ADVERTISEMENT

Peer tutoring: a winning approach for all!

In order to support students who are experiencing certain difficulties, Collège Bourget has set up the CAP, the Peer Help Center. This is a project in which the fourth and fifth secondary students help the first, second or third secondary students.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

By Johanne Patry, remedial teacher at Collège Bourget

In order to support students who are experiencing certain difficulties, Collège Bourget has set up the CAP, the Peer Help Center. This is a project in which the fourth and fifth secondary students help the first, second or third secondary students.

To ensure the success of this project, the school made use of the remedial and psychoeducational services and the direction of the pupils. For the first year, we targeted the basic subjects, namely French, mathematics and English. Thus, this made it possible to observe, analyze the assistance service and readjust if necessary.

 

There are three components to setting up such a service:

Middle School :

  • Provide training to student tutors (how to be? How to act? ...);
  • Pair tutors with a subject teacher;
  • Credits the student tutor for obtaining his diploma;
  • Provide space for meetings.

 

The tutor must:

  • Demonstrate ease in the chosen subject;
  • Demonstrate diligence, altruism, empathy and availability;
  • Commit to taking a training course;
  • Refer to the subject teacher.

 

The tutee must:

  • Commit to their academic success;
  • Identify their needs;
  • Show results of less than 69 %;
  • Demonstrate diligence and openness.

 

With the hindsight of a first year of the CAP project, Collège Bourget can say that everyone is a winner in this approach. Parents call on the service to meet the specific needs of their child. Teachers, for their part, target students and can use their participation in the CAP as a means in their success plan. Some students apply for the services of a tutor themselves. Finally, student tutors take their role very seriously, because they know that they make a difference in the academic success of a peer.

Thus, the tutored student regains confidence. His perception of the controllability of tasks increases which positively influences his commitment and his academic motivation. In addition, we see the beneficial impacts, both for the tutor and the tutored, in terms of school perseverance, motivation and self-esteem.

 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Le tutorat par les pairs : une approche gagnante pour tous!

Afin de soutenir les élèves qui éprouvent certaines difficultés, le Collège Bourget a mis sur pied le CAP, le Centre d’aide par les pairs. Il s’agit d’un projet où les élèves de quatrième et cinquième secondaire viennent en aide aux élèves de première, deuxième ou troisième secondaire.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Par Johanne Patry, orthopédagogue au Collège Bourget

Afin de soutenir les élèves qui éprouvent certaines difficultés, le Collège Bourget a mis sur pied le CAP, le Centre d’aide par les pairs. Il s’agit d’un projet où les élèves de quatrième et cinquième secondaire viennent en aide aux élèves de première, deuxième ou troisième secondaire.

Pour s’assurer de la réussite de ce projet, l’école a mis à contribution les services d’orthopédagogie et de psychoéducation et la direction des élèves. Pour la première année, on a ciblé les matières de base, soit le français, les mathématiques et l’anglais. Ainsi, cela a permis d’observer, d’analyser le service d’aide et de se réajuster au besoin.

 

Il y a trois volets à la mise en place d’un tel service :

Le Collège :

  • Donne une formation aux élèves tuteurs (comment être ? comment agir?…);
  • Paire les tuteurs à un enseignant-matière;
  • Crédite l’élève tuteur pour l’obtention de son diplôme;
  • Prévoit un espace pour les rencontres.

 

Le tuteur doit :

  • Démontrer de la facilité dans la matière choisie;
  • Faire preuve d’assiduité, d’altruisme, d’empathie et de disponibilité;
  • S’engager à suivre une formation;
  • Se référer à l’enseignant-matière.

 

Le tutoré doit :

  • S’engager dans sa réussite scolaire;
  • Identifier ses besoins;
  • Présenter des résultats de moins de 69 %;
  • Faire preuve d’assiduité et d’ouverture.

 

Avec le recul d’une première année du projet CAP, le Collège Bourget peut affirmer que tout le monde est gagnant dans cette approche. Les parents font appel au service pour répondre aux besoins ponctuels de leur enfant. Les enseignants, eux, ciblent les élèves et peuvent mettre leur participation au CAP comme moyen dans leur plan de réussite. Certains élèves font eux-mêmes la demande pour obtenir les services d’un tuteur. Enfin, les élèves tuteurs prennent leur rôle très au sérieux, car ils savent qu’ils font la différence dans la réussite scolaire d’un pair.

Ainsi, l’élève tutoré reprend confiance. Sa perception sur la contrôlabilité des tâches augmente ce qui influence positivement son engagement et sa motivation scolaire. De plus, on constate les impacts bénéfiques, autant pour le tuteur que le tutoré que ce soit au niveau de la persévérance scolaire, de la motivation et de l’estime de soi.

 

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct