Hurricane season: deep in the storm

Published / Updated on

Every year, many hurricanes (or cyclones) form on our planet, particularly between June 1 and November 30. Some of them hit the coast hard and sometimes leave thousands of victims behind. Here are some ideas for activities to do in class to better understand this meteorological phenomenon and its consequences.

“Cyclones form over warm tropical waters. The air accumulates a lot of humidity and heat. As the air above the system is cooler, a constant circulation effect occurs between hot air and cold air. This circulation is increased by the presence of winds which cause the cloud to spin more and more quickly on itself. "

Source: Alloprof

In early September 2021, Storm Ida hit the state of Louisiana almost 10 years to the day after Katrina. It then moved up the US East Coast and hit New York City, partially submerging it in torrential rains, unheard of.

(…) Experts believe that the situation is slightly exacerbated by climate change - warmer air retains more rain - and by the urban environment, since the vast asphalt pavements prevent water from infiltrating the ground .

Radio-Canada

This is the ninth storm of the season in the Atlantic Ocean, and the 5th strongest to hit the United States, which is now bracing for Larry's arrival.

In August 2019, Hurricane Dorian made itself felt in the Caribbean and it was particularly the islands of the Bahamas that suffered:

“The most violent hurricane on record in 40 years, Dorian wreaked havoc on the Bahamas. Prime Minister Hubert Minnis spoke of a “historic tragedy”. The current death toll shows 20 dead, while thousands of homes are destroyed and 61,000 people are said to be in need of food aid. The island of Grand Bahama was half swallowed up by the sea. "

LCI, September 6, 2019

Last year, in August 2020, Hurricane Laura left at least 14 people dead in the southern United States, but less damage than feared despite its power. Just before, Laura was passing through the Caribbean Sea and had caused extensive damage in Haiti and the Dominican Republic. At least 35 people have lost their lives in these two countries.

“Like all the countries of the Caribbean region, Haiti is each year, from June to November, under the threat of cyclones, but heavy downpours are enough to threaten the lives of the most disadvantaged citizens, forced to live in areas with risk, near canals or ravines clogged with waste. "

Radio-Canada, August 28, 2020

Television images of natural disasters such as hurricanes are always spectacular, but all too often the media and viewers quickly move on when all is over. Disaster victims often remain grappling with the consequences of these events for months or even years.

Before we begin, here is the hurricane trajectory map likely to have effects in Canada in the coming days. Watch for it this fall, it may show some occasionally.

Challenge

Use this quiz to test your hurricane knowledge. At the same time, you can search the web to help you answer questions properly.

 
Cahier de l'élève

Download the accompanying booklet of the pupil!

General presentation

Educational intention of the guide

At the end of these activities, the student will be able to understand how hurricanes are formed, but also to reflect on the challenges that affected populations face after a natural disaster.

Disciplines and levels targeted

  • Science and technology
    • Elementary cycle 3: earth and space: transformation of matter (describe certain natural phenomena)
    • 1st cycle of secondary: geological and geophysical phenomena (natural manifestations of energy)
  • Geography (lower secondary school)
    • knowledge related to the study of a city subject to natural risks

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Communicate digitally
  • Develop and mobilize your information culture
  • Producing content with digital
  • Collaborate digitally

Suggested digital tools

  • Alloprof quiz
  • Google maps
  • Collaborative document: Padlet Middlspot, Google Docs, etc.
  • Presentation support: Powerpoint, Google Slides, Keynote, etc.
  • Virtual reality headset

ACTIVITY 1: A destructive force

‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬Goals

  • Explore the Saffir-Simpson scale.
  • Understand how cyclones are formed.

First, ask students if they know the difference between these terms: cyclone, hurricane, and typhoon. Let them speculate.

Then, to learn more about the formation of cyclones, as a whole class, watch a video on this topic. Here are different options:

Next, ask students if they know how to determine the intensity of hurricanes. Have they ever heard the expression “category hurricane…”? This is the Saffir-Simpson scale, which ranges from 1 to 5 depending on the intensity of the hurricane.

As a whole class, learn more about this scale by observing the effects modeled in this animation of Agence France-Presse.

Get the wind strength summary for each of the 5 categories in this illustration from AFP.

Finally, invite the students to find all the relevant information on cyclones and anti-cyclones in this Alloprof page.


ACTIVITY 2: The consequences of a hurricane

Goals

  • Locate on a map the different places affected by hurricanes Harvey in 2017 Dorian in 2019 and Matthew in 2016.
  • Observe the extent of the damage caused by hurricanes Matthew in Haiti and Dorian in the Bahamas and name the challenges facing residents.
  • Compare the consequences of a natural disaster in Haiti or the Bahamas with the United States.

In the USA

In 2017, Hurricane Harvey hit the coasts of Texas in the United States and in particular inundated neighborhoods in the city of Houston, the most populous in this state. here is an article that includes several photos showing how residents had to manage to leave their homes.

During this time, we also feared that the dike Addicks and that of the reservoir Barker do not give way and flood part of the city. Display the map of Houston on the board and point to the two dikes. Observe the trajectories of the rivers, showing that they are indeed heading towards the city of Houston. Take the opportunity to discuss or revise the concept of Watershed!

Matthew in Haiti ...

In 2016, Hurricane Matthew devastated part of the island of Haiti. Using Google Maps, locate the island with the students. Then show them the path the hurricane took. We can see it here on Wikipedia.

Haiti was the country hardest hit by Hurricane Matthew. In order to see the situation in which the island and its inhabitants found themselves, invite the students to read the following articles. During the reading, ask them to identify the main challenges that the Haitian people have faced. Invite them to classify these challenges by time: short term, medium term and long term.

  1. The results of the passage of hurricane Matthew
    La Croix, October 12, 2016
  2. Hurricane Matthew: the toll is growing in Haiti, the mission of the peacekeepers extended
    France24.com, October 12, 2016
  3. Haiti: Events of 2017
    Human Rights Watch Global Report 2018. (Here, it is very interesting to use the search function in the page (CTRL + F on Windows or CMD + F on Mac) to quickly locate the places where one mentions consequences of the passage of Matthew.)

... and Dorian in the Bahamas

Hurricane Dorian, which hit the Bahamas in September 2019, has also been extensively documented. The authorities and the media have noted the extent of the damage and some articles which report the tragedy on these islands. You may want to ask students to identify information about the consequences of Dorian and to draw a parallel with Matthew.

  1. In the Bahamas, a "generational devastation" after the passage of hurricane Dorian
  2. 70,000 people in emergency situation in Bahamas after Dorian crossing
  3. The death toll rises to 30 in the Bahamas

You can use a collaborative virtual wall to log information such as Middlespot or Padlet.


ACTIVITY 3: Deadly cyclones

Goals

  • Research information on devastating cyclones and make comparisons.

Over the past thirty years, numerous cyclones have caused major damage across the world. To learn about the most violent cyclones in recent years, divide the class into several working groups and match one hurricane per team.

Sandy, Andrew, Florence, Katrina, Wilma, Mitch, Haiyan, Irma, Ike, Dorian.

Students will be able to document and note various elements, including the type of cyclone (hurricane or typhoon), its strength, the places devastated by it, the number of victims, the cost of material damage, etc. Each team can take their notes in a collaborative document (Google Docs, Microsoft Word, Middlespot, Padlet, etc.).

Finally, invite the students to use a medium of their choice to present the results of their research.

Ideas: presentation application (Powerpoint, Google Slides, Keynote, Genially, etc.), video, etc.

Remember to conclude with an exhibition or a short oral presentation. Get the students to move so that they position themselves, with “their” hurricane, in order of the strength or severity of the consequences.


For further

Where do the names of hurricanes come from? It is possible to learn it thanks to this Radio-Canada article.

Are your students aware of other scales used to measure the intensity of natural phenomena? (We can think of the Richter scale for earthquakes, the VEI scale - volcanic explosiveness index - for volcanoes, the Beaufort scale for winds, etc.) How could they compare them?

Want to try an immersive experience with the students by using virtual reality? All you need is a type Cardboard (which looks like the image opposite) or other, as well as a mobile device (phone or iPod Touch, for example) to allow students to meet for a while in the heart of hurricane Irma!


More about the magazine

The birth of a hurricane explained
Radio-Canada

About hurricanes
Environment Canada file

Cyclone
Wikipedia article

Hurricanes and tropical storms
A large NASA file, with striking images


Contributed to the production of this guide:
Maxime Laflamme and Audrey Miller

Back to the guides reception

SCOOP! this is...
 

Engage your students through motivating learning contexts! Each active pedagogy path SCOOP! first offers a reading ready to share with the students, then ideas for complementary activities for the teacher. Easily tie in disciplinary and digital skills!

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide the advertisements and see the educational activities corresponding to the texts!

Find a guide ...

Guide index

For primary classes

For secondary classes

By dimension of digital competence

So you don't miss a thing

Receive an email alert when a new one is published SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Saison des ouragans : au coeur de la tempête

Paru / Mis à jour le

Chaque année, de nombreux ouragans (ou cyclones) se forment sur notre planète, particulièrement entre le 1er juin et le 30 novembre. Certains d'entre eux frappent durement les côtes et laissent parfois des milliers de sinistrés derrière. Voici des idées d'activités à réaliser en classe pour mieux comprendre ce phénomène météorologique et ses conséquences.

« Les cyclones se forment au-dessus des eaux chaudes des tropiques. L’air accumule beaucoup d’humidité et de chaleur. Comme l’air au-dessus du système est plus froid, un effet de circulation constante se produit entre l’air chaud et l’air froid. Cette circulation est augmentée par la présence des vents qui amènent le nuage à tourner de plus en plus rapidement sur lui-même. »

Source : Alloprof

Au début septembre 2021, la tempête Ida a frappé l’état de Louisiane presque 10 ans jour pour jour après Katrina. Elle a ensuite remonté la côte Est américaine et touché la ville de New York, la submergeant en partie par des pluies torrentielles, du jamais vu.

(…) les experts estiment que la situation est légèrement exacerbée par les changements climatiques – l’air plus chaud retient davantage de pluie – et par l’environnement urbain, puisque les vastes revêtements asphaltés empêchent l’eau de s’infiltrer dans le sol.

Radio-Canada

Il s’agit de la neuvième tempête de la saison dans l’océan Atlantique, et la 5e plus puissante à frapper les États-Unis, qui se prépare maintenant à l’arrivée de Larry.

En août 2019, c’est l’ouragan Dorian qui s’est fait sentir dans les Caraïbes et ce sont particulièrement les îles des Bahamas qui en ont écopé :

« Ouragan le plus violent jamais enregistré depuis 40 ans, Dorian a semé le chaos sur les Bahamas. Le Premier ministre, Hubert Minnis, a évoqué une « tragédie historique ». Le bilan actuel fait état de 20 morts, tandis que des milliers de maisons sont détruites et 61 000 personnes auraient besoin d’aide alimentaire. L’île de Grand Bahama a été à moitié engloutie par la mer. »

LCI, 6 septembre 2019

L’an dernier, en août 2020, l’ouragan Laura a fait au moins 14 morts dans le sud des États-Unis, mais moins de dommages que redouté malgré sa puissance. Juste avant, Laura passait dans la mer des Caraïbes et avait provoqué d’important dégâts en Haïti et en République dominicaine. Au moins 35 personnes ont perdu la vie sur dans ces deux pays.

« Comme l’ensemble des pays de la région caribéenne, Haïti est chaque année, de juin à novembre, sous la menace de cyclones, mais de fortes averses suffisent à menacer la vie des citoyens les plus défavorisés, contraints de vivre dans des zones à risque, à proximité de canaux ou de ravins obstrués de déchets. »

Radio-Canada, 28 août 2020

Les images télévisuelles de désastres naturels tels que les ouragans sont toujours spectaculaires, mais trop souvent, les médias et les téléspectateurs passent rapidement à autre chose quand tout est terminé. Les sinistrés demeurent souvent aux prises avec les conséquences de ces événements pendant des mois, voire des années.

Avant de commencer, voici la carte de la trajectoire des ouragans susceptibles d’avoir des effets au Canada dans les prochains jours. Surveillez-la cet automne, elle risque d’en montrer à l’occasion.

Défi

Sers-toi de ce quiz pour tester tes connaissances sur les ouragans. En parallèle, tu peux effectuer des recherches sur le Web pour t’aider à répondre adéquatement aux questions.

 
Cahier de l'élève

Téléchargez le cahier d’accompagnement de l’élève!

Présentation générale

Intention pédagogique du guide

Au terme de ces activités, l’élève sera en mesure comprendre comment se forment les ouragans, mais aussi de réfléchir aux défis auxquels les populations touchées doivent faire face après une catastrophe naturelle.

Disciplines et niveaux visés

  • Science et technologie
    • 3e cycle du primaire : terre et espace : transformation de la matière (décrire certains phénomènes naturels)
    • 1er cycle du secondaire : phénomènes géologiques et géophysiques (manifestations naturelles de l’énergie)
  • Géographie (1er cycle du secondaire)
    • connaissances liées à l’étude d’une ville soumise à des risques naturels

Dimensions de la compétence numérique ciblées

  • Communiquer à l’aide du numérique
  • Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle
  • Produire du contenu avec le numérique
  • Collaborer à l’aide du numérique

Outils numériques suggérés

  • Quiz Alloprof
  • Google Maps
  • Document collaboratif : Padlet Middlspot, Google Docs, etc.
  • Support de présentation : Powerpoint, Google Slides, Keynote, etc.
  • Casque de réalité virtuelle

ACTIVITÉ 1 : ‪ Une force destructrice‬

‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬Objectifs

  • Explorer l’échelle Saffir-Simpson.
  • Comprendre comment se forment les cyclones.

Tout d’abord, demandez aux élèves s’ils savent la différence entre ces termes : cyclone, ouragan et typhon. Laissez-les émettre des hypothèses.

Puis, afin d’en apprendre davantage sur la formation des cyclones, en classe entière, visionnez une vidéo sur ce sujet. Voici différentes options :

Ensuite, demandez aux élèves s’ils savent comment on détermine l’intensité des ouragans. Ont-ils déjà entendu l’expression « ouragan de catégorie… »? C’est l’échelle Saffir-Simpson, qui va de 1 à 5 selon l’intensité de l’ouragan.

En classe entière, apprenez-en davantage sur cette échelle en observant les effets modélisés dans cette animation de l’Agence France-Presse.

Obtenez le résumé de la force des vents pour chacune des 5 catégories dans cette illustration de l’AFP.

Enfin, invitez les élèves à trouver toute l’information pertinente sur les cyclones et les anti-cyclones dans cette page d’Alloprof.


ACTIVITÉ 2 : ‪ Les conséquences du passage d’un ouragan

Objectifs

  • Localiser sur une carte les différents lieux touchés par les ouragans Harvey en 2017 Dorian en 2019 et Matthew en 2016.
  • Constater l’ampleur des dégâts causés par les ouragans Matthew à Haïti et Dorian aux Bahamas et nommer les défis à relever pour les habitants.
  • Comparer les conséquences d’une catastrophe naturelle en Haïti ou aux Bahamas avec les États-Unis.

Aux États-Unis

En 2017, l’ouragan Harvey déferlait sur les côtes du Texas aux États-Unis et inondait notamment des quartiers de la ville de Houston, la plus peuplée de cet état. Voici un article qui comprend plusieurs photos montrant comment des habitants ont dû se débrouiller pour quitter leur maison.

Pendant ce temps, on a aussi craint que la digue Addicks et celle du réservoir Barker ne cèdent et inondent une partie de la ville. Affichez la carte de Houston au tableau et pointez les deux digues. Constatez les trajectoires des cours d’eau, montrant qu’ils se dirigent effectivement sur la ville de Houston. Profitez-en pour aborder ou réviser la notion de bassins versants!

Matthew à Haïti…

En 2016, l’ouragan Matthew dévastait une partie de l’île d’Haïti. À l’aide de Google Maps, localisez l’île avec les élèves. Ensuite, montrez-leur la trajectoire qu’a suivi l’ouragan. On peut la voir ici sur Wikipédia.

Haïti a été le pays le plus durement touché par le passage de l’ouragan Matthew. Afin de constater la situation dans laquelle se sont retrouvés l’île et ses habitants, invitez les élèves à lire les articles suivants. Pendant la lecture, demandez-leur d’identifier les principaux défis auxquels le peuple haïtien a dû faire face. Invitez-les à classer ces défis dans le temps : court terme, moyen terme et long terme.

  1. Le bilan du passage de l’ouragan Matthew
    La Croix, 12 octobre 2016
  2. Ouragan Matthew : le bilan s’alourdit en Haïti, la mission des casque bleus prolongée
    France24.com, 12 octobre 2016
  3. Haïti : Événements de 2017
    Rapport mondial 2018 de Human Rights Watch. (Ici, il est très intéressant d’utiliser la fonction de recherche dans la page (CTRL+F sous Windows ou CMD+F sous Mac) pour repérer rapidement les endroits où l’on mentionne des conséquences du passage de Matthew.)

… et Dorian aux Bahamas

L’ouragan Dorian qui a touché les Bahamas en septembre 2019, a aussi beaucoup été documenté. Les autorités et les médias ont constaté l’ampleur des dégâts et quelques articles qui font état du drame sur ces îles. Vous pouvez demander aux élèves de recenser de l’information sur les conséquences de Dorian et de créer un parallèle avec Matthew.

  1. Aux Bahamas, une « dévastation générationnelle » après le passage de l’ouragan Dorian
  2. 70 000 personnes en situation d’urgence aux Bahamas après le passage de Dorian
  3. Le bilan monte à 30 morts aux Bahamas

Vous pouvez utiliser un mur virtuel collaboratif pour consigner les informations tel que Middlespot ou Padlet.


ACTIVITÉ 3 : ‪ Des cyclones meurtriers‬

Objectifs

  • Rechercher des informations sur des cyclones dévastateurs et faire des comparaisons.

‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬‬Depuis une trentaine d’années, de nombreux cyclones ont causé des dégâts majeurs à travers le monde. Afin de découvrir les cyclones les plus violents des dernières années, divisez la classe en plusieurs groupes de travail et associez un ouragan par équipe.

Sandy, Andrew, Florence, Katrina, Wilma, Mitch, Haiyan, Irma, Ike, Dorian.

Les élèves pourront se documenter et noter divers éléments, dont le type de cyclone (ouragan ou typhon), sa force, les lieux dévastés par celui-ci, le nombre de victimes, le coût des dommages matériels, etc. Chaque équipe peut prendre ses notes dans un document collaboratif (Google Docs, Microsoft Word, Middlespot, Padlet, etc.).

Enfin, invitez les élèves à utiliser un support de leur choix pour présenter le résultat de leurs recherches.

Des idées : application de présentation (Powerpoint, Google Slides, Keynote, Genially, etc.), vidéo, etc.

N’oubliez pas de conclure par une exposition ou une courte présentation orale. Faites bouger les élèves afin qu’ils se placent, avec « leur » ouragan, en ordre de force ou de lourdeur des conséquences.


Pour aller plus loin

D’où viennent les noms d’ouragans? Il est possible de l’apprendre grâce à cet article de Radio-Canada.

Vos élèves connaissent-ils d’autres échelles utilisées pour mesurer l’intensité de phénomènes naturels? (On peut penser à l’échelle de Richter pour les séismes, l’échelle VEI – indice d’explosivité volcanique – pour les volcans, l’échelle de Beaufort pour les vents, etc.) Comment pourraient-ils les comparer?

Envie de tenter une expérience immersive avec les élèves en exploitant la réalité virtuelle? Il suffit d’une lunette de type Cardboard (qui ressemble à l’image ci-contre) ou autre, ainsi que d’un appareil mobile (téléphone ou iPod Touch, par exemple) pour permettre aux élèves de se retrouver un moment au coeur de l’ouragan Irma!


Pour en savoir plus

La naissance d’un ouragan expliquée
Radio-Canada

À propos des ouragans
Dossier d’Environnement Canada

Cyclone
Article de Wikipédia

Hurricanes and tropical storms
Un grand dossier de la NASA, avec des images saisissantes


Ont collaboré à la réalisation de ce guide :
Maxime Laflamme et Audrey Miller

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!