The Rendez-vous RECIT: #Selfies - Who are we online? Who are we online?

For the #Selfies workshop - Who are we online? Who are we, online ?, Tracy Rosen brought to life different situations that allowed participants to take a different look at this practice of taking pictures that is well established among young and old.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

On November 20, 6 free workshops were offered online by RÉCIT in order to introduce educational actors to various themes that can be explored within the framework of the Digital education action plan. The recordings of these workshops as well as the resources presented are available on the RÉCIT website.

I had the chance to experience the workshop #Selfies - Who are we online? Who are we, online? of Tracy rosen. For the occasion, she brought to life different situations that allowed participants to take a different look at the selfie, this photo-taking practice well established among young and old, by participating in three stations.

Much more than a photo

For my first station, I was invited to listen to a video that featured 6.5 years of a young woman's life in a selfie. In these photos, annotations explained a bit of his life. Then I had to participate in the discussion by trying to answer the following questions:

  • Do selfies really represent someone?
  • Why or why not? What can selfies say about our culture?

This exercise allowed me to realize that the selfie has a superficial character in itself. You can make him say what you want. Whether you are happy, excited, unhappy, tired, in pain or on your X, it is easy to share a self-image that is very different from reality.

This is why I believe it is important to broach the subject with young people. The selfie cannot define us with one click. We are human beings with our qualities, our faults, our challenges, our complexities. To feel good with yourself, authenticity is the key in my opinion.  

For teens who are on a quest for identity in the digital age, it is quite a challenge to distinguish the true from the false, the fake from the authentic ...

You can consult feedback from participants here.

The selfie with a social vocation

The second station proposed by Ms. Rosen made me realize that it was possible to use the selfie beyond just taking a selfie: to raise awareness.

I discovered two young people who chose this type of photography to educate people and encourage them to hear their message, to become aware of the problem they are experiencing and to take action. I then completed the questionnaire to express myself on the subject.  

I believe that presenting the selfie to young people as a way to express themselves, to denounce, to dare to want to change things is an example of the power of the tool they have in their hands every day, every day. hour, every minute, every second.

One participant put it so well: Young people need to understand the “power” they have from their phones to change the world. "

You can join the discussion here.

Selfies, art?

By the presentation of different works featuring selfies, I wondered about the artistic aspect of the thing. Since photography is an art in itself, it goes without saying that the selfie also falls into this category. Looking at the fruit of the work of the artists presented, we come to notice that this art has no limit but our creativity!

You can consult presentation here.

To see thefull webinar, click below or this way.

For further

Great resources about the #selfie by Tracy Rose:

Selfies, by tracyrosen

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Julie R.-Bordeleauhttp://apprendre.education
Former teacher and mother of a military family of 4 boys, Julie R-Bordeleau is an alternative learning guide and author. She loves discovering new educational and holistic resources and approaches that allow her clients to learn and develop in different ways, depending on their needs. Its website julierbordeleau.com, its newsletter and its services are dedicated to adults who are changing the world in their own way, whether they are parents-educators, parents or professionals.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Le Rendez-vous RÉCIT : #Selfies – Who are we online? Qui sommes-nous en ligne?

Pour l’atelier #Selfies - Who are we online? Qui sommes-nous, en ligne?, Tracy Rosen a fait vivre différentes situations qui ont permis aux participants de poser un regard différent sur cette pratique de prise de photo bien ancrée chez les jeunes et les moins jeunes.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Le 20 novembre dernier, 6 ateliers gratuits étaient offerts en ligne par le RÉCIT afin d’introduire les acteurs éducatifs à diverses thématiques pouvant être explorées dans le cadre du Plan d’action numérique en éducation. Les enregistrements de ces ateliers ainsi que les ressources présentées sont disponibles sur le site Web du RÉCIT.

J’ai eu la chance de vivre l’atelier #Selfies – Who are we online? Qui sommes-nous, en ligne? de Tracy Rosen. Pour l’occasion, elle a fait vivre différentes situations qui ont permis aux participants de poser un regard différent sur le selfie, cette pratique de prise de photo bien ancrée chez les jeunes et les moins jeunes, en participant à trois stations.

Bien plus qu’une photo

Pour ma première station, j’ai été été invitée à écouter une vidéo qui présentait 6,5 années de la vie d’une jeune femme en selfie. À ces photos, des annotations expliquaient un peu sa vie. Ensuite, je devais participer à la discussion en tentant de répondre aux questions suivantes :

  • Les selfies représentent-ils vraiment quelqu’un?
  • Pourquoi ou pourquoi pas? Que peuvent dire les selfies de notre culture?

Cet exercice m’a permis de réaliser que le selfie détient en soi un caractère superficiel. Il est possible de lui faire dire ce qu’on veut. Qu’on soit heureux, excité, malheureux, fatigué, en mal d’être ou sur son X, il est facile de partager une image de soi qui est très différente de la réalité.

C’est pourquoi je crois qu’il est important d’aborder le sujet avec les jeunes. Le selfie ne peut pas nous définir en un seul clic. Nous sommes des êtres humains avec nos qualités, nos défauts, nos défis, nos complexités. Pour être bien avec soi, l’authenticité est la clé selon moi.  

Pour les ados qui vivent une quête identitaire à l’ère du numérique, c’est tout un défi de distinguer le vrai du faux, le fake de l’authentique…

Vous pouvez consulter les réactions des participants ici.

Le selfie à vocation sociale

La deuxième station proposée par Mme Rosen m’a fait prendre conscience qu’il était possible d’utiliser le selfie au-delà de la simple prise d’un égoportrait : pour sensibiliser.

J’ai découvert deux jeunes ayant choisi ce type de photographie pour sensibiliser les gens et les inciter à entendre leur message, à prendre conscience de la problématique qu’ils vivent et à passer à l’action. J’ai ensuite complété le questionnaire pour m’exprimer sur le sujet.  

Je crois que de présenter aux jeunes le selfie comme un moyen de s’exprimer, de dénoncer, d’oser vouloir changer les choses est un exemple de la puissance de l’outil qu’ils ont entre les mains à chaque jour, à chaque heure, à chaque minute, à chaque seconde.

Une participante l’a si bien dit : « Il faut que les jeunes comprennent le « pouvoir » qu’ils ont à partir de leur téléphone pour faire changer le monde. »

Vous pouvez participer à la discussion ici.

Les selfies, de l’art?

Par la présentation de différentes oeuvres mettant en vedette des selfies, je me suis questionnée sur l’aspect artistique de la chose. La photographie étant un art en soi, il va de soi que le selfie entre aussi dans cette catégorie. En regardant le fruit du travail des artistes présentés, on vient à remarquer que cet art n’a de limite que notre créativité!

Vous pouvez consulter la présentation ici.

Pour voir l’intégralité de ce webinaire, cliquez ci-dessous ou par ici.

Pour aller plus loin

Ressources intéressantes à propos du #selfie par Tracy Rose :

Selfies, by tracyrosen

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Julie R.-Bordeleauhttp://apprendre.education
Ex-enseignante et maman d'une famille militaire de 4 garçons, Julie R-Bordeleau est accompagnante en apprentissages alternatifs et auteure. Elle adore découvrir de nouvelles ressources et approches pédagogiques et holistiques qui permettent à ses clients d’apprendre et se développer de différentes façons, selon leurs besoins. Son site web julierbordeleau.com, son infolettre et ses services sont dédiés aux adultes qui changent le monde chacun à leur manière, qu’ils soient parents-éducateurs, parents ou professionnels.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct