#MeToo: 23 years in prison for Harvey Weinstein

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Nearly two and a half after the first posts accusing Harvey Weinstein of sexual assault and rape, the ousted film producer was convicted after a high-profile trial and will spend the next 23 years in prison . The exemplary sentence given to Harvey Weinstein has a powerful symbolic value for the #MeToo movement, two and a half years later: no more untouchables, the time has come to free speech.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Nearly two and a half after the first posts accusing Harvey Weinstein of sexual assault and rape, the ousted film producer was found guilty after a high-profile trial and will spend the next 23 years in prison . The man had pleaded not guilty and claimed to have only had consensual sex with his victims.

Of the five charges against him, two led to a guilty verdict. Weinstein was then convicted of a sexual assault that occurred in 2006 against the former production assistant Miriam Haley and of the rape of Jessica Mann in 2013, she who aspired to become an actress. The one who has long been considered one of Hollywood's most influential has been acquitted of the other three, most important, charges of sexual assault in connection with predatory behavior on Miriam Haley, Jessica Mann and Annabella Sciorra.

The maximum sentence for this kind of verdict is 29 years, Weinstein is sentenced to 23. Justice therefore sends a strong and clear message: even at the age of 67 and with uncertain physical condition, the crimes committed by Harvey Weinstein are very serious and they must be punished accordingly. For their part, the accused's lawyers called for the minimum sentence in the circumstances, that is, five years.

"The incident with Harvey Weinstein changed the course of my life," said Mimi Haleyi, who had to stop crying before resuming her speech. He destroyed part of me. I hope (the sentence) will be long enough for him to realize what he has done to me and others and truly repent, concluded the former production assistant, sexually assaulted by the producer in 2006. "

Source: La Presse, March 11, 2020

Among the hundred women to have denounced the assaults and harassment suffered by Harvey Weinstein, there is the Quebec actress Erika Rosenbaum. She was caught in the cogs of the film producer a little over 15 years ago. The latter always used the same framework: the meeting was transported at the last minute in a hotel room, he compliments his victims before asking them insistently for a massage. The meetings that followed were always moved at the last moment to a hotel room where other acts of a sexual nature were forced by the producer. Like Erika Rosenbaum, several of the producer's victims ended up complying with his requests, for fear of having to leave their careers behind.

“For once in this kind of case, the system worked,” says Erika Rosenbaum. Even a rich and famous man like him has been convicted and goes to jail. There is a real sense of justice and hope today. "

Source: Le Devoir, March 12, 2020

The exemplary sentence given to Harvey Weinstein has a powerful symbolic value for the #MeToo movement, two and a half years later: no more untouchables, the time has come to free speech. Contrary to popular belief, the #MeToo campaign was not really born in 2017 at the same time as the Weinstein affair:

“The movement was started in 2007 by Tarana Burke, a social worker and activist from New York who wanted to create a community of support for victims of sexual assault. Still, it was on October 15, 2017 that the hashtag went viral. On Facebook alone, the social network recorded more than 12 million messages, comments and reactions in 24 hours. And why ? Because actress Alyssa Milano suggested on Twitter that all women who have been assaulted or sexually harassed write Me Too. "

Source: La Presse, January 2, 2020

Your challenge

Closer to home, in Quebec, the #metoo movement has also enabled several women and men to denounce their attackers. Among these, we find two well-known public figures in the " showbiz " Quebecers: Éric Salvail and Gilbert Rozon. Your challenge is to find out about each of their cases and find, on the one hand, the name of the complainant in the Salvail affair and, on the other hand, the name of the group of alleged victims of Rozon.


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

–History and citizenship education (secondary cycle 2)

  • Questioning social realities from a historical perspective
    • The feminist movement

- Ethics and religious culture (2nd cycle of secondary)

  • Justice

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Harnessing the potential of digital technology for learning

Suggested digital tools

  • Padlet
  • RWT Timeline
  • PowerPoint, Slides or Genially

Educational intention of the guide

Using the following readings and activities, students will question the social reality of feminist movements and women's rights over time.

Objectives of the activities

  • Define feminism by focusing on its actors and its demands with the help of the creation of an alphabet.
  • Create a timeline that retraces the key events of the feminist cause in Quebec and Canada.
  • Take a critical look at the differences between the women of 1960 and today and create a comparative table.
  • Learn about the impacts of the #MeToo movement in Quebec with, among others, the Éric Salvail and Gilbert Rozon cases.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

#MeToo : 23 ans de prison pour Harvey Weinstein

Paru le

Près de deux et demi après les premières publications accusant Harvey Weinstein d’agressions sexuelles et de viols, le producteur de cinéma déchu s’est vu reconnaître coupable à l’issue d’un procès très médiatisé et ira passer les 23 prochaines années en prison. L’homme avait plaidé non coupable et affirmait n’avoir eu que des relations sexuelles consensuelles avec ses victimes.

Des cinq chefs d’accusation qui pesaient contre lui, deux ont mené à un verdict de culpabilité. Weinstein est alors condamné pour une agression sexuelle survenue en 2006 contre l’ancienne assistante de production Miriam Haley et pour le viol de Jessica Mann en 2013, elle qui aspirait à devenir actrice. Celui qui a longtemps été considéré comme l’un des plus influents d’Hollywood a été acquitté des trois autres chefs d’accusation, les plus importants, soit ceux d’agression sexuelle dans le cadre d’un comportement prédateur sur Miriam Haley, Jessica Mann et Annabella Sciorra.

La sentence maximale pour ce genre de verdict est de 29 ans, Weinstein en écope de 23. La justice envoie donc un message fort et clair : même âgé de 67 ans et avec une condition physique incertaine, les crimes commis par Harvey Weinstein sont très graves et ils doivent être punis en conséquence. Pour leur part, les avocats de l’accusé réclamaient la peine minimale dans les circonstances, c’est-à-dire cinq ans.

« L’incident avec Harvey Weinstein a changé le cours de ma vie, a expliqué Mimi Haleyi, qui a dû s’interrompre, en pleurs, avant de reprendre son allocution. Il a détruit une partie de moi. J’espère que (la peine) sera suffisamment longue pour qu’il prenne conscience de ce qu’il a fait, à moi et à d’autres, et se repente vraiment, a conclu l’ancienne assistante de production, agressée sexuellement par le producteur en 2006. »

Source : La Presse, 11 mars 2020

Parmi la centaine de femmes à avoir dénoncé les agressions et le harcèlement subis par Harvey Weinstein, il y a l’actrice québécoise Erika Rosenbaum. Elle a été prise dans l’engrenage du producteur de cinéma il y a un peu plus de 15 ans. Ce dernier utilisait toujours la même trame : le rendez-vous se transportait à la dernière minute dans une chambre d’hôtel, il complimente ses victimes avant de leur demander avec insistance un massage. Les rencontres qui suivaient étaient toujours déplacées au dernier instant dans une chambre d’hôtel où d’autres gestes à caractère sexuel étaient posés de force par le producteur. À l’instar d’Erika Rosenbaum, plusieurs des victimes du producteur ont fini par accéder à ses demandes, de peur de devoir faire une croix sur leur carrière.

« Pour une fois dans ce genre de cas, le système a marché, estime Erika Rosenbaum. Même un homme riche et connu comme lui a été reconnu coupable et s’en va en prison. Il y a vraiment un sentiment de justice et d’espoir aujourd’hui. »

Source : Le Devoir, 12 mars 2020

La sentence exemplaire donnée à Harvey Weinstein a une valeur symbolique puissante pour le mouvement #MeToo, deux ans et demi plus tard : fini les intouchables, le temps est à la libération de la parole. Contrairement à ce qu’on peut croire, la campagne #MeToo n’est pas réellement née en 2017 en même temps que l’affaire Weinstein :

« Le mouvement a été lancé en 2007 par Tarana Burke, une travailleuse sociale et militante de New York qui voulait créer une communauté de soutien aux victimes d’agressions sexuelles. Reste que c’est le 15 octobre 2017 que le mot-clic est devenu viral. Uniquement sur Facebook, le réseau social a enregistré plus de 12 millions de messages, commentaires et réactions en 24 heures. Et pourquoi ? Parce que l’actrice Alyssa Milano a suggéré sur Twitter à toutes les femmes qui ont été agressées ou harcelées sexuellement d’écrire Me Too. »

Source : La Presse, 2 janvier 2020

Ton défi

Plus près de nous, au Québec, le mouvement #metoo a également permis à plusieurs femmes et hommes de dénoncer leurs agresseurs. Parmi ceux-ci, nous retrouvons deux personnalités publiques très connues dans le « showbiz » québécois : Éric Salvail et Gilbert Rozon. Ton défi est de t’informer sur chacun de leur cas et de trouver, d’une part, le nom du plaignant dans l’affaire Salvail et, d’autre part, le nom du regroupement des victimes alléguées de Rozon.

 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Tout ce que vous avez toujours voulu savoir sur l’ADN

Saviez-vous que le 25 avril est le Jour de l’ADN? Cette journée a été créée pour souligner la découverte, en avril 1953, de la structure en double hélice de l'ADN. À cette époque, on ne savait pas encore que l’exploration des informations contenues dans l’ADN allait transformer radicalement notre compréhension de l’univers vivant.

COVID-19 : une histoire de protéines

La Santé publique tente du mieux qu’elle peut de protéger toute la population contre le virus SARS-CoV-2 qui cause la maladie à coronavirus (COVID-19). Cette dernière fait des milliers de victimes sur la planète tous les jours et on se rend compte que s’adapter sanitairement n’est pas simple du tout. Et si on en apprenait davantage sur ce qui se passe dans les cellules de l’humain infecté par la COVID-19?

Le sport discriminatoire

À l’heure de l’égalité des peuples, est-il normal que des athlètes professionnels, qui sont les meilleurs dans leurs sports, soient encore victime de propos discriminatoire en raison de qui ils sont?