The #Édubrèves - June 7, 2022 edition

Here are the #Edubrèves of the week. In this edition: is a grade-free school possible, Growing Up Without Borders is a CodeCan partner, Youth Digital Month in review, Understanding the career aspirations of youth in 2022, reading recognition awards, podcasts to listen to and much more!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Happy Tuesday! Here are the #Edubrèves of the week. Feel free to share them or write to me if you have any news to share.

In this issue: Is a grade-free school possible, Growing Up Without Borders is a CodeCan partner, Youth Digital Month in Review, Understanding Youth Career Aspirations in 2022, Reading Recognition Awards, Podcasts to listen to and much more!

Good reading.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this short news digest is for entertainment purposes only!


Assessing to support learning: School without grades?

Why do without grades? Under what circumstances is this appropriate? How can technology support this change? Annick Hingray of ÉtudeSecours, Michèle Potvin of Évadi and Catherine Michaud of Ibi will attempt to answer these questions at the next Midi inspirant presented by the Association Edteq.

June 10, 2022, at noon, on Zoom.


IBI partners with École Ste-Anne de Dorval 

Besides, IBI is a web-based application that allows students to take the lead role in their assessment. Its developers have just signed an agreement with the Ste-Anne College of Dorval which will open its new school next September. Ibi has been chosen as the application that will be used for the evaluation of all students in the school.


Growing Up Without Borders is a partner of the CodeCan program

Canada's Minister of Innovation, Science and Industry, François-Philippe Champagne, has announced $1.125 million in funding for Growing Up Without Borders as part of the third phase of the program CanCode

As announced in Budget 2021, the Government of Canada is investing $80 million in the CanCode program. As of 2022, 29 organizations across Canada have received funding through the CodeCan program.

CodeCan provides K-12 students with training opportunities in digital skills such as coding, data analysis and digital content development. The program also helps teachers gain the know-how to integrate new digital skills and technologies into the classroom. 

Furthermore, CodeCan fits well with the Canadian Digital Charter. The first principle of the Charter is to ensure that all Canadians have an equal opportunity to participate in the digital world and that they have the tools to do so - access, connectivity, literacy and skills.


Return on the 3rd edition of the Youth Digital Month

From February 1 to March 6, 2022, Digital Youth Month (DYM) was held under the theme of "transparency". Nearly 20,000 young people benefited from activities and resources made available to them on the new platform www.mnj.quebec. A social media campaign and a video contest were also conducted by the Printemps numérique, the initiating organization of the event. École branchée was a partner of the event.

The report is available here.


90,000 $ from the MEQ to help school caregivers

The organism School Caregivers will receive 90,000 $ in financial assistance from the Ministry of Education (MEQ). The funds will be used to support the volunteers of the SABS and the educational stakeholders and to cover the associated costs, the salaries of the organization's employees who work directly on the educational mission of the SABS, materials and support, the costs associated with the process of joining new institutions, and the updating and maintenance of the computer platform and the website.

In the past two years, School Supporters have implemented a web platform, a Remote Help service and a new Transition Support component, which supports toddlers in early childhood centers in their transition to kindergarten. 

(re)read the École branchée article presenting this organization.


1st Annual Gathering of ACTS Youth Committees

The first Gathering for ACTS Youth took place on May 28 and 29 at Camp Portneuf in Saint-Raymond in the Capitale-Nationale region. This event, organized by the Monique-Fitz-Back Foundation in collaboration with the Mouvement ACTES of the Centrale des syndicats du Québec, brought together nearly 35 high school students from 4 administrative regions and 5 schools in Quebec. The goal? To highlight and recognize the social and environmental commitment of the young participants.

Motivational lectures, outdoor games, hands-on training, and collaborative activities were all part of the bonding process for ACTS Youth Committees. The Gathering with the theme "Together" was an opportunity for youth to come together, share their experiences and develop their communication, leadership and mobilization skills. These tools will certainly be useful to them in animating and mobilizing the committees they are part of.

 The press release is available on the Foundation's website.


Understanding the career aspirations of young people in 2022

The report "Understanding the Career Aspirations of Young People in 2022", which was published by Academos last week, presents the 9 main findings that are essential to better know and understand the young people of Generation Z who are currently entering the job market. Discover the results of the study conducted in collaboration with Desjardins among 1,005 young Quebecers aged 14 to 30.

Download the free report here

Our reporter Fati Benchekri attended the launch and we will publish a report in the coming days.


48th Annual Conference of the Learning Disabilities Institute

The Learning Disabilities Institute team has announced that its 48th Annual Online Conference will be held on March 22, 23, and 24, 2023. More information will be forthcoming in the coming weeks.

Fill out the form to be kept informed.


New recruitment offensive in teaching

Last week, the Quebec government launched a new recruitment offensiveThe program is entitled "Teach Our Youth, Build Our Future". The program is aimed at retired teachers who hold a teaching certificate and individuals who have completed or are about to complete a bachelor's degree or equivalent in a discipline taught in Quebec's preschool, elementary, secondary, vocational or adult education schools. 

Individuals interested in becoming involved in the education network as teachers can express their interest by filling out the form available on the Answer present


Reading Recognition Award and Spark Plug Award 

To highlight the importance of reading in the educational success of young people, the Department of Education presented the eight winning projects and the names of the seven winners of the 2021-2022 edition of the Reading Recognition and Spark Awards.  

The Reading Recognition Awards honour those who carry out challenging projects in reading instruction. The Sparkling Awards recognize the work of members of the school system who are committed to improving the teaching of reading and to fostering a passion for reading in their communities. 

Reading Recognition Award Winning Projects

Spark Plug Award Winners


Podcasts of the week

  • 6 months after the Professional Development Summit, where are we? The answer in this series of 3 episodes of the CADRE21 podcast My #DPcontinuous.
  • The 12th episode The Digital Plan podcast, which introduces the 12th dimension of the Digital Competency Framework, Innovate and Be Creative with Digital.

Finally, in preparation mode for the end of year exams.


If you want even more, you can (re)see last week's #Édubrèves.

See you soon! Don't hesitate to tag us on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so we can talk about your project/resource in an upcoming review of the week! Have a great week.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Les #Édubrèves – édition du 7 juin 2022

Voici les #Édubrèves de la semaine. Dans cette édition : une école sans notes est-elle possible?, Grandir sans frontières est partenaires de CodeCan, bilan du Mois numérique jeunesse, Comprendre les aspirations professionnelles des jeunes en 2022, des prix de reconnaissance en lecture, des balados à écouter et bien plus!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Bon mardi! Voici les #Édubrèves de la semaine. N’hésitez pas à les partager ou à m’écrire si vous avez des nouvelles à faire circuler.

Dans cette édition : une école sans notes est-elle possible?, Grandir sans frontières est partenaires de CodeCan, bilan du Mois numérique jeunesse, Comprendre les aspirations professionnelles des jeunes en 2022, des prix de reconnaissance en lecture, des balados à écouter et bien plus!

Bonne lecture.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement!


Évaluer pour soutenir l’apprentissage : L’école sans notes?

Pourquoi se passer des notes ? Dans quelles circonstances cela est-il approprié ? Comment la technologie peut-elle favoriser ce changement ? Annick Hingray d’ÉtudeSecours, Michèle Potvin d’Évadi et Catherine Michaud d’Ibi tenteront de répondre à ces questions lors du prochain Midi inspirant présenté par l’Association Edteq.

Le 10 juin 2022, à midi, sur Zoom.


IBI s’associe avec l’école Ste-Anne de Dorval 

D’ailleurs, IBI est une application web qui permet à l’élève de jouer le rôle principal dans son évaluation. Ses concepteurs viennent de conclure une entente avec le collège Ste-Anne de Dorval qui ouvrira sa nouvelle école en septembre prochain. Ibi a été choisie comme l’application qui sera utilisée pour l’évaluation de tous les élèves de l’école.


Grandir sans frontières est partenaire du programme CodeCan

Le ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et de l’Industrie du Canada, François-Philippe Champagne, a annoncé l’octroi d’un financement de 1,125 million $ à Grandir Sans Frontières dans le cadre de la troisième phase du programme CodeCan

Comme il l’a annoncé dans le budget de 2021, le gouvernement du Canada investit 80 millions de dollars dans le programme CodeCan. En 2022, 29 organismes à l’échelle du Canada ont obtenu des fonds dans le cadre du programme CodeCan.

CodeCan offre, aux élèves de la maternelle à la fin du secondaire, des occasions de formation visant l’acquisition de compétences numériques, comme le codage, l’analyse de données et le développement de contenu numérique. Le programme aide également les enseignants à acquérir le savoir-faire nécessaire pour intégrer les nouvelles compétences numériques et les nouvelles technologies en classe. 

Par ailleurs, CodeCan cadre bien avec la Charte canadienne du numérique. Le premier principe de la Charte consiste à donner à tous les Canadiens des chances égales de participer au monde numérique et à faire en sorte qu’ils disposent des outils nécessaires pour y arriver, c’est-à-dire l’accès, la connectivité, la littératie et les compétences.


Retour sur la 3e édition du Mois Numérique Jeunesse

Du 1er février au 6 mars 2022 avait lieu le Mois Numérique Jeunesse (MNJ) sous le thème de la « transparence ». Près de 20 000 jeunes ont bénéficié d’activités et ressources mises à leur disposition sur la nouvelle plateforme www.mnj.quebec. Une campagne sur les médias sociaux et un concours vidéo ont aussi été menés par le Printemps numérique, organisme initiateur de l’événement. L’École branchée était partenaire de l’événement.

Le bilan est disponible ici.


Une aide de 90 000 $ du MEQ aux Aidants scolaires

L’organisme Les Aidants scolaires recevra une aide financière de 90 000 $ du ministère de l’Éducation (MEQ). La somme servira à l’accompagnement des bénévoles des Aidants scolaires et des intervenants des milieux éducatifs ainsi qu’aux frais associés, aux salaires des employés de l’organisation travaillant directement à la mission éducative des Aidants scolaires, au matériel et à l’encadrement, aux frais associés aux démarches pour l’adhésion de nouveaux établissements ainsi qu’à la mise à jour et à la maintenance de la plateforme informatique et du site Web.

Dans les deux dernières années notamment, les Aidants scolaires ont mis en place une plateforme web, un service d’Aide à distance et un nouveau volet d’Aide aux transitions, qui soutient les tout-petits des centres de la petite enfance dans leur transition vers la maternelle. 

(re)lire l’article de l’École branchée présentant cet organisme.


1er Rassemblement annuel des comités Jeunesse ACTES

Un premier Rassemblement pour la Jeunesse ACTES s’est déroulé les 28 et 29 mai derniers au Camp Portneuf de Saint-Raymond dans la région de la Capitale-Nationale. Cet événement, organisé par la Fondation Monique-Fitz-Back en collaboration avec le Mouvement ACTES de la Centrale des syndicats du Québec, a réuni près de 35 jeunes de niveau secondaire provenant de 4 régions administratives et 5 écoles du Québec. Le but? Souligner et reconnaître l’engagement social et environnemental des jeunes participants.

Conférences motivantes, jeux extérieurs, formations pratiques, et activités de collaboration : tout y était pour créer des liens au sein des comités Jeunesse ACTES. Le Rassemblement ayant pour thème « Ensemble » était une occasion pour les jeunes de se rassembler, de partager leurs expériences et de développer leurs compétences en communication, en leadership et en mobilisation. Ces outils leur seront assurément utiles pour animer et mobiliser les comités desquels elles et ils font partie.

 Le communiqué est disponible sur le site de la Fondation.


Comprendre les aspirations professionnelles des jeunes en 2022

Le rapport « Comprendre les aspirations professionnelles des jeunes en 2022 », qui a été publié par Academos, la semaine dernière, présente les 9 grands constats essentiels pour mieux connaître et comprendre les jeunes de la génération Z qui font actuellement leur entrée sur le marché du travail. Découvrez les résultats de l’étude réalisée en collaboration avec Desjardins auprès de 1 005 jeunes québécois âgés de 14 à 30 ans.

Téléchargez gratuitement le rapport ici

Notre journaliste Fati Benchekri a assisté au lancement et nous publierons un compte-rendu du rapport dans les prochains jours.


48e Congrès annuel de l’Institut des troubles d’apprentissage

L’équipe de l’Institut des troubles d’apprentissage a annoncé que son 48e Congrès annuel en ligne se déroulera les 22, 23 et 24 mars 2023. Plus d’informations vous seront communiquées au cours des prochaines semaines.

Remplissez le formulaire pour être tenu informé.


Nouvelle offensive de recrutement en enseignement

Le gouvernement du Québec a lancé la semaine dernière une nouvelle offensive de recrutement, intitulée « Enseignez à nos jeunes, bâtissez l’avenir ». Celle-ci vise les personnes retraitées titulaires d’une autorisation d’enseigner et les individus ayant complété ou étant sur le point d’obtenir un baccalauréat ou un diplôme équivalent dans une discipline enseignée dans les écoles préscolaires, primaires, secondaires, de formation professionnelle ou d’éducation aux adultes du Québec. 

Les personnes désireuses de s’engager auprès du réseau de l’éducation à titre d’enseignants peuvent manifester leur intérêt en remplissant le formulaire disponible sur la page Répondez présent


Prix de reconnaissance en lecture et prix Étincelle 

Pour souligner l’importance de la lecture dans la réussite éducative des jeunes, le ministère de l’Éducation a présenté les huit projets gagnants et les noms des sept lauréats de l’édition 2021-2022 des Prix de reconnaissance en lecture et des prix Étincelle.  

Les Prix de reconnaissance en lecture rendent hommage à ceux qui réalisent des projets stimulants en matière d’enseignement de la lecture. Les prix Étincelle, quant à eux, valorisent le travail des membres du réseau scolaire qui ont à cœur l’amélioration de l’enseignement de la lecture et qui alimentent la passion de lire dans leur entourage. 

Projets gagnants des Prix de reconnaissance en lecture

Lauréats et lauréates des prix Étincelle


Balados de la semaine

  • 6 mois après le Sommet du développement professionnel, où en sommes-nous? La réponse dans cette série de 3 épisodes du balado Mon #DPcontinu de CADRE21.
  • Le 12e épisode du balado Le plan numérique, qui présente la 12e dimension du Cadre de référence de la compétence numérique, Innover et faire preuve de créativité avec le numérique.

En terminant, en mode préparation pour les examens de fin d’année.


Si vous en voulez encore plus, vous pouvez (re)voir les #Édubrèves de la semaine dernière.

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente semaine.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :