Nearly 40,000 children receive reading as a gift

On the occasion of the 15th anniversary of the “Reading as a Gift” program, the Literacy Foundation once again succeeds in offering a new book to thousands of children, thanks to generous donations from the general public through hundreds of bookstores. and libraries.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

On the occasion of the 15e anniversary of the “Reading as a Gift” program, the Literacy Foundation succeeds once again in offering a new book to thousands of children, thanks to generous donations from the general public through hundreds of bookstores and libraries.

Young readers aged 0 to 12 from disadvantaged backgrounds make up the 38,054 beneficiaries of this large-scale donation. The spokesperson, the actress Marie Turgeon, does not hide her pride in front of this record cast, whose primary objective is the prevention of reading difficulties, often associated with dropping out of school or illiteracy.

Since 1999, many donors have taken part in this vast campaign. More than 360,000 books have thus been given to young people who do not - or very rarely - have the privilege of receiving new books. This gift thus takes on a most appreciated face!

In order to collect these precious gifts, 145 bookstores and more than a hundred libraries put their hand in the dough. The books generously donated by the general public were then inspected and sorted. The distribution took place in more than 500 establishments in the province, including elementary schools, early childhood centers (CPE), family community organizations (OCF) and non-profit organizations.

Thanks to a collaboration with the Lucie and André Chagnon Foundation, a little more than 20,000 books were intended for customers aged 0-5. Considering that 40 % of Quebec adults read only rarely, or even never, this action aims to develop the pleasure of reading from early childhood. This is obviously a key moment for the acquisition of habits that will last a lifetime.

Parents have an important role to play in the development of this healthy activity, and some of them want to improve their reading skills in order to better equip their children. With this in mind, in order to support and inform parents, each donation is accompanied by an informative brochure on the Info-Alpha reference line (1-800-361-9142).

To find out more about the mission of the Literacy Foundation, which works with children as well as adults, or to make a donation, consult this website.

 

 

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Anik Lessard Routhier
Anik is a freelance writer and lecturer at Collège Lionel-Groulx and Cégep Marie-Victorin.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Près de 40 000 enfants reçoivent la lecture en cadeau

À l’occasion du 15e anniversaire du programme « La lecture en cadeau », la Fondation pour l’alphabétisation réussit encore une fois à offrir un livre neuf à des milliers d’enfants, grâce aux généreux dons du grand public via des centaines de librairies et de bibliothèques.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

À l’occasion du 15e anniversaire du programme « La lecture en cadeau », la Fondation pour l’alphabétisation réussit encore une fois à offrir un livre neuf à des milliers d’enfants, grâce aux généreux dons du grand public via des centaines de librairies et de bibliothèques.

De jeunes lecteurs de 0 à 12 ans provenant de milieux défavorisés constituent les 38 054 bénéficiaires de ce don d’envergure. La porte-parole, la comédienne Marie Turgeon, ne cache pas sa fierté devant cette distribution record, qui a comme objectif premier la prévention des difficultés en lecture, souvent associées au décrochage scolaire ou à l’analphabétisme.

Les donateurs sont nombreux depuis 1999 à participer à cette vaste campagne. Plus de 360 000 bouquins ont ainsi été remis à des jeunes qui n’ont pas – ou très rarement – le privilège de recevoir des livres neuf. Ce cadeau revêt ainsi un visage des plus appréciés!

Afin de recueillir ces précieux présents, 145 librairies et plus d’une centaine de bibliothèques ont mis leur main à la pâte. Les livres généreusement remis par le grand public ont ensuite été inspectés et triés. La distribution, quant à elle, a eu lieu dans plus de 500 établissements de la province, dont des écoles primaires, des centres de la petite enfance (CPE), des organismes communautaires Famille (OCF) et des organismes sans but lucratif.

Grâce à une collaboration avec la Fondation Lucie et André Chagnon, un peu plus de 20 000 livres ont été destinés à la clientèle 0-5 ans. Considérant que 40 % des adultes Québécois ne lisent que rarement, ou même jamais, cette action vise à développer le plaisir de lire dès la tendre enfance. Il s’agit évidemment d’un moment clé pour l’acquisition d’habitudes qui perdureront la vie durant.

Les parents ont d’ailleurs un rôle important à jouer dans le développement de cette saine activité, et certains d’entre eux souhaitent améliorer leurs capacités en lecture afin de mieux outiller leurs enfants. Dans cette optique, afin de soutenir et d’informer les parents, chaque don est accompagné d’une brochure informative sur la ligne de référence Info-Alpha (1-800-361-9142).

Pour en savoir plus sur la mission de la Fondation pour l’alphabétisation, qui œuvre tant auprès des enfants que des adultes, ou encore pour effectuer un don, consultez ce site Web.

 

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Anik Lessard Routhier
Anik est rédactrice à son compte et chargée de cours au Collège Lionel-Groulx et au Cégep Marie-Victorin.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct