Media Literacy Week 2016: Respect in a Digital World

From November 2 to 6, we celebrated Media Literacy Week. The purpose of this annual event is to make students, parents and education stakeholders aware of media issues, including those relating to digital media.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

From November 2 to 6, we celebrated Media Literacy Week. The purpose of this annual event is to make students, parents and education stakeholders aware of media issues, including those relating to digital media.

In a society where the population is more and more exposed to the media and advertisements and where the sources of information are multiple, media education is essential. Added to this is the rise in the use of social media, particularly among young people, which raises questions relating to the protection of digital identity and privacy.

This year Media Literacy Week took place under the theme Respect in a digital world and aimed to encourage young people to act responsibly, ethically and with integrity in virtual environments. In addition to media education, the annual event is also an opportunity to reflect on the digital literacy. In the end, we want to make students digital citizens who are engaged, respectful and endowed with a sharp critical sense.

To do this, different resources and activity ideas are offered to teachers, parents and workers who work with children and adolescents. For example, there are educational scenarios to address the issue of reputation, respect and privacy on social networks. There are also proposals for workshops and activities to develop students' critical thinking vis-à-vis the media, including projects calling on them to create an advertisement themselves, to analyze the media coverage of a given subject or to reflect on the question of the right to information and to censorship on the Internet. The resources developed will remain available throughout the year.

Media Literacy Week is a joint initiative of Habilomedia, an organization dedicated to media education and the promotion of digital literacy, and Canadian Teachers' Federation.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic leblanc
A graduate in sociology, Dominic Leblanc is an educational advisor in the Programs and Educational Development Department of the Cégep régional de Lanaudière in L'Assomption.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Semaine éducation médias 2016 : Le respect dans un monde numérique

Du 2 au 6 novembre, on soulignait la Semaine éducation médias. Cet évènement annuel a pour objectif de sensibiliser les élèves, les parents et les intervenants du milieu de l’éducation aux enjeux médiatiques, dont ceux relatifs aux médias numériques.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Du 2 au 6 novembre, on soulignait la Semaine éducation médias. Cet évènement annuel a pour objectif de sensibiliser les élèves, les parents et les intervenants du milieu de l’éducation aux enjeux médiatiques, dont ceux relatifs aux médias numériques.

Dans une société où la population est de plus en plus exposée aux médias et aux publicités et où les sources d’informations sont multiples, l’éducation aux médias est primordiale. À cela s’ajoute entre autres la montée de l’utilisation des médias sociaux, particulièrement chez les jeunes, qui soulève des questions relatives à la protection de l’identité numérique et de la vie privée.

Cette année, la Semaine éducation médias s’est déroulée sous le thème Le respect dans un monde numérique et visait à encourager les jeunes à agir de façon responsable, éthique et intègre dans les environnements virtuels. En plus de l’éducation aux médias, l’évènement annuel se veut aussi une occasion de réfléchir à la littératie numérique. Au final, on veut faire des élèves des citoyens numériques engagés, respectueux et dotés d’un sens critique aiguisé.

Pour ce faire, différentes ressources et idées d’activités sont proposées aux enseignants, aux parents et aux intervenants qui œuvrent auprès des enfants et des adolescents. On trouve par exemple des scénarios pédagogiques pour aborder la question de la réputation, du respect et de la vie privée sur les réseaux sociaux. On trouve aussi des propositions d’ateliers et d’activités pour développer le sens critique des élèves face aux médias, dont des projets les appelant à créer eux-mêmes une publicité, à analyser la couverture médiatique d’un sujet donné ou à réfléchir à la question du droit à l’information et à la censure sur Internet. Les ressources développées demeureront disponibles toute l’année.

La Semaine éducation médias est une initiative conjointe de Habilomédias, un organisme dédié à l’éducation des médias et à la promotion de la littératie numérique, et de la Fédération canadienne des enseignantes et des enseignants.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Dominic Leblanc
Diplômé en sociologie, Dominic Leblanc est conseiller pédagogique au Service des programmes et du développement pédagogique du Cégep régional de Lanaudière à L'Assomption.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :