Tablet or laptop? Paths for an informed choice

Resources for informed reflection: what to choose between the tablet and the laptop for school?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Add to favorites (0)

Recently, a reader offered us the following challenge:

I would like our teachers to be able to make an informed reflection in order to make a choice between the iPad and the computer. Can you help me?

An excellent question… And so some leads taken from our archives!

Our file Implant the iPad in the secondary in "1 to 1" mode is an excellent starting point to nourish your thinking about the iPad tablet in particular, in addition to offering you good advice to succeed in the educational shift that accompanies any technological shift. You will also find interesting avenues for a possible massive deployment of the tool you choose, if that is what you are aiming for.

About Chromebooks (laptops) read this article which summarizes the workshop offered during one of the Rendez-vous du RÉCIT on the subject, accompanied by the full webinar in replay on demand. All of this will certainly be useful to you! It's important to remember that the Chromebook, although it looks like a laptop, shares more features with the tablet.

See also:

Benefits? Disadvantages? It depends!

I had started to draw up a concrete list of “For” and “Against”, but I quickly abandoned the idea because what appeared in the “For” column could sometimes constitute a “Against” for another milieu! In short, as in any big question, the answer is "it depends"! However, here are some suggested categories of advantages and disadvantages to consider, depending on your own situation.

FOR

  • Physical benefits
  • Technical advantages
  • Educational benefits

AGAINST

  • Physical disadvantages
  • Technical disadvantages
  • Pedagogical disadvantages

For example, a physical and educational benefit of the tablet in a given setting may be to favor a paperless classroom. But for an environment where digital technology is new for all staff, this can be an educational barrier! Or, the convenience of cloud computing (storage in a web space accessible from anywhere) becomes an irritant when the wifi connection is unstable.

Tablet or computer ... And why not both?

Some communities have preferred to vary the tools available to students and teachers to offer them a multitude of possibilities rather than imposing a single solution. Who knows, maybe your best choice will turn out… a bit of everything? At this time you will find interesting leads in our file on the BYOD approach, an approach that advocates that young people can bring their own device to school. Even if this is not your choice, you will appreciate the avenues it offers regarding the management of different types of devices.


So… tablet or laptop? I hope that these avenues for reflection will be useful to you! Please feel free to add your own resources on the issue by commenting at the bottom of this article!

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Tablette ou ordinateur portable? Pistes pour un choix éclairé

Des ressources pour faire une réflexion éclairée : que choisir entre la tablette et l'ordinateur portable pour l'école?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Récemment, une lectrice nous offrait le défi suivant :

J’aimerais que nos enseignants puissent faire une réflexion éclairée afin de faire un choix entre l’iPad et l’ordinateur. Pouvez-vous m’aider?

Une excellente question… Et donc quelques pistes tirée de nos archives!

Notre dossier Implanter l’iPad au secondaire en mode «1 pour 1» est un excellent point de départ pour nourrir votre réflexion en ce qui concerne la tablette iPad plus particulièrement, en plus de vous offrir de bons conseils pour réussir le virage pédagogique qui accompagne tout virage technologique. Vous y trouverez aussi d’intéressantes pistes pour un éventuel déploiement massif de l’outil que vous choisirez, si c’est ce que vous visez.

À propos des Chromebook (ordinateurs portables), lisez cet article qui résume l’atelier offert pendant l’un des Rendez-vous du RÉCIT sur le sujet, accompagné du webinaire complet en rediffusion à la demande. Le tout vous sera assurément utile! Il est important de se rappeler que le Chromebook, bien qu’il ressemble à un ordinateur portable, partage plus de caractéristiques avec la tablette.

Voyez aussi :

Avantages? Inconvénients? Ça dépend!

J’avais commencé à dresser une liste concrète de « Pour » et de « Contre », mais j’ai vite abandonné l’idée car ce qui apparaissait dans la colonne « Pour » pouvait parfois constituer un « Contre » pour un autre milieu! Bref, comme dans toute grande question, la réponse est « ça dépend »! Voici toutefois des suggestions de catégories d’avantages et d’inconvénients à examiner, selon votre propre situation.

POUR

  • Avantages physiques
  • Avantages techniques
  • Avantages pédagogiques

CONTRE

  • Désavantages physiques
  • Désavantages techniques
  • Désavantages pédagogiques

Par exemple, un avantage physique et pédagogique de la tablette dans un milieu donné peut être de favoriser une classe sans papier. Mais pour un milieu où le numérique est nouveau pour l’ensemble du personnel, ça peut constituer un frein pédagogique! Ou encore, la commodité de l’infonuagique (stockage dans un espace Web accessible de partout) devient un irritant lorsque la connexion wi-fi est instable.

Tablette ou ordinateur… Et pourquoi pas les deux?

Certains milieux ont préféré varier les outils mis à disposition des élèves et des enseignants pour leur offrir une multitude de possibilités plutôt que d’imposer une seule solution. Qui sait, peut-être que votre meilleur choix s’avèrera… un peu de tout? À ce moment, vous trouverez des pistes intéressants dans notre dossier sur l’approche BYOD, une approche qui préconise que les jeunes puissent apporter leur propre appareil à l’école. Même si ce n’est pas votre choix, vous apprécierez les pistes qu’il offre concernant la gestion de différents type d’appareils.


Alors… tablette ou ordinateur portable? J’espère que ces pistes de réflexion sauront vous être utile! N’hésitez pas à ajouter vos propres ressources sur la question en commentant au bas de cet article!

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Éditrice du magazine École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de la Fédération professionnelle des journalistes du Québec (FPJQ), elle s'intéresse particulièrement l'actualité liée au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias. Elle s'active à créer des ponts dans l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Nos prochaines formations en direct