Posted in:

Memories of a visit to the Millennium

There are those encounters that change you forever. I invite you today in my head, in the memories of my visit to the Pavillon Au Millénaire, a school really like no other!
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

You might also like:

🚀
Add to favorites (0)

by Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, elementary school teacher
St-Jean-Berchmans day school

There are those encounters that leave you indifferent, and others that change you forever. In my opinion, life moves way too fast for us to wait for change to come knocking on our door. We must provoke these moments, encourage them to come and whisper in our ears that we can see further, see differently.

This is what I did last December. I had the chance to spend a day at the Au Millénaire pavilion located in La Baie in the company of passionate people, teachers and students. These meetings will certainly have inspired me to do differently in my class.

I invite you in my head (thank you for wiping your feet before entering!) To see the repercussions that a crazy dream can have ...

This is me!

* * *

The story goes the day after my visit to the Au Millénaire pavilion ...

Children trickle into my classroom, smiling at me, looking for their friends with their eyes. They exchange their reading book for tonight and will settle down for the 5 day period. Posted in my doorframe, I greet my colleague at the end of the corridor.

- Did you see the link I sent you last night? She asks me.
- Yes it is perfect. We can use it in our workshops. Your weekend? Were the guys in a tournament?

She rolls her eyes, but I see her smirk. Does she even know how much I admire her courage and strength of character? I think I don't tell her often enough.

Small high-five to the two students who have just arrived almost not running in the corridor, then I find myself looking at my class. Not looking: observing, analyzing ...

* * *

Flashback

Crossing the Park with Catherine Lapointe and Stéphanie Dionne is the equivalent of pouring a flint of coffee straight into your mouth and then lying down on Freud's sofa and talking about gardening. It goes all over the place, but there is definitely a common thread: passion. You know, that little je ne sais quoi that you can read in the eyes of some people and that makes you want to follow them to the ends of the earth. Imagine that our goal is to visit an innovative school in La Baie. Our souls as educators feast on the landscape and the encounters that await us at the end of the road ...

The delegation visiting the school that day.

* * *

In class…

I will sit down near the small group doing free writing. In recent days, the new trend has been songs. We might get an impromptu performance before dinner. In a corner, two girls alternate reading a story. I'll bet you a coffee that you couldn't guess who's struggling and who I suspect is gifted. I have to intervene with a few students who have decided to embark on a table competition with the energy of a tennis player at Wimbledon. The set will be tight.

I remember the smiles of their students, the energy that emanated from every square inch of this institution. However, it is the serenity of the place that calls out to us when we enter the Pavillon Au Millénaire.

* * *

Flashback

The warm welcome from the secretary and the director lays the foundations for this day, which begins around a good coffee. As if we were meeting old friends. We sit in the office of Marie-Josée Villeneuve who offers us to listen to the history of the school. A story that begins with a dream that has come true at lightning speed. From a team united around the same objective: make school a lively and innovative environment.

And it is certain that it disturbs when you decide to shake up old habits, well-established rules, but you have to remember for whom these decisions were made: young people. What interests us is human, not monetary. We therefore begin our visit with a small idea of the complexity of the files to be managed when running two schools with rather different mentalities. No need to remember that asking which one you prefer would be the equivalent of choosing your favorite child. Sometimes it's a matter of affinities, but the two definitely have something to make the other evolve. While they may be different in many ways, both matter and evolve.

We certainly could have continued chatting with the lovely headmistress, but to be fair we had butterflies in our stomachs just at the thought of venturing into this school. We start with the modest gymnasium where the Hogwarts-style library is also attached. Catherine cannot resist the toboggan which is seen as an exit in this little literary cocoon. A slide later, we go along the general store to land in paradise.

(My opinion is completely biased for this next part, you find me sorry.)

A kitchen in a school? No, THE kitchen. Except that a beautiful place is worth nothing without THE food technician who, a smile on her welcoming face 24/7, receives groups every week to live the kitchen; learn about healthy lifestyle habits in a concrete, lively and stimulating context.

* * *

In class…

"Could we prepare a recipe for healthy cookies to close the theme on food?" »No, allergies ...

For a girl who loves food as much as I do (tall fan dessert since 1984), it is a blow to have to put aside such a great learning opportunity. I console myself; there are several ways to involve students in their process of deepening knowledge / skills. Just look up and see what's going on around us. You know, what is called "real life".

* * *

Flashback

Kindergarten children came home from recess, their cheeks flushed with the December wind. A smell of salted vegetables hung in the kitchen.

They sat down, eager to taste the soup they had prepared under the watchful eye of their teacher, another passionate who walks the corridors of the Au Millénaire pavilion every day. “Be careful, it can be hot! Exclaims a child. "It smells good, it smells a little salty", adds his neighbor. Meanwhile, Marie-Claude is tasting edamame beans (madame beans, for the intimate) to the curious little ones, that is to say everyone.

I attend, while reveling in the concoction of these children filled with well-deserved pride, at this show by wondering what comes to upset me the most in this yet so simple moment. I am still in the process of constructing an answer.

Then, two managers take charge of preparing a cart with glasses of soup for staff to enjoy. Was it the teacher's proposal, an initiative of the children? Seeing the reaction from both parties, I would tend to say: whatever. The classroom doors open, one after the other, and each time the children are received in a warm, sometimes humorous way, but always benevolent.

I decided to take the opportunity to continue my little overview, meeting here and there my friends who took part in this educational journey, crisscrossing the premises with their eyes sparkling with curiosity. The care that has been given to the aesthetic aspect of the establishment is undeniable. My colleague Isabelle takes care to examine every detail. I know that she not only observes the beauty of the place, she also assesses the effect that such a setting can have on children.  

Each class has a different theme, creating a particular harmony between each level thanks to a "buffer" room. The latter makes it possible to double the space of each class. The pupils can gather there to work, to seek a little calm, to collaborate with their classmates, to prepare a particular project with the support of a guide. In short, the possibilities match their creativity and the trust that teachers place in them. You will understand that the development follows what some call a trend: the flexible seating. I prefer to see it as the natural evolution of things. Children do not have assigned places and to keep clean. They are all responsible for the spaces they use and take pride in keeping them in good condition.

Once the shock has passed, we observe the students. In a class of 3e, they are building a wordlist on the PicCollage app to enrich their next writing project. I play curious and ask them how they find it, working with iPads. Honest question, honest answer: we'd rather play games, but that's okay also when work is fun.

I take a look at the attached room consisting of a stage and suspended lights, creating a particularly warm atmosphere. Some students stage a play in Spanish, guided by their facilitator. What a great way to discover a culture by familiarizing yourself with a third language. I try a few words in greeting, thank you to my two years of CEGEP in languages, and I return to play the investigator.

Crossing the hallway, I find myself in the undergraduate classes. The theme: from nature to the city. Once again, the students work in sub-groups, performing various tasks specified in their work plan, accessible at all times on their tablet. A hint of concern crosses me: these children also write on paper, don't they? Of course, answers Karine, their teacher. What a pleasure to discover that she is also a fan of writing workshops. One only has to look around the classroom to discover the importance of literature and creativity. And what about his project " Cooking with classes ". I think I made a new friend… “Let's be fans of each other,” École branchée Audrey Miller invited us at the most recent Clair conference in New Brunswick.

I finally go to the premises of the 3rd cycle, where we can find the famous room of seats suspended in the clouds. Once again, I am amazed by this original setting, but it is the four-legged students on the classroom floor that capture my attention. I just landed in an introductory robotics session. I take pleasure in observing my colleague who was recruited by a team of young people to give them a hand in solving their programming problem. The ease that these children have in communicating with others fascinates me. At the same time, if I can trust the welcome we received, it is not surprising ... these children definitely have models around them who will allow them to flourish, to grow in confidence and who They might even want to do things differently, too.

* * *

Today

Several months have passed since my visit to the Au Millénaire pavilion and I was afraid my memory would fail when I finally started writing this article. I was scared by the idea of not doing justice to what is being done there, of forgetting names, projects, ideas… Then, I realized that it was impossible to do justice to this. middle in a simple text. You have to live it for these people to leave their mark on you. Just as you have to go and watch your colleagues teach, attend conferences that throw you off balance, and screw you up trying new projects that take you out of your comfort zone.

So thank you very much because, thanks to you, I dare a little more, I hope a little better and I definitely see bigger.

TVA report on Millennium cuisine (seen on Facebook

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Some announcements

Publish a text too!

Our readers love to read about what's going on in the lives of teachers (and us too!)! Take the keyboard and publicize your educational project or share your ideas, tips and tricks via our Opinion and Testimonials sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news!

Get our École branchée | Weekly News as well as the programming of our services every week!



About the Author

Myra Auvergnat
Myra Auvergnat
Myra teaches elementary school at Externat St-Jean-Berchmans in Quebec.

Souvenirs d’une visite Au Millénaire

par Myra Auvergnat-Ringuette, enseignante au primaire
Externat St-Jean-Berchmans

Il y a de ces rencontres qui vous laissent indifférents, et d’autres qui vous changent à jamais. Selon moi, la vie va bien trop vite pour qu’on attende que le changement vienne cogner à notre porte. Il faut provoquer ces moments, les inciter à venir nous murmurer à l’oreille que nous pouvons voir plus loin, voir autrement.

C’est ce que j’ai fait en décembre dernier. J’ai eu la chance de passer une journée au pavillon Au Millénaire situé à La Baie en compagnie de gens passionnés, enseignants comme élèves. Ces rencontres m’auront assurément inspirée à faire autrement dans ma classe.

Je vous invite dans ma tête (merci d’essuyer vos pieds avant d’entrer!) afin de constater les répercussions que peuvent avoir un rêve un peu fou…

Ça, c’est moi!

* * *

Son de cloche au lendemain de ma visite au pavillon Au Millénaire…

Les enfants entrent au compte goutte dans ma classe, me souriant, cherchant leurs amis des yeux. Ils échangent leur livre de lecture pour ce soir et vont s’installer pour la période des 5 au quotidien. Postée dans mon cadre de porte, je salue ma collègue au fond du corridor.

– Tu as vu le lien que je t’ai envoyé hier soir?, me demande-t-elle.
– Oui, c’est parfait. On pourra s’en servir dans nos ateliers. Ta fin de semaine? Les gars étaient en tournoi?

Elle lève les yeux au ciel, mais je vois son petit sourire en coin. Sait-elle seulement à quel point j’admire son courage et sa force de caractère? Je pense que je ne lui dis pas assez souvent.

Petit high-five aux deux élèves qui viennent d’arriver en ne courant presque pas dans le corridor, puis je me surprends à regarder ma classe. Pas regarder : observer, analyser…

* * *

Flashback

Traverser le Parc avec Catherine Lapointe et Stéphanie Dionne, c’est l’équivalent de te verser un silex de café direct dans la bouche pour ensuite t’allonger sur le canapé de Freud et jaser de jardinage. Ça part dans tous les sens, mais il y a définitivement un fil conducteur : la passion. Vous savez, ce petit je-ne-sais-quoi que l’on peut lire dans les yeux de certaines personnes et qui donne le goût de les suivre au bout du monde. Imaginez en plus que notre objectif soit la visite d’une école innovante à La Baie. Nos âmes de pédagogues se régalent du paysage et des rencontres qui nous attendent au bout de la route…

La délégation en visite à l’école ce jour-là.

* * *

En classe…

Je vais m’asseoir près du petit groupe qui fait de l’écriture libre. Depuis quelques jours, la nouvelle tendance est aux chansons. On aura peut-être droit à une performance improvisée avant le dîner. Dans un coin, deux filles lisent une histoire en alternance. Je vous parie un café que vous ne pourriez pas deviner qui est en difficulté et qui je soupçonne de douance. Je dois intervenir auprès de quelques élèves qui ont décidé de se lancer dans un concours de tables avec l’énergie d’un joueur de tennis à Wimbledon. Le set sera serré.

Je me souviens des sourires de leurs élèves, de l’énergie qui se dégageait de chaque pouce carré de cette institution. Pourtant, c’est la sérénité des lieux qui nous interpelle quand on entre dans le Pavillon Au Millénaire.

* * *

Flashback

L’accueil chaleureux de la secrétaire et de la directrice jette les bases de cette journée qui s’entame autour d’un bon café. Comme si on retrouvait des amies de longue date. On s’asseoit dans le bureau de Marie-Josée Villeneuve qui nous propose d’écouter l’histoire de l’école. Une histoire qui démarre avec un rêve qui s’est concrétisé à une vitesse fulgurante. D’une équipe rassemblée autour d’un même objectif : faire de l’école un milieu vivant et innovant.

Et c’est certain que ça dérange quand on décide de bousculer les vieilles habitudes, les règles bien établies, mais il faut se rappeler pour qui ont été prises ces décisions : les jeunes. Ce qui nous intéresse est humain, pas monétaire. Nous entamons donc notre visite avec une petite idée de la complexité des dossiers à gérer lorsqu’on dirige deux écoles aux mentalités plutôt distinctes. Nul besoin de rappeler que demander laquelle on préfère serait l’équivalent de choisir son enfant préféré. Parfois, c’est une question d’affinités, mais les deux ont définitivement de quoi faire évoluer l’autre. Bien qu’ils puissent être différents sous plusieurs angles, l’un et l’autre importe et fait évoluer.

On aurait certainement pu continuer à discuter avec la charmante directrice, mais pour être honnête, nous avions des papillons dans le ventre à la simple idée de nous aventurer dans cette école. Nous débutons par le modeste gymnase où est également annexée la bibliothèque de style Poudlard. Catherine ne peut résister au toboggan qui fait figure de sortie dans ce petit cocon littéraire. Une glissade plus tard, nous longeons le magasin général pour atterrir au paradis.

(Mon opinion est complètement biaisée pour cette prochaine partie, vous m’en voyez navrée.)

Une cuisine dans une école? Non, LA cuisine. Sauf qu’un beau local ne vaut rien sans LA technicienne en alimentation qui, un sourire accroché à son visage accueillant 24/7, reçoit les groupes chaque semaine pour vivre la cuisine; s’initier aux saines habitudes de vie dans un contexte concret, vivant et stimulant.

* * *

En classe…

« Est-ce qu’on pourrait préparer une recette de biscuits santé pour clore le thème sur l’alimentation? » Non, les allergies…

Pour une fille qui aime autant la nourriture que moi (grande fan de dessert depuis 1984), c’est un coup dur de devoir mettre de côté une si belle opportunité d’apprentissage. Je me console; des façons d’impliquer les élèves dans leur démarche d’approfondissement de connaissances/compétences, il y en a plusieurs. Suffit de lever les yeux et de regarder ce qui se passe autour de nous. Vous savez, ce qu’on appelle « la vraie vie ».

* * *

Flashback

Les enfants de maternelle rentraient de la récréation, les joues rougies par le vent de décembre. Une odeur de légumes salés flottait dans la cuisine.

Ils se sont attablés, impatients de goûter à la soupe qu’ils avaient préparée sous l’oeil attentif de leur enseignante, une autre passionnée qui arpente chaque jour les couloirs du pavillon Au Millénaire. « Attention, ça peut être chaud! » s’exclame un enfant. « Ça sent bon, ça sent un peu salé », renchérit son voisin. Pendant ce temps, Marie-Claude fait goûter des fèves d’edamame (fèves de madame, pour les intimes) aux petits curieux, c’est-à-dire tout le monde.

J’assiste, tout en me délectant de la concoction de ces enfants remplis de fierté bien méritée, à ce spectacle en me demandant ce qui vient le plus me bouleverser dans ce moment pourtant si simple. Je suis encore en train d’échafauder une réponse.

Puis, deux responsables se mettent en charge de préparer un chariot avec des verres de soupe à faire déguster aux membres du personnel. Était-ce la proposition de l’enseignante, une initiative des enfants? À voir la réaction des deux partis, j’aurais tendance à dire : peu importe. Les portes de classe s’ouvrent, l’une après l’autre, et chaque fois les enfants sont reçus de façon chaleureuse, parfois un brin humoristique, mais toujours bienveillante.

Je décide d’en profiter pour continuer mon petit tour d’horizon, croisant ici et là mes amis ayant pris part à ce périple éducatif, sillonnant les locaux avec leurs yeux pétillants de curiosité. Le soin qui a été donné à l’aspect esthétique de l’établissement est indéniable. Ma collègue Isabelle prend soin d’examiner chaque détail. Je sais qu’elle ne fait pas qu’observer la beauté des lieux, elle évalue également l’effet qu’un tel décor peut avoir sur les enfants.  

Chaque classe revêt un thème différent, créant une harmonie particulière entre chaque niveau grâce à une pièce « tampon ». Cette dernière permet d’agrandir du double l’espace de chaque classe. Les élèves peuvent s’y rassembler pour travailler, chercher un peu de calme, collaborer avec leurs camarades, préparer un projet particulier avec le support d’un accompagnateur. Bref, les possibilités sont à la hauteur de leur créativité et de la confiance que leur accorde les enseignants. Vous aurez compris que l’aménagement suit ce que certains appellent une tendance : le flexible seating. Je préfère le voir comme l’évolution naturelle des choses. Les enfants n’ont pas de places assignées et à garder propre. Ils sont tous responsables des espaces qu’ils utilisent et éprouvent une fierté à ce que ceux-ci demeurent en bonne condition.

Une fois le choc passé, on observe les élèves. Dans une classe de 3e, ils sont en train de construire une liste de mots sur l’application PicCollage afin d’enrichir leur prochain projet d’écriture. Je joue les curieuses et leur demande comment ils trouvent ça, travailler avec des iPads. Question honnête, réponse honnête : on préfèrerait jouer à des jeux, mais c’est correct aussi quand le travail est amusant.

Je jette un coup d’oeil au local en annexe constitué d’une scène et de lumières suspendues, créant une ambiance particulièrement chaleureuse. Quelques élèves mettent en scène une pièce de théâtre en espagnol, guidés par leur animatrice. Quelle belle façon de découvrir une culture en se familiarisant avec une 3e langue. Je tente quelques mots en guise de salutations, merci à mes deux ans de cégep en langues, et je retourne jouer les investigatrices.

En traversant le couloir, je me retrouve dans les classes de 1er cycle. Le thème : de la nature à la ville. Encore une fois, les élèves travaillent en sous-groupes, effectuant diverses tâches précisées dans leur plan de travail, accessible en tout temps sur leur tablette. Une pointe d’inquiétude me traverse : ces enfants écrivent aussi sur du papier, n’est-ce pas? Bien entendu, me répond Karine, leur enseignante. Quel plaisir de découvrir qu’elle est aussi une mordue des ateliers d’écriture. Il suffit de balayer sa classe du regard pour découvrir l’importance que revêt la littérature et la créativité. Et que dire de son projet « Cuisiner avec classes ». Je pense que je me suis faite une nouvelle amie… « Soyons fans les uns des autres », nous invitait Audrey Miller, de l’École branchée, lors du plus récent colloque Clair, au Nouveau-Brunswick.

Je me dirige finalement vers les locaux du 3e cycle, où on peut retrouver la fameuse salle de sièges suspendus dans les nuages. Encore une fois, je suis ébahie par ce décor original, mais ce sont les élèves à quatre pattes sur le plancher de la classe qui captent mon attention. Je viens d’atterrir dans une séance d’introduction à la robotique. Je prends plaisir à observer mon collègue qui s’est fait recruté par une équipe de jeunes afin de leur donner un coup de main pour résoudre leur problème de programmation. L’aisance qu’ont ces enfants à entrer en communication avec autrui me fascine. En même temps, si je me fie à l’accueil qu’on nous a fait, ce n’est pas surprenant… ces enfant ont définitivement autour d’eux des modèles qui leur permettront de s’épanouir, de grandir en confiance et qui leur donneront peut-être même l’envie de faire les choses différemment, eux aussi.

* * *

Aujourd’hui

Plusieurs mois ont passé depuis ma visite au pavillon Au Millénaire et j’avais peur que ma mémoire ne fasse défaut lorsque j’ai finalement commencé à écrire cet article. J’étais effrayée par l’idée de ne pas rendre justice à ce qui se fait là-bas, d’oublier des noms, des projets, des idées… Puis, j’ai réalisé que c’était impossible de rendre justice à ce milieu dans un simple texte. Il faut le vivre pour que ces gens laissent leur empreinte sur vous. Tout comme vous devez allez voir vos collègues enseigner, assister à des congrès qui vous déstabilisent et vous planter en essayant des nouveaux projets qui vous sortent de votre zone de confort.

Alors merci infiniment car, grâce à vous,  j’ose un peu plus, j’espère un peu mieux et je vois définitivement plus grand.

Reportage de TVA sur la cuisine du Millénaire (vu sur Facebook