quebec Math Day on March 14. The Federation promotes this event to its members and works with the organizers to seize this opportunity to spread the passion for math to young people.

Maths: the pet peeve of many students soon to be tamed!

On March 14, Quebec will celebrate the very first “Mathematics Day”. On this occasion, an online math competition is organized for young people from the 5th year of elementary school to the 4th year of secondary school.

mathématiques

Le TNI : « instrument d’intelligibilité d’un réel » en mathématiques et en sciences

Les technologies, dont le TNI, peuvent aider l’élève à passer de l’abstrait au concret en science et mathématique. Le mémoire « Contributions potentielles du tableau numérique interactif dans une situation problème nécessitant le passage de l’abstrait au concret dans un contexte de mathématique, science et technologie » s’y intéresse.

Des chercheurs de l’UQAM démontrent l’efficacité du jeu Slice Fractions

Ils ont notamment trouvé qu’il permet à des élèves de 3e année d’atteindre le niveau d’élèves de 4e année en ce qui concerne la compréhension des fractions après seulement 3 heures de jeu!

XtraMath : une ressource en ligne gratuite pour aider les élèves du primaire à mémoriser les tables d’opérations

Très populaire aux États-Unis, XtraMath s'adapte aux capacités de chaque élève et fournit des rapports détaillés à destination des enseignants et des parents. Une version française de l’outil a récemment été mise en ligne.

Les maths, la matière la plus « cool » le temps d’un concours!

La Journée des Maths 2015, c’est un concours qui permet aux élèves de réviser des notions adaptées à leur niveau, en ligne ou sur iPad, dans un environnement plus près du jeu que du cahier d’exercices, en classe ou à la maison, et qui pourrait permettre à votre école de se hisser en haut du classement! (Avouons-le, tout le monde aime gagner!)

Appel d’ateliers pour la prochaine session de perfectionnement en mathématiques au secondaire

La session de perfectionnement du Groupe des responsables en mathématiques au secondaire (GRMS), qui rassemble chaque année du personnel enseignant et des conseillers pédagogiques, aura lieu à Drummondville à l’hôtel Le Dauphin les 14 et 15 octobre 2015. C’est déjà le moment de proposer des ateliers.

Apprendre la géométrie avec la Kinect?

Le mouvement corporel peut-il faciliter l’apprentissage des mathématiques? Une étude à petite échelle orientée spécifiquement sur l’apprentissage des angles à l’aide de la caméra à capteurs de mouvement Kinect a montré que oui.

Des ateliers passionnants au 58e congrès de l’Association Mathématique du Québec

L’Association Mathématique du Québec (AMQ) est un regroupement constitué de passionnés des mathématiques. Elle est principalement composée de mathématiciens, de chercheurs universitaires, d’enseignants de tous les niveaux ainsi que d’étudiants intéressés par cette discipline.

Slice Fractions : Un jeu qui aide les enfants à apprendre les fractions

« Slice Fractions » est un jeu d’apprentissage (iOs et Android) conçu pour les enfants qui s’initient aux fractions. Il est le fruit du travail de l'entreprise Ululab, en collaboration avec des experts en mathématiques et en éducation de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQÀM).

La FEEP partenaire de la première Journée québécoise des Maths!

La Fédération des établissements d'enseignement privés est partenaire de la première Journée québécoise des Maths, le 14 mars prochain. La Fédération fait la promotion de cet évènement auprès de ses membres et travaille avec les organisateurs afin de saisir cette occasion de propager la passion des maths auprès des jeunes.

Les maths : la bête noire de plusieurs élèves bientôt domptée!

Le 14 mars prochain, on soulignera au Québec la toute première « Journée des mathématiques ». À cette occasion, un concours de maths en ligne est organisé pour les jeunes de la 5e année du primaire à la 4e année du secondaire.