Charlie Hebdo: historic trial under high tension

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Five years after the attacks against the Charlie Hebdo newspaper, a historic trial opens in Paris. Who end up in court? How do the survivors see this approach? Back on the tragic events of January 7, 2015 to understand the ins and outs.
 

In the morning of Wednesday January 7, 2015, when the newsroom was packed, the offices of the French newspaper Charlie hebdo were raided by three heavily armed men who shot dead 11 staff, in addition to seriously injuring several others. Two police officers were also shot. But what happened? Who was against this newspaper and why?

“The attackers, dressed in black and hooded, burst into the building housing the premises of Charlie Hebdo around 11:30 am local time, after arriving at the scene in a black Citroën C3. After killing 11 people on the spot, they resumed their vehicle, opening fire on the way on three police patrols. A policeman from the 11th arrondissement was killed during the third meeting, boulevard Richard-Lenoir. In their flight, the attackers struck a vehicle near the Place du Colonel-Fabien, thereby injuring a female driver. They abandoned their vehicle not far from this place, rue de Meaux, in the 19th arrondissement of Paris, near the Porte de Pantin. They then held up a Renault Clio before continuing their run, possibly in the direction of the Seine-Saint-Denis department. "

Radio-Canada, January 7, 2015

Charlie Hebdo is a satirical newspaper that makes a lot of political cartoons, but it also practices investigative journalism by publishing reports, for example, on sects, the far right, religions, politics, culture, etc.

After the caricature of Muhammad (founder of Islam and considered a major prophet) published in 2006 in Charlie Hebdo, sometimes violent reactions were observed in Muslim countries. In 2011, the newspaper's offices were damaged by arson, again related to this cartoon. This escalation of violence took the worst turn, in 2015, with the sad events described above. The attack on Charlie Hebdo is therefore an Islamist terrorist attack. It is the Islamist terrorist organization Al-Qaeda in the Arabian Peninsula (AQPA) which claimed responsibility for the massacre committed by the Saïd brothers and Chérif Kouachi in the premises of Charlie Hebdo.


On September 2, 2020, exactly five years and eight months later after the tragic events, a historic trial begins in the presence of 11 of the 14 accused. For two and a half months, no less than 150 witnesses and experts will follow one another to provide as much information as possible to the special assize court responsible for judging these attacks:

“This trial has a double interest : approach the truth and offer a moment of expression to the victims, insisted the national anti-terrorism prosecutor Jean-François Ricard. "

Radio-Canada, September 2, 2020

To mark the opening of the trial and as a strong symbol, Charlie Hebdo republished in front page the cartoons of the Prophet Muhammad who had made the newspaper the target of terrorists:

" Basically, Charlie's mind is that, it's refusing to give up our freedoms, said the newspaper's lawyer, Me Richard Malka. Do not be afraid of terrorism or freedom, he launched before the opening of the trial. "

Radio-Canada, September 2, 2020

Challenge

What is Charlie Hebdo? Invite your students to learn about this video made by Brut. What do they think of this newspaper? Do they like the tone? The intention? Do they find him provocative? They can write their thoughts on their blog or any other medium you communicate to them.


 

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

Back to the guides...

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

It allows you to search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

SCOOP! in my plan?

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert when something new is published on SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Charlie Hebdo : procès historique sous haute tension

Paru le

 

En matinée du mercredi 7 janvier 2015, alors que la salle de rédaction était bondée, les bureaux du journal français Charlie Hebdo ont été investis par trois hommes lourdement armés qui ont abattus 11 personnes parmi le personnel, en plus d’en blesser sérieusement plusieurs autres. Deux policiers sont aussi tombés sous les balles. Mais que s’est-il passé? Qui en voulait à ce journal et pourquoi?

« Les assaillants, vêtus de noir et cagoulés, ont fait irruption dans l’immeuble abritant les locaux de Charlie Hebdo vers 11 h 30, heure locale, après être arrivés sur les lieux à bord d’une Citroën C3 de couleur noire. Après avoir tué 11 personnes sur place, ils ont repris leur véhicule, ouvrant le feu en chemin sur trois patrouilles policières. Un policier du 11e arrondissement a été tué lors de la troisième rencontre, boulevard Richard-Lenoir. Dans leur fuite, les assaillants ont percuté un véhicule près de la place du Colonel-Fabien, blessant du coup une conductrice. Ils ont abandonné leur véhicule non loin de cet endroit, rue de Meaux, dans le 19e arrondissement de Paris, près de la porte de Pantin. Ils ont alors braqué une Renault Clio avant de poursuivre leur cavale, possiblement en direction du département Seine-Saint-Denis. »

Radio-Canada, 7 janvier 2015

Charlie Hebdo est un journal satirique qui fait une large place aux caricatures politiques, mais il pratique aussi le journalisme d’enquête en publiant des reportages, par exemple, sur les sectes, l’extrême droite, les religions, la politique, la culture, etc.

Après la caricature du Mahomet (fondateur de l’Islam et considéré comme un prophète majeur) publiée en 2006 dans le Charlie Hebdo, des réactions parfois violentes ont été observées dans des pays musulmans. En 2011, les bureaux du journal ont été endommagés par un incendie criminel, toujours en lien avec cette caricature. Cette escalade de violence a pris la pire des tournures, en 2015, avec les tristes événements décrits plus haut. L’attentant contre Charlie Hebdo est donc une attaque terroriste islamiste. C’est l’organisation terroriste islamiste Al-Qaïda dans la péninsule arabique (AQPA) qui a revendiqué le massacre commis par les frères Saïd et Chérif Kouachi dans les locaux de Charlie Hebdo.


Le 2 septembre 2020, soit exactement cinq ans et huit mois plus tard après les tragiques événements, un procès historique s’entame en présence de 11 des 14 accusés. Durant deux mois et demi, ce ne sont pas moins de 150 témoins et experts qui vont se succéder pour fournir un maximum d’éléments à la cour d’assises spéciale chargée de juger ces attentats :

« Ce procès a un double intérêt : approcher la vérité et offrir un moment d’expression aux victimes, a insisté le procureur national antiterroriste Jean-François Ricard. »

Radio-Canada, 2 septembre 2020

Pour marquer l’ouverture du procès et en guise de symbole fort, Charlie Hebdo a republié en une les caricatures du prophète Mahomet qui avaient fait du journal la cible des terroristes :

« Au fond, l’esprit de Charlie c’est ça, c’est refuser de renoncer à nos libertés, a déclaré l’avocat du journal, Me Richard Malka. N’ayons pas peur ni du terrorisme ni de la liberté, a-t-il lancé avant l’ouverture du procès. »

Radio-Canada, 2 septembre 2020

Ton défi

C’est quoi, Charlie Hebdo? Prends connaissance de cette vidéo réalisée par Brut. Que penses-tu de ce journal? Aimes-tu le ton? L’intention? Est-ce autant provocateur que certains le disent? Tu peux écrire tes réflexions sur ton blogue.

 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Une loi pour les châtiments corporels sur les enfants

Selon le Conseil de l’Europe, la France violerait la Charte sociale européenne en n'interdisant pas clairement les châtiments corporels sur les enfants tels la fessé. Voyons ce qu’il en est de cette pratique en France comme au Canada.

Tunis touché par un attentat terroriste

Après Ottawa, Paris et Sydney, c’est au tour de Tunis, la capitale de la Tunisie d’être touchée par une attaque terroriste. Cet acte de terreur revendiqué par le groupe État islamique, a été grandement dénoncé par nombreuses puissances dont la France et le Royaume-Uni.

La Californie a soif!

L’État de la Californie vit une sécheresse sans pareil depuis plusieurs centaines d’années. Le Gouvernement est en train de légiférer pour que la population abandonne l’idée du rêve américain.