What are serious games?

(Previous article) Deriving from the English term serious games, serious games evoke software that combines a serious learning intention and the playful aspect of video games. We try to do it […]

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

(Previous article)

Derived from the English word serious games, serious games evoke a software that combines serious learning intent with the fun aspect of video games. We try to convey informative content while keeping a lighter aspect than in a traditional lesson. The designers use the mechanisms of video games to raise awareness of various issues.

Although their definition varies from author to author, those interested in the phenomenon seem to agree on a few common concepts: learning, educational intent and the computer or virtual environment that achieves this goal.

In the imposing document Succeed in digital school, several characteristics of serious play are mentioned. This must implement a multidisciplinary approach and allow a differentiated pedagogy. The player can follow his progress and he plays a central role in the activity. The game values the player and allows collective use and exchanges. Finally, error is seen as a way to progress.

But still?

There are several types of serious games. For example, advertising games (the advergames) are used to promote the image of a brand. Think of Mentalizer and Room Ideas designed by Microsoft and Ikea to promote their products. Practice and simulation games allow you to learn how to perform a precise maneuver. Think of flight simulators, certain military programs or software for the health sector, such as the medicine or the pharmacy.

Teachers will undoubtedly be more interested in games of the edutainment type (the edugames). Their educational intentions are numerous and the clienteles they target are just as many. From preschool to university, from science to history to the development of skills and social attitudes, there is something for everyone. We can come to the aid of the planet, educate our students about humanitarian crises, better manage your budget, explore professions or develop your self-esteem. Some games target the body and movement (the exergames). However, it seems that those listed by popular directories are more exercise for the mind. Calculating your multiplications faster, enriching your vocabulary, working on your memory or quitting smoking are some examples.

What they are not ...

Are all games found on the internet serious games? Certainly not! Carrefour education and Infobourg asked the question to Yasmine Kasbi, Belgian specialist in serious gaming. "The quizzes presented in a fun form are not," she replies. You find a cartoonist or a simulation there but no gameplay. »According to the blog host Seriousgame.be, with a few exceptions, most of the games offered on Facebook don't teach us anything when they could.

(Read the rest of the dossier)

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Julie beaupre
Julie is a primary ICT educational advisor and RÉCIT resource person at the Commission scolaire des Affluents. Also, blogger here and the.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les jeux sérieux, qu’est-ce que c’est?

(Article précédent) Dérivant du vocable anglais serious games, les jeux sérieux évoquent un logiciel qui combine une intention d’apprentissage sérieuse et l’aspect ludique du jeu vidéo. On tente d’y faire […]

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

(Article précédent)

Dérivant du vocable anglais serious games, les jeux sérieux évoquent un logiciel qui combine une intention d’apprentissage sérieuse et l’aspect ludique du jeu vidéo. On tente d’y faire passer un contenu informatif en conservant un aspect plus léger que dans une leçon traditionnelle. Les concepteurs utilisent les mécanismes des jeux vidéo pour sensibiliser les consciences à diverses problématiques.

Bien que leur définition varie d’un auteur à l’autre, ceux qui s’intéressent au phénomène semblent s’entendre sur quelques concepts communs : l’apprentissage, l’intention pédagogique et l’environnement informatique ou virtuel qui permet d’atteindre ce but.

Dans l’imposant document Réussir l’école numérique, plusieurs caractéristiques du jeu sérieux sont évoquées. Celui-ci doit mettre en œuvre une approche pluridisciplinaire et permettre une pédagogie différenciée. Le joueur peut suivre sa progression et il joue un rôle central dans l’activité. Le jeu valorise le joueur et permet une utilisation collective et des échanges. Enfin, l’erreur est perçue comme un moyen de progresser.

Mais encore?

Il existe plusieurs types de jeux sérieux. Par exemple, les jeux publicitaires (les advergames) servent à promouvoir l’image d’une marque. Pensons à Mentalizer et Room Ideas conçus par Microsoft et Ikea pour promouvoir leurs produits. Les jeux d’entraînement et de simulation permettent d’apprendre à exécuter une manœuvre précise. Pensons aux simulateurs de vol, à certains programmes militaires ou aux logiciels pour le domaine de la santé, comme la médecine ou la pharmacie.

Les enseignants seront sans doute davantage intéressés par les jeux de type ludo-éducatif (les edugames). Leurs intentions pédagogiques sont nombreuses et les clientèles qu’elles visent le sont tout autant. Du préscolaire à l’université, des sciences à l’histoire en passant par le développement de compétences et d’attitudes sociales, il y en a pour tous les goûts. On peut venir au secours de la planète, sensibiliser ses élèves aux crises humanitaires, mieux gérer son budget, explorer les métiers ou développer son estime de soi. Certains jeux ciblent le corps et le mouvement (les exergames). Toutefois, il semble que ceux qui sont recensés par les répertoires populaires permettent davantage d’exercer l’esprit. Calculer ses multiplications plus rapidement, enrichir son vocabulaire, travailler sa mémoire ou arrêter de fumer en sont des exemples.

Ce qu’ils ne sont pas…

Les jeux trouvés sur Internet sont-ils tous des jeux sérieux? Assurément pas! Carrefour éducation et l’Infobourg ont posé la question à Yasmine Kasbi, spécialiste belge en serious gaming. « Les jeux-questionnaires présentés sous forme ludique n’en sont pas, répond-elle. Vous y trouvez un graphisme bédéiste ou une simulation mais aucun gameplay. » 
Selon l’animatrice du blogue Seriousgame.be, hormis quelques exceptions, la plupart des jeux offerts sur Facebook ne nous apprennent rien alors que ça pourrait être le cas.

(Lire la suite du dossier)

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!
Avis Facebook pour l’UE! Vous devez vous connecter pour afficher et publier des commentaires FB!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Julie Beaupré
Julie est conseillère pédagogique TIC au primaire et personne-ressource RÉCIT à la Commission scolaire des Affluents. Aussi, blogueuse ici et .

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct