Understanding the lumber shortage

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Several causes have contributed to the current shortage of lumber. While demand has increased sharply during periods of containment, sawmills are having difficulty getting their heads out of the water! In addition, for several years, the price of lumber had been so low that they were already struggling to make a profit. So it's a huge turnaround. Let's take a closer look!

“The price of wood has increased on average 200 to 300 % in Canada since the start of 2020. Is it time to better manage our forests? At least that's what Professor Christian Messier believes. "

SOURCE: RAD

This video from RAD, published on June 18, 2021, tells us that before the pandemic, specialists had predicted a decrease in demand for wood in Canada, so local manufacturers had started to reduce their production. In addition, in British Columbia, one of the main producing provinces in the country, an epidemic of insects has infected much of the wood intended for processing into lumber (that which is used in particular for residential construction. ), causing an even greater reduction in supply.  

Thus, several causes have contributed to the shortage we are currently experiencing. While demand has increased sharply during periods of containment, sawmills are having difficulty getting their heads out of the water! In addition, for several years, the price of lumber had been so low that they were already struggling to make a profit. So it's a huge turnaround. 

Still according to Christian Messier, professor of forest ecology at UQAM and UQO, we should now change our way of doing things and adapt to the diversity offered by our forests. From the outset, the industry turns to spruce or even pine, while other species can very well play the role of lumber if they are well processed. By raising consumers' awareness of the impact of their demand on forests, he said we could avoid having to control plantations, which would reduce the vulnerability of woodlots and would once again avoid a crisis like the one we are currently experiencing. 

For further :

1- In the video, we are talking about British Columbia, one of the main suppliers of lumber in the country. Using the app Google Earth, it is possible to fly over this region and see its geographical features.  

Following the exploration, the students are invited to record in a document the observations made, such as the characteristics of the relief, the territory, the vegetation or even the names of certain towns. We can take this opportunity to use applications such as Book Creator or ThingLink in order to present the region. An image of a map of British Columbia can be used as a shading to illustrate the territory. 

2- Also, why not choose one of the types of trees found there, such as Douglas fir, make a reproduction in drawing using an application like Paper or on cardboard while having fun with textures, patterns and colors? Then, we can insert information about other places where we find the type of tree in question and its main characteristics. 

To find the required information, here is a video that offers students tips for efficient research

In this guide

Discipline: Geography (Social universe), Plastic arts
Degree: Second / Third cycle of primary and lower secondary

Dimensions of digital competence: 

  • Innovate and be creative with digital
  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning
  • Develop and mobilize their technological skills

Elements of the program: 

Lower secondary geography 

  • Locate a forest area
  • Give the characteristics of a forest area

Plastic arts (primary)

  • Experiment with elements of visual arts language / use a combination
 

Back to the guides...

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

It allows you to search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

SCOOP! in my plan?

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert when something new is published on SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Comprendre la pénurie de bois d’oeuvre

Paru / Mis à jour le

Plusieurs causes ont contribué à la pénurie de bois d'oeuvre que nous vivons actuellement. Alors que la demande a augmenté fortement lors des périodes de confinement, les scieries ont de la difficulté à se sortir la tête de l’eau! De plus, depuis quelques années, le prix du bois d'œuvre était tellement bas que celles-ci peinaient déjà à faire des profits. C’est donc un énorme retournement de situation. Allons voir de plus près!

« Le prix du bois a augmenté en moyenne de 200 à 300 % au Canada depuis le début de 2020. Est-ce que ce serait le temps de mieux gérer nos forêts? C’est du moins ce que croit le professeur Christian Messier. »

SOURCE : RAD

Cette vidéo de RAD, publiée le 18 juin 2021, nous apprend qu’avant la pandémie, les spécialistes avaient prédit une diminution de la demande de bois au Canada, donc les manufacturiers locaux avaient commencé à diminuer leur production. De plus, en Colombie-Britannique, l’une des principales provinces productrices au pays, une épidémie d’insectes a infecté une bonne partie du bois destiné à la transformation en bois d’œuvre (celui qu’on utilise notamment pour la construction résidentielle), causant une diminution de l’offre encore plus importante.  

Ainsi, plusieurs causes ont contribué à la pénurie que nous vivons actuellement. Alors que la demande a augmenté fortement lors des périodes de confinement, les scieries ont de la difficulté à se sortir la tête de l’eau! De plus, depuis quelques années, le prix du bois d’œuvre était tellement bas que celles-ci peinaient déjà à faire des profits. C’est donc un énorme retournement de situation. 

Toujours d’après Christian Messier, professeur d’écologie forestière à l’UQAM et à l’UQO nous devrions désormais changer notre façon de faire et s’adapter à la diversité qu’offrent nos forêts. D’emblée, l’industrie se tourne vers l’épinette ou encore le pin, alors que d’autres essences peuvent très bien jouer le rôle de bois d’œuvre si elles sont bien travaillées. En sensibilisant les consommateurs à l’impact de leur demande sur les forêts, nous pourrions éviter, selon lui, d’avoir à contrôler les plantations, ce qui diminuerait la vulnérabilité des boisés et éviterait de nouveau une crise comme celle que nous vivons présentement. 

Pour aller plus loin :

1- Dans la vidéo, il est question de la Colombie-Britannique, l’un des principaux fournisseurs de bois d’œuvre au pays. À l’aide de l’application Google Earth, il est possible de survoler cette région et d’en voir les caractéristiques géographiques.  

Suite à l’exploration, on invite les élèves à consigner dans un document les observations faites, comme les caractéristiques du relief, du territoire, de la végétation ou encore les noms de certaines villes. On peut en profiter pour utiliser des applications telles que Book Creator ou encore ThingLink afin de présenter la région. Une image représentant une carte de la Colombie-Britannique peut être utilisée en trame de fond afin d’illustrer le territoire. 

2- Aussi, pourquoi ne pas choisir un des types d’arbres qu’on y retrouve, comme le sapin de Douglas, en faire une reproduction en dessin à l’aide d’une application comme Paper ou encore sur un carton en s’amusant avec les textures, les motifs et les couleurs? Ensuite, on peut insérer des informations relatives aux autres endroits où on retrouve le type d’arbre en question et ses principales caractéristiques. 

Pour trouver l’information requise, voici une vidéo qui offre aux élèves des trucs pour une recherche efficace

Dans ce guide

Discipline : Géographie (Univers social), Arts plastiques
Degré : Deuxième/Troisième cycle du primaire et premier cycle du secondaire

Dimensions de la compétence numérique : 

  • Innover et faire preuve de créativité avec le numérique
  • Exploiter le potentiel du numérique pour l’apprentissage
  • Développer et mobiliser ses habiletés technologiques

Éléments du programme : 

Géographie premier cycle du secondaire 

  • Localiser un territoire forestier
  • Donner les caractéristiques d’un territoire forestier

Arts plastiques (primaire)

  • Expérimenter des éléments du langage plastique/utiliser une combinaison
 

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!