Vaccination passport and ethical issues

Published / Updated on

While some European countries have already implemented a vaccination passport, Canada is considering following suit very soon. However, the initiative raises many questions ...
 

While some European countries have already implemented a vaccine passport, Canada is still in the process of thinking regarding this measure.

A complex issue from an ethical point of view, the creation of a vaccination passport divides the population. Some cry out against wall-to-wall injustice and the lack of respect for rights and freedoms, while others find it reasonable and justified to use vaccine evidence in different social, cultural or tourist contexts.

What is a vaccination passport?

From the outset, let's define what a vaccination passport is. It is in fact proof of immunization against a disease, such as COVID-19, to allow its holders to access certain activities that were previously prohibited for health reasons. With proof (in the form of a QR code, for example) that we have received two doses of the COVID-19 vaccine, we could then start traveling again, going to see shows in large crowds, to bring in our friends and family in our home… In short, to live as we did before the pandemic.

Rights and freedoms infringed?

We are all at the mercy of the pace of vaccination. It is a collective effort that allows some to be immunized before others. In this context, it is normal that the age groups having already received their two doses of vaccine can benefit from all the advantages which are attached to it before others. Then there are those who refuse to be vaccinated (by choice and by right) and who want to benefit from the same advantages (travel, for example) as those who have been vaccinated. What to do in the face of this ethical dilemma?

Jocelyn Maclure, ethicist specializing in science and technology interviewed by Rad's team, thinks that people who refuse the vaccine will have to face the consequences of their actions and will be prohibited from certain activities if a vaccination passport is introduced in Canada. This expert then speaks of a punitive approach that relies on individual responsibility, a very fragile situation according to him. Do we want to live in a society where people have different rights based on a biological characteristic (vaccination status)? The ethicist sees the vaccine passport rather as a temporary solution, until collective immunity is achieved.

So, the more people who adhere to the vaccine, the more likely it is to achieve collective immunity quickly, and the less we will need a vaccine passport over a long period ...

To help you form an opinion on the subject, watch Rad's capsule mentioned above in which Mr. Maclure answers five relevant questions about the vaccination passport:

***

In addition

The role of vaccines

Vaccines are used to protect people by preventing them from developing certain potentially dangerous diseases. During vaccination, the bacteria or attenuated virus is introduced into the body. An attenuated infectious agent is harmless to our health since it cannot cause disease. This is where the immune system kicks in by making antibodies to fight off the bacteria or virus in question. The body therefore trains itself to fight the enemy and if it encounters it for real, it will be protected from it and will not fall ill!

The antibodies that have been developed with the vaccine may be effective against several strains of the same virus at the same time. For example, in the case of influenza, the vaccine contains three different strains (influenza type B, H1N1 and H3N2), which all circulate at the same time, and therefore may be effective against either of these influenza. In 2020, we are talking about an efficacy of 69% for influenza type B, 44% for H1N1 and 62% against H3N2. Overall, this vaccine protects up to 58%.

The manufacture of vaccines

The manufacture of vaccines makes it possible to obtain viruses or bacteria which have lost their pathogenicity, but which have retained their characteristics. Once injected, the vaccine allows the body to produce specific antibodies without developing the disease. To begin manufacturing a vaccine, researchers perform a massive cell culture of the bacteria or virus in question. Then, the collected cells must be heated and treated with chemicals in order to make them harmless.

There are two main processes in vaccine design: live (attenuated) vaccines and inert (inactivated) vaccines. Live or attenuated vaccines, such as those against measles, mumps and rubella require an infectious agent that is still alive, but which has lost its power to infect due to chemical treatments. Other vaccines, like rabies, are created by suppressing infectious agents living in viruses. Or as with tetanus, only a harmless part of the bacteria is used. These are called inert or inactivated vaccines.

Your challenge

And you, are you for or against the vaccination passport? Why? Answer this question which raises ethical issues by using the digital tool of your choice. Video capsule, audio recording or article on your blog, explain your point of view on this issue which divides the population.


 

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!


Back to the guides reception

SCOOP! this is...
 

Engage your students through motivating learning contexts! Each active pedagogy path SCOOP! first offers a reading ready to share with the students, then ideas for complementary activities for the teacher. Easily tie in disciplinary and digital skills!

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide the advertisements and see the educational activities corresponding to the texts!

Find a guide ...

Guide index

For primary classes

For secondary classes

By dimension of digital competence

So you don't miss a thing

Receive an email alert when a new one is published SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Passeport vaccinal et enjeux éthiques

Paru le

 

Alors que certains pays d’Europe ont déjà mis en place un passeport vaccinal, le Canada est encore en réflexion concernant cette mesure.

Dossier complexe d’un point de vue éthique, la création d’un passeport vaccinal divise la population. Certains crient à l’injustice mur à mur et au non-respect des droits et libertés, tandis que d’autres trouvent raisonnable et justifié le fait d’utiliser une preuve vaccinale dans différents contextes sociaux, culturels ou touristiques.

C’est quoi, un passeport vaccinal?

D’entrée de jeu, définissons ce qu’est un passeport vaccinal. Il s’agit en fait d’une preuve d’immunisation contre une maladie, comme la COVID-19, pour permettre à ses détenteurs d’accéder à certaines activités qui étaient jusque là interdites pour des raisons sanitaires. Avec la preuve (sous forme d’un code QR, par exemple) que nous avons reçu deux doses du vaccin contre la COVID-19, nous pourrions alors recommencer à voyager, à aller voir des spectacles dans de grandes foules, à faire entrer nos amis et notre famille dans notre domicile… Bref, à vivre comme nous le faisions avant la pandémie.

Droits et libertés brimés?

Nous sommes tous et toutes à la merci du rythme de la vaccination. C’est un effort collectif qui permet à certains d’être immunisés avant d’autres. Dans ce contexte, il est normal que les tranches d’âges ayant déjà reçu leurs deux doses de vaccin puissent bénéficier de tous les avantages qui y sont rattachés avant d’autres. Ensuite, il y a ceux et celles qui refusent de se faire vacciner (par choix et par droit) et qui veulent bénéficier des mêmes avantages (voyager, par exemple) que les personnes vaccinées. Quoi faire devant ce dilemme éthique?

Jocelyn Maclure, éthicien spécialisé en sciences et technologie interrogé par l’équipe de Rad, pense que les gens qui refusent le vaccin devront assumer les conséquences de leurs actes et se verront interdire certaines activités si un passeport vaccinal est instauré au Canada. Cet expert parle alors d’une approche punitive qui mise sur la responsabilité individuelle, une situation très fragile selon lui. Veut-on vivre dans une société où les gens ont des droits différents basés sur une caractéristique biologique (statut vaccinal)? L’éthicien voit le passeport vaccinal plutôt comme une solution temporaire, jusqu’à temps qu’on atteigne l’immunité collective.

Donc, plus il y aura de gens qui adhérent au vaccin, plus il y aura de chances d’atteindre l’immunité collective rapidement, et moins nous aurons besoin d’un passeport vaccinal sur une longue période…

Pour t’aider à te forger une opinion sur le sujet, visionne la capsule de Rad dont il était question plus haut dans laquelle M. Maclure répond à cinq questions pertinentes sur le passeport vaccinal :

***

En complément

Le rôle des vaccins

Les vaccins servent à protéger les gens en leur évitant de développer certaines maladies potentiellement dangereuses. Lors de la vaccination, la bactérie ou le virus atténué est introduit dans le corps. Un agent infectieux atténué est inoffensif pour notre santé puisqu’il ne peut pas causer de maladie. C’est là que le système immunitaire entre en action en fabriquant des anticorps pour combattre la bactérie ou le virus en question. Le corps s’entraîne donc à combattre l’ennemi et s’il le rencontre pour vrai, il en sera protégé et ne tombera pas malade!

Les anticorps qui ont été développés grâce au vaccin peuvent être efficaces contre plusieurs souches à la fois d’un même virus. Par exemple, dans le cas de la grippe, le vaccin contient trois souches différentes (influenza type B, H1N1 et H3N2), qui circulent toutes en même temps, et peut donc être efficace contre l’une ou l’autre de ces grippes. En 2020, on parle d’une efficacité de 69% pour l’influenza type B, 44% pour la H1N1 et 62% contre la H3N2. Globalement, ce vaccin protège à hauteur de 58%.

La fabrication des vaccins

La fabrication de vaccins permet d’obtenir des virus ou des bactéries qui ont perdu leur pouvoir pathogène, mais qui ont conservé leurs caractéristiques. Une fois injecté, le vaccin permet au corps la production d’anticorps spécifiques sans développer la maladie. Pour débuter la fabrication d’un vaccin, les chercheurs effectuent une culture cellulaire massive de la bactérie ou du virus en question. Ensuite, les cellules recueillies doivent être chauffées et traitées aux produits chimiques dans le but de les rendre inoffensives.

Il existe deux procédés principaux dans la conception de vaccins : les vaccins vivants (atténués) et les vaccins inertes (inactivés). Les vaccins vivants ou atténués, comme ceux contre la rougeole, les oreillons et la rubéole nécessitent un agent infectieux toujours vivant, mais qui a perdu son pouvoir d’infecter grâce aux traitements chimiques. D’autres vaccins, comme celui de la rage, sont créés en supprimant les agents infectieux vivant des virus. Ou comme dans le cas du tétanos, c’est seulement une partie inoffensive de la bactérie qui est utilisée. On les appelle les vaccins inertes ou inactivés.

Ton défi

Et toi, tu es pour ou contre le passeport vaccinal? Pourquoi? Réponds à cette question qui soulève des enjeux éthiques en te servant de l’outil numérique de ton choix. Capsule vidéo, enregistrement audio ou article sur ton blogue, explique ton point de vue sur cette question qui divise la population.


 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!


SONDAGE! Améliorons SCOOP! ensemble!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les élèves.

+

Des parcours de pédagogie active pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités pédagogiques complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonné? pour masquer les publicités et voir les guides pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir