ADVERTISEMENT

GIS for learning anchored in the environment

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) are part of our lives on a daily basis. They are particularly useful for stimulating and motivating young people to learn through concrete and dynamic projects. What place could they take in education?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

By Arabelle Sauvé, bilingual specialist in elementary and secondary education in the Schools and Research ofEsri Canada

Geographic Information Systems (GIS) are part of our lives on a daily basis. They are particularly useful for stimulating and motivating young people to learn through concrete and dynamic projects. What place could they take in education?

The systems ofinformation gs geographic information system (GIS) are the interactive maps and geographic data applications that we interact with every day. Since 2020, the platform is accessible free of charge to teachers and pedagogical advisors of public schools in Quebec (but also more widely across Canada), in French and in English. They have access to ArcGIS Online (IN/FR), educational resources and technical support.

GIS are tools that allow students to explore the world. They stimulate critical thinking and analytical skills. They ensure that students can work on projects that use current, place-based data. GIS helps develop inquiring minds: questioning, observing and recording, analyzing, communicating, and taking action. As a result, they are at the center of their learning and are actively learning.  

What can be done with GIS in elementary and high school?

GIS are obviously allies in geography, but their great versatility also allows for the creation of collaborative and multidisciplinary projects, including languages, history, sciences (life and earth sciences, environmental chemistry, etc.), mathematics, computer science and more. These examples of GIS use can be found at primaryin the teaching of science and of the social universe - human sciences.

GIS allows us to address societal and historical themes, both local and global, in a way that is both complex and more concrete by presenting them in context. They are ideal for talking about pollution, climate change, large (and small) societal upheavals, from wars to neighborhood planning. Schools and Research ofEsri Canada supports teachers in the integration of interactive and collaborative mapping technologies (www.arcgis.com) in their practice. It offers educational resourcestechnical support, teacher training and free coaching.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Les SIG pour des apprentissages ancrés dans les milieux

Les systèmes d’information géographique (SIG) font partie de nos vies sur une base quotidienne. Ils sont particulièrement utiles pour éveiller les esprits et motiver les jeunes leur permettant d’apprendre grâce à des projets concrets et dynamiques. Quelle place pourraient-ils prendre dans l’enseignement?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Par Arabelle Sauvé, spécialiste bilingue en éducation primaire et secondaire dans le groupe Milieu scolaire et Recherche d’Esri Canada

Les systèmes d’information géographique (SIG) font partie de nos vies sur une base quotidienne. Ils sont particulièrement utiles pour éveiller les esprits et motiver les jeunes leur permettant d’apprendre grâce à des projets concrets et dynamiques. Quelle place pourraient-ils prendre dans l’enseignement?

Les systèmes d’information géographique (SIG) sont les cartes interactives et les applications présentant des données géographiques avec lesquelles nous interagissons à tous les jours. Depuis 2020, la plateforme est accessible gratuitement pour les enseignants et les conseillers pédagogiques des écoles publiques du Québec (mais aussi plus largement dans tout le Canada), en français et en anglais. Ceux-ci ont donc accès au logiciel ArcGIS Online (EN/FR), aux ressources pédagogiques et au support technique.

Les SIG sont des outils qui permettent aux élèves d’explorer le monde. Ils stimulent la pensée critique et les capacités d’analyse. Ils font en sorte que les élèves peuvent travailler sur des projets qui utilisent des données actuelles et ancrées dans leur milieu. Les SIG contribuent à former des esprits investigateurs : qui questionnent, observent et notent, analysent, communiquent, et qui agissent. Résultat : ils sont au centre de leurs apprentissages et apprennent de façon active.  

Qu’est-ce qu’on peut faire avec des SIG au primaire et au secondaire?

Les SIG sont évidemment des alliés en géographie, mais leur grande polyvalence permet aussi la création de projets collaboratifs et multidisciplinaires, notamment en langues, en histoire, en sciences (sciences de la vie et de la Terre, chimie de l’environnement, etc.), en mathématiques, en informatique et plus encore. On peut consulter ces exemples d’utilisation des SIG au primaire, dans l’enseignement des sciences et de l’univers social – sciences humaines.

Les SIG permettent entre autres d’aborder des thèmes sociétaux, historiques, autant locaux que globaux, de façon à la fois complexe et plus concrète en les présentant dans leur contexte. Ils sont tout désignés pour parler de pollution, de changements climatiques, de grands (et petits) bouleversements sociétaux, allant des guerres à l’aménagement d’un quartier.Le groupe Milieu scolaire et Recherche d’Esri Canada appuie le personnel enseignant dans l’intégration des technologies interactives et collaboratives de cartographie (www.arcgis.com) dans leur pratique. Il offre des ressources pédagogiques, du soutien technique, de la formation aux enseignants et de l’accompagnement gratuit.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :