The role of the school library as an "extension of the classroom"

In the wake of the Action Plan on Reading at School (PALE), a committee from the Regional Table of School Board Librarians 03-12 drafted a document specifying […]

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

In the wake of School Reading Action Plan (PALE), a committee from the Regional Table of Librarians of School Boards 03-12 drafted a document specifying the mission, roles and respective content of the school library and the classroom library, and produced a video presenting this vision of complementarity through existing practices.

This project was featured in the June 2015 edition of the newsletter Language and culture noto 7 intended for educational advisers in French, the language of instruction. From the section Word of mouth ... news from school boards (p. 16), here is an excerpt from the description of the project entitled The role of the school library and the classroom library: complementarity in the implementation of convincing practices.

“For several years, the Commission scolaire de la Capitale has been working to put in place convincing practices in the teaching of French at the elementary level by encouraging teachers to integrate literature into their teaching. In the wake of these changes, a growing need for children's literature books has arisen among teachers. At the time of shopping, however, discussions arose: books for the school library or for class libraries? The fact that there is no allocated budget for the classroom library puts schools in front of difficult choices and causes disparity between schools and between classes.

At the instigation of […] the Regional Table of Librarians of School Boards 03-12 (Capitale-Nationale and Chaudière-Appalaches), Ms. Claire Baillargeon, representative of the SEJ of the CS de la Capitale, took the opportunity to share her thoughts with his colleagues and all realize that they have the same concerns. From these exchanges was born a sub-committee with the mandate to write an accompanying document intended for schools: For a complementarity of the school library and the classroom library in primary education. This specifies the mission, roles and respective content of the school library and the classroom library, then suggests avenues for use for a better complementarity of these two places. […]

This document will also be presented at the congress Words and Chalk in spring 2016.

[…] In support of regional document adapted to the colors of the Commission scolaire de la Capitale, the committee proposed to produce a video presenting this vision of complementarity with existing practices. Thus, the video features female teachers who genuinely operate the school library as an "extension of the classroom." Comments from Annie Pelletier, educational advisor, and Claire Baillargeon, librarian, complete this presentation. This video, titled For a complementarity between the school library and the classroom library - Winning practices, was posted on YouTube.

Several staff awareness strategies have been put in place, including a presentation to the principals of primary schools. They were encouraged to view the video with their staff to generate a discussion about current practices in their school. "

 

Modality for the purchase of books

Within the framework of School Reading Action Plan (PALE), the Youth Educational Services (SEJ) of the Commission scolaire de la Capitale “[…] have established a privileged collaborative agreement with an approved bookstore in the region. This regularly sends them news in order to supply an exhibition hall intended for the purchase of books from primary schools. Teachers can make an appointment with a documentation technician from the documentary services team to make a selection of books to buy, either for the school or for their class. As the technicians know the expectations of the teachers and the resources already available in the school, they can make judicious proposals and feed the children's literature needs of educational advisers in all disciplines. "

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!
Facebook Notice for EU! You need to login to view and post FB Comments!

Google advertising


About the Author

Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Le rôle de la bibliothèque scolaire en tant qu’« extension de la classe »

Dans la foulée du Plan d’action sur la lecture à l’école (PALE), un comité issu de la Table régionale des bibliothécaires des commissions scolaires 03-12 a rédigé un document précisant […]

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Dans la foulée du Plan d’action sur la lecture à l’école (PALE), un comité issu de la Table régionale des bibliothécaires des commissions scolaires 03-12 a rédigé un document précisant la mission, les rôles et le contenu respectifs de la bibliothèque scolaire et de la bibliothèque de classe, et produit une vidéo présentant cette vision de complémentarité par des pratiques déjà existantes.

Ce projet a été présenté dans l’édition de juin 2015 du bulletin Langue et culture no 7 destiné aux conseillers pédagogiques en français, langue d’enseignement. Tiré de la rubrique De bouche à oreille… des nouvelles des commissions scolaires (p. 16), voici un extrait de la description du projet intitulé Le rôle de la bibliothèque scolaire et de la bibliothèque de classe : complémentarité dans la mise en place de pratiques probantes.

« Depuis plusieurs années, la Commission scolaire de la Capitale travaille à mettre en place des pratiques probantes dans l’enseignement du français au primaire en encourageant les enseignantes et les enseignants à intégrer la littérature à leur enseignement. Dans la foulée de ces changements, un besoin croissant de livres de littérature jeunesse s’est fait sentir chez les enseignants. Au moment des achats, des discussions surgissaient toutefois : des livres pour la bibliothèque de l’école ou pour les bibliothèques de classe? Le fait qu’il n’y a pas de budget alloué pour la bibliothèque de classe place les écoles devant des choix difficiles et provoque une disparité entre les écoles et entre les classes.

Lors de l’instigation de […] la Table régionale des bibliothécaires des commissions scolaires 03-12 (Capitale-Nationale et Chaudière-Appalaches), madame Claire Baillargeon, représentante des SEJ de la CS de la Capitale, en profite pour partager ses réflexions avec ses collègues et toutes réalisent qu’elles ont les mêmes préoccupations. De ces échanges est né un sous-comité ayant pour mandat de rédiger un document d’accompagnement destiné aux écoles : Pour une complémentarité de la bibliothèque scolaire et de la bibliothèque de classe au primaire. Celui-ci précise la mission, les rôles et le contenu respectifs de la bibliothèque scolaire et de la bibliothèque de classe, puis propose des pistes d’utilisation pour une meilleure complémentarité de ces deux lieux. […]

Ce document sera d’ailleurs présenté au congrès De Mots et de Craie au printemps 2016.

[…] En appui au document régional adapté aux couleurs de la Commission scolaire de la Capitale, le comité a proposé de produire une vidéo présentant cette vision de complémentarité par des pratiques déjà existantes. Ainsi, la vidéo met en vedette des enseignantes qui exploitent véritablement la bibliothèque scolaire comme une « extension de la classe ». Les commentaires d’Annie Pelletier, conseillère pédagogique, et de Claire Baillargeon, bibliothécaire, complètent cette présentation. Cette vidéo, intitulée Pour une complémentarité entre la bibliothèque scolaire et la bibliothèque de classe – Pratiques gagnantes, a été publiée dans YouTube.

Plusieurs stratégies de sensibilisation du personnel ont été mises en place dont une présentation aux directions des écoles primaires. Celles-ci ont été encouragées à visionner la vidéo avec leur personnel pour susciter une discussion sur les pratiques en cours dans leur école. »

 

Modalité pour l’achat des livres

Dans le cadre du Plan d’action sur la lecture à l’école (PALE), les Services éducatifs des jeunes (SEJ) de la Commission scolaire de la Capitale « […] ont établi une entente collaborative privilégiée avec une librairie agréée de la région. Celle-ci leur envoie régulièrement des nouveautés afin d’alimenter une salle d’exposition destinée aux achats de livres des écoles primaires. Les enseignants peuvent prendre rendez-vous avec une technicienne en documentation de l’équipe des services documentaires pour faire une sélection de livres à acheter, soit pour l’école ou pour leur classe. Comme les techniciennes connaissent les attentes des enseignants et les ressources déjà disponibles dans l’école, elles peuvent faire des propositions judicieuses et alimenter les besoins en littérature jeunesse des conseillers pédagogiques de toutes les disciplines. »

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct