The Periodic Table of the Elements: 150 years of science

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

On March 6, 1869, scientist Dmitry Mendeleev revolutionized the world of science by presenting his work on the periodic table of elements. Take a look at 150 years of history of the famous Periodic Table of the Elements.
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

150 years ago, the world witnessed one of the greatest scientific discoveries when a work called "The Dependence Between the Properties of Atomic Masses of Elements" came to light. Indeed, on March 6, 1869, the scientist Dmitry Mendeleev revolutionized the world of science by presenting his work on the periodic table of elements, better known today as the "Mendeleev table" or "periodic table". elements ".

“For the chemist Normand Voyer, professor at Laval University, the creation of the periodic table is a typical example of great scientific discoveries whose importance transcends the worlds of chemistry, physics, mathematics and biology. "

Source: Radio-Canada, February 15, 2019

The periodic table of the elements was therefore invented 150 years ago, but it remains today the reference tool for understanding how the world around us is made and continues to evolve with new discoveries.

“Today, it has 118 elements and is full of information: above the letter that symbolizes the element, the color of the atomic number indicates whether it is solid, liquid or gaseous. If the border of the box is a black line, this means that this element is essential, that is to say that it is naturally present on the planet (like iron or arsenic), and not produced by the decay of other elements (in this case, the border takes the form of dashes). "

Source: Time, 2019

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Le tableau périodique des éléments : 150 ans de science

Paru le

Il y a 150 ans, le monde assistait à une des plus grandes découvertes scientifiques quand un ouvrage nommé « La dépendance entre les propriétés des masses atomiques des éléments » fut révélé au grand jour. En effet, le 6 mars 1869, le scientifique Dmitri Mendeleïev a révolutionné le monde de la science en présentant son travail sur la classification périodique des éléments, mieux connu aujourd’hui sous l’appellation de « tableau de Mendeleïev » ou de « tableau périodique des éléments ».

« Pour le chimiste Normand Voyer, professeur à l’Université Laval, la création du tableau périodique est un exemple typique de grandes découvertes scientifiques dont l’importance transcende les univers de la chimie, de la physique, des mathématiques et de la biologie. »

Source : Radio-Canada, 15 février 2019

Le tableau périodique des éléments a donc été inventé il y a 150 ans, mais il demeure encore aujourd’hui l’outil de référence pour comprendre comment est fait le monde qui nous entoure et ne cesse d’évoluer au gré de nouvelles découvertes.

« Aujourd’hui, il comporte 118 éléments et regorge d’informations: au-dessus de la lettre qui symbolise l’élément, la couleur du numéro atomique indique si celui-ci est solide, liquide ou gazeux. Si la bordure de la case est un trait noir, cela signifie que cet élément est primordial, c’est-à-dire qu’il est présent naturellement sur la planète (comme le fer ou l’arsenic), et non pas produit par la désintégration d’autres éléments (dans ce cas, la bordure prend la forme de tirets). »

Source : Le Temps, 2019

Les pistes pédagogiques sont réservées aux enseignant(e)s abonnés à SCOOP!, par l’École branchée.

si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) ou apprenez-en plus ici!

SONDAGE! Améliorons SCOOP! ensemble!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les élèves.

+

Des parcours de pédagogie active pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités pédagogiques complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonné? pour masquer les publicités et voir les guides pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir