ADVERTISEMENT

The #Édubrèves - July 19, 2022 edition

In the middle of summer, here are some #Édubrèves. In this edition: a new president for the Conseil supérieur de l'éducation, calls for projects in social innovation, the latest issue of Action Parents magazine, the first Student Ombudsman is named, entrepreneurial projects for the summer, teaching media production, and much more!

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

In the middle of summer, here are some #Edubrèves. We couldn't wait to give you all this information. Please feel free to share them or write to me if you have any news to share.

In this issue: a new president for the Conseil supérieur de l'éducation, calls for projects in social innovation, the latest issue of Action Parents magazine, the first Student Advocate is named, entrepreneurial projects for the summer, teaching media production, and much more!

Good reading.

Please note that the use of animated GIFs in this short news digest is for entertainment purposes only!


A new president for the Conseil supérieur de l'éducation

As of July 2, 2022, the Conseil supérieur de l'éducation du Québec has a new president designate. It is Monique Brodeur. Until recently, she was a professor in the Department of Specialized Education and Training, and interim dean of the Faculty of Political Science and Law, at the Université du Québec à Montréal. She was also on the Board of Directors of the Quebec Literacy Foundation.

More about the magazine

Last year, we realized a meeting with Maryse Lassonde, the outgoing president.


Elections to the Board of Directors of the Edteq Association

Elections were held for the Edteq Association Board of Directors at the end of June. 

The Board of Directors for the year 2022-2023 will consist of:

We would like to thank them for their commitment, especially Audrey Miller, the Executive Director of École branchée.


The role of parents in education - Action Parents magazine

The most recent issue of the magazine Action Parents of the Fédération des comités de parents du Québec is now available for download. Its theme is the role of parents in education. Stéphanie Dionne, from École branchée, writes a column on coeducation.


Calls for social innovation projects

The Ministère de l'Économie et de l'Innovation du Québec has launched calls for projects in social innovation.

Four themes were chosen:

  • Social inclusion and reduction of vulnerabilities and inequalities
  • Social innovation, food security and strategic sourcing
  • Socio-economic challenges and responsible regional development
  • Social and technological innovations for better aging and living together

Organizations eligible for filing are:

  • institutions of the Quebec higher education network (colleges and universities);
  • Liaison and transfer organizations in social innovation, namely Humanov-is, CTREQ and TIESS. 

A registration form must be completed by July 30 and the full application can be submitted by September 27.


The first National Student Advocate is appointed

In the wake of the passage of the National Student Advocate ActOn the recommendation of the Minister of Education, the government announced the appointment of Jean-François Bernier as National Student Advocate (NSA). Mr. Bernier previously served as Deputy Ombudsman.

To read the press release.

For more information on the National Student Advocate.


Regina Public Schools Cyberattacked

Regina Public Schools recently suffered a cyber attack. This forced the schools to shut down all Internet-based systems, such as email and other educational tools. It is believed that ransomware was behind the attack.

Read this article from Radio-Canada to learn more.


Young people will take advantage of the summer to develop their entrepreneurial spirit

More than 300 young people from 14 administrative regions of Quebec will be able to experiment with cooperative entrepreneurship through programs such as Jeune COOP and Coop d'initiation à l'entrepreneuriat collectif (CIEC). Through these programs, the Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité (CQCM) offers young people specialized services in cooperative entrepreneurship.

The Jeune COOP program is a youth entrepreneurship service that aims to help teachers and practitioners start and support cooperative projects free of charge in the classroom or in the community. In 2021-2022, nearly 2,600 youth from 123 different schools benefited from this program. 

To start a Jeune COOP project, contact the youth cooperative entrepreneurship advisor in your region: www.cqcm.coop/conseillers

Since 2018, the CQCM has been rolling out the CIEC program, allowing hundreds of young people to discover the richness of the entrepreneurial experience in a cooperative context, while deepening their civic, democratic and local engagement. For example, a CIEC is bringing together high school youth this summer to offer lawn mowing, painting, weeding, babysitting and various other services to the community and businesses.

To find out which CIECs are near you: www.cqcm.coop/ciec


RÉCIT wins international award

Specifically, it is the national RÉCIT distance learning service that received the 2nd prize for its developments in Moodleat an education hackathon organized by the United Nations. Congratulations!


In bulk

To read

  • Ontario: In its most recent annual reportIn a letter to the Minister of Education, the Privacy Commissioner of Ontario calls for a review of the Ministry of Education's school curriculum to teach young people to be vigilant online. Schools are an absolutely important vehicle for teaching young people to take advantage of the Internet and to use it with confidence...but at the same time to protect themselves," says the Commissioner.
  • Young people and science, between YouTube and misinformationan article from the Science-Presse Agency. Two out of three young people are interested in and trust science. In the age of the infodemia, or fake news epidemic, that's pretty reassuring, but it's time for the scientific community to get more involved where young people are (TikTok, YouTube, Instagram, etc.) and start conversations around "how science is done."

Get inspired

  • Canadian Space Agency astronaut David Saint-Jacques recently gave a talk at the Humanitek 2022 event in Montreal. He spoke about his journey from schoolboy to rural doctor... and a few years later to his missions as an astronaut, aboard the international station and soon on the moon. Very inspiring to listen to for you or your students!

Have fun


For the success of First Nations students

An agreement has been reached between the First Nations Education Council (FNEC), its 22 member communities and Aboriginal Services Canada. The agreement provides an estimated $1.1 billion over five years for communities to implement successful education strategies that will increase the educational success of First Nations students.

The agreement will:

  • Establish a culturally appropriate curriculum;
  • improve funding for school transportation;
  • recruit and retain more than 600 teachers and specialized staff;
  • to improve student success;
  • increase student retention and high school graduation rates.

The FNEC represents 24 elementary and secondary schools and approximately 5,800 students from eight Nations in Quebec.

Read the press release.


Teaching media production

The Media School's digital narrative is a new turnkey online workshop that will help you teach the basics of media production to youth ages 13-18. Integrating with several school subjects, including art, social studies and language arts, the workshop offers 11 modules that explain all the steps involved in making a digital story. 

Students will be given the tools to create their own personal stories, through a combination of photos, narration and music, using accessible equipment and software. The Media School is offered free of charge to all teachers through an agreement with the Quebec Ministry of Education.


An Anti-Hate Toolkit for Canadian Schools

The Government of Canada and the Canadian Anti-Hate Network have launched a new toolkit to counter and prevent hate in Canadian schools.

This toolkit will provide a comprehensive racism awareness program to help teachers, parents and communities better identify, counter and prevent hateful situations in schools across Canada. The toolkit was developed as part of the Canadian Anti-Hate Network's project, Containing and Countering Canadian Hate Groups. This project monitors and reports on the activities of right-wing extremist groups.

The toolkit is only available in English for the moment.

Read the press release.


In closing, watch out for waves!

If you want even more, you can (re)see last week's #Édubrèves.

See you soon! Don't hesitate to tag us on Twitter (@millaudrey or @riomarti) so we can talk about your project/resource in an upcoming review of the week! Have a great week.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Les #Édubrèves – édition du 19 juillet 2022

En plein coeur de l'été, voici quelques #Édubrèves. Dans cette édition : une nouvelle présidente pour le Conseil supérieur de l'éducation, des appels à projets en innovation sociale, le plus récent numéro de la revue Action Parents, le premier Protecteur de l'élève est nommé, des projets entrepreneuriaux pour l'été, enseigner la production médiatique, et bien plus!

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

En plein coeur de l’été, voici quelques #Édubrèves. Ne ne pouvions pas attendre avant de vous communiquer toutes ces informations. N’hésitez pas à les partager ou à m’écrire si vous avez des nouvelles à faire circuler.

Dans cette édition : une nouvelle présidente pour le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation, des appels à projets en innovation sociale, le plus récent numéro de la revue Action Parents, le premier Protecteur de l’élève est nommé, des projets entrepreneuriaux pour l’été, enseigner la production médiatique, et bien plus!

Bonne lecture.

Attention, l’usage de GIF animés dans ce condensé de nouvelles brèves est à des fins de divertissement seulement!


Une nouvelle présidente pour le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation

Depuis le 2 juillet 2022, le Conseil supérieur de l’éducation du Québec a une nouvelle présidente désignée. Il s’agit de Monique Brodeur. Elle était jusqu’à récemment professeure au Département d’éducation et formation spécialisées, et doyenne par intérim de la Faculté de science politique et de droit, de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Elle siégeait également sur le conseil d’administration de la Fondation de l’alphabétisation du Québec.

Pour en savoir plus

L’an dernier, nous avions réalisé une entrevue avec Maryse Lassonde, la présidente sortante.


Des élections au conseil d’administration de l’Association Edteq

Des élections ont eu lieu au conseil d’administration de l’Association Edteq à la fin juin. 

Le conseil d’administration pour l’année 2022-2023  sera composé de :

Nous tenons à les remercier pour leur engagement, tout particulièrement Audrey Miller, la directrice générale de l’École branchée.


Le rôle des parents en éducation – revue Action Parents

Le plus récent numéro de la revue Action Parents de la Fédération des comités de parents du Québec est maintenant disponible plus téléchargement. Il a pour thème le rôle des parents en éducation. Stéphanie Dionne, de l’École branchée, y signe une chronique sur la coéducation.


Appels de projets d’innovation sociale

Le ministère de l’Économie et de l’Innovation du Québec a lancé des appels à projets en innovation sociale.

Quatre thématiques ont été choisies :

  • Inclusion sociale et réduction des vulnérabilités et des inégalités
  • Innovation sociale, sécurisation alimentaire et approvisionnement stratégique
  • Défis socioéconomiques et développement régional responsable
  • Innovations sociales et technologiques permettant de mieux vieillir et vivre ensemble

Les organismes admissibles pour le dépôt sont :

  • les établissements du réseau québécois de l’enseignement supérieur (collégiaux et universitaires);
  • les organismes de liaison et de transfert en innovation sociale, soit Humanov·is, le CTREQ et le TIESS. 

Un formulaire d’inscription doit être rempli d’ici le 30 juillet et la demande complète pourra être envoyée d’ici le 27 septembre.


Le premier protecteur national de l’élève est nommé

Dans la foulée de l’adoption de la Loi sur le protecteur national de l’élève, le gouvernement annonce la nomination, sur recommandation du ministre de l’Éducation, de Jean-François Bernier à titre de protecteur national de l’élève (PNE). M. Bernier a notamment été vice-protecteur du citoyen auparavant.

Pour lire le communiqué de presse.

Pour plus de renseignements sur le Protecteur national de l’élève.


Cyberattaque contre les écoles publiques de Regina

Les écoles publiques de Regina ont récemment été victimes d’une cyberattaque. Cela avait obligé les écoles à fermer tous les systèmes basés sur Internet, tels que le courrier électronique et d’autres outils éducatifs. Ce serait un rançongiciel qui serait à l’origine de l’attaque.

Lire cet article de Radio-Canada pour en savoir plus.


Des jeunes profiteront de l’été pour développer leur fibre entrepreneuriale

Plus de 300 jeunes provenant de 14 régions administratives du Québec pourront expérimenter l’entrepreneuriat coopératif par l’entremise de programmes tels que Jeune COOP et Coop d’initiation à l’entrepreneuriat collectif (CIEC). Par ces programmes, le Conseil québécois de la coopération et de la mutualité (CQCM) offre aux jeunes des services spécialisés en entrepreneuriat coopératif.

Le programme Jeune COOP est un service d’entrepreneuriat jeunesse qui vise à aider les enseignants et intervenants à démarrer et soutenir des projets coopératifs gratuitement en classe ou dans la communauté. En 2021-2022, il y a eu près de 2 600 jeunes provenant de 123 écoles différentes qui ont bénéficié de ce programme. 

Pour démarrer un projet Jeune COOP, contactez la conseillère en entrepreneuriat coopératif jeunesse de votre région : www.cqcm.coop/conseillers

Depuis 2018, le CQCM déploie le programme CIEC, permettant ainsi à des centaines de jeunes de découvrir la richesse de l’expérience entrepreneuriale en contexte coopératif, tout en approfondissant leur engagement citoyen, démocratique et local. Par exemple, une CIEC regroupe cet été des jeunes du secondaire offrant des services de tonte de gazon, de peinture, de désherbage, de gardiennage et divers autres travaux à la communauté et aux entreprises.

Pour connaître les CIEC près de chez-vous : www.cqcm.coop/ciec


Le RÉCIT remporte un prix international

Plus particulièrement, c’est le service national du RÉCIT de la formation à distance qui a reçu le 2e prix pour ses développements dans Moodle, lors d’un  hackathon en éducation organisé par les Nations Unies. Félicitations!


En vrac

À lire

  • Ontario : Dans son plus récent rapport annuel, la commissaire à la vie privée de l’Ontario demande une révision des programmes scolaires du ministère de l’Éducation afin d’enseigner aux jeunes à être vigilants en ligne. « Les écoles sont un vecteur absolument important pour apprendre aux jeunes à tirer profit d’Internet et à l’utiliser avec confiance […] mais tout en se protégeant, indique la commissaire.
  • Les jeunes et la science, entre YouTube et la désinformation, un article de l’Agence Science-Presse. Deux jeunes sur trois s’intéressent et font confiance à la science. À l’heure de l’infodémie, ou épidémie de fausses nouvelles, c’est plutôt rassurant mais il est temps que la communauté scientifique se mobilise davantage là où sont les jeunes (TikTok, YouTube, Instagram, etc.) et entame des conversations autour de « comment se fait la science ».

S’inspirer

  • David Saint-Jacques, astronaute de l’Agence spatiale canadienne, a récemment offert une conférence dans la cadre de l’événement Humanitek 2022, qui s’est tenu à Montréal. Il parle de son cheminement d’enfant aux bancs de l’école à celui de médecin rurale… et quelques années plus tard à ses missions d’astronaute, à bord de la station internationale et prochainement sur la lune. Très inspirant à écouter pour vous ou vos élèves!

S’amuser


Pour la réussite des élèves issus des Premières Nations

Une entente a été conclue entre le Conseil en Éducation des Premières Nations (CÉPN), ses 22 communautés membres et Services aux Autochtones Canada. Celle-ci prévoit une enveloppe estimée à environ 1,1 milliard de dollars sur cinq ans afin que les communautés mettent en œuvre des stratégies gagnantes en matière d’éducation qui permettront d’augmenter la réussite scolaire des élèves issus des Premières Nations.

L’entente permettra :

  • d’instaurer un programme scolaire culturellement adapté;
  • d’améliorer le financement du transport scolaire;
  • de recruter et maintenir en poste plus de 600 enseignants et personnel spécialisés;
  • d’améliorer la réussite des élèves;
  • d’augmenter le taux de persévérance scolaire des élèves et le taux de diplomation au secondaire.

Le CEPN représente 24 écoles primaires et secondaires et environ 5  800 élèves répartis dans huit Nations au Québec.

Lire le communiqué de presse.


Enseigner la production médiatique

Le récit numérique de l’École des médias est un nouvel atelier en ligne, clé en main, qui vous permettra d’enseigner les bases de la production médiatique aux jeunes de 13 à 18 ans. S’intégrant à plusieurs disciplines scolaires, dont les arts, l’univers social et les langues, l’atelier propose 11 modules qui expliquent toutes les étapes de réalisation d’un récit numérique. 

Les élèves auront les outils pour créer leurs histoires personnelles, par un assemblage de photos, de narration et de musique, en utilisant des équipements et logiciels accessibles. L’École des médias est offerte gratuitement à tous les enseignants par le biais d’une entente avec le ministère de l’Éducation du Québec.


Une boîte à outils anti-haine pour les écoles canadiennes

Le gouvernement du Canada et le Réseau canadien anti-haine ont lancé une nouvelle boîte à outils visant à contrecarrer et à prévenir la haine dans les écoles canadiennes.

Cette boîte à outils offrira un programme complet de sensibilisation au racisme pour aider les enseignants, les parents et les communautés à mieux cerner, contrecarrer et prévenir les situations haineuses dans les écoles partout au Canada. Elle a été créée dans le cadre du projet Contenir et contrer les groupes haineux canadiens du Réseau canadien anti-haine. Ce projet vise à surveiller les activités des groupes d’extrême droite et à rendre compte de leurs activités.

La boîte à outils est uniquement disponible en anglais pour l’instant.

Lire le communiqué de presse.


En terminant, faites attention aux vagues!

Si vous en voulez encore plus, vous pouvez (re)voir les #Édubrèves de la semaine dernière.

On se retrouve bientôt! N’hésitez pas d’ici là à nous « tagguer » (en bon français…) sur Twitter (@millaudrey ou @riomarti) pour que nous parlions de votre projet/ressource dans une prochaine revue de la semaine! Passez une excellente semaine.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :