Japan to watch Canadian shale gas closely

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Canada should provide Japan with privileged access to the gigantic shale gas reserves discovered in the west of the country, according to various Japanese media. Since the 2011 tsunami, Japan has been looking for new sources of energy. Let's take the opportunity to talk about “shale gas”.

After the Fukushima disaster in March 2011, the 50 nuclear reactors of the Japan were shut down as a precaution. The archipelago must therefore find ways to compensate for this lack and to diversify its supply.
This is the reason why, according to various Japanese media, the country is considering entering into an agreement with Canada to buy shale gas from it. Canada could supply up to 40 million tonnes per year according to Japanese government sources, the Yomiuri Shimbun daily reported. This represents more than 45 % of the volume of liquefied natural gas (LNG) imported by Japan in 2012.
Source: The New Factory
The short learning situations, described below, will allow the pupils in particular to become more familiar with shale gas.
 


Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:
- Discover the different sources of renewable energy on Earth.
- Generate graphs with development indicators around the world.
- Become familiar with shale gas and learn how it is formed in the earth.
- Explain why the overexploitation of natural resources is harmful.
- Interpret the lyrics of a song with ecological connotations.


Suggested activities

ACTIVITY 1: What is shale gas?

Start a discussion with your students in order to take stock of their knowledge in relation to the shale gas, which we have talked about a lot lately in the Quebec media. Ask the students to come and write key words related to this type of gas and to explain to the group what they know about it.
Then introduce them to this short explanatory video describing the shale gas problem explained in less than two minutes.
 

ACTIVITY 2: Advantages and disadvantages of renewable energies

Lead a discussion with your students to highlight the advantages and disadvantages of using renewable energies such as solar energy and solar thermal energy, the biomass, wind energy, geothermal energy as well as hydraulic energy.
Introduce each type of energy using the links provided, reading the first paragraph for each. Following the presentation of each, question the students by asking them to reflect and indicate, in writing, the various potential advantages and disadvantages, in their opinion, of this type of energy. Introduce the other types of renewable energy and do the same. Go back as a large group to make common notes. You could, to facilitate sharing, use a shared document in Google drive, a wiki space, or a page in the tool Didacti, or other collaborative online tool so that your students can easily consult the result and improve it, if necessary.
Here are some ideas to fuel class discussions:
http://www.energies-renouvelables.fr/avantage_inconvenient_energies_renouvelables.php
 

ACTIVITY 3: Overexploitation of natural resources

Watch this video capsule with your students so that they can observe powerful images of the overexploitation of natural resources. Ask them to pay particular attention to the lyrics of the song by the Quebec group. The Dashing Cowboys entitled Nothing, by distributing an excerpt from the text (which you could retrieve online, like here) after viewing the video. Read the lyrics with your students and question them to check their understanding of this eco-friendly song. (Beware of copyright: in Quebec, the reproduction of a work at a rate of 10 % or less is considered fair. Beyond that, check with Copibec!)
In small working groups, invite the students to list the impacts on our society of the various types of exploitation such as the ecological footprint, fishing, agriculture, industries, water, land and forestry. Make a collective feedback on the discoveries of the pupils so that they can have a common vision of the different ways of overexploiting natural resources.
Possible answers, among others, on the site ofHello teacher and on the Canadian biodiversity site.
 

ACTIVITY 4: GDP of the richest countries in the world

Introduce the site Google public data to your students because they will have to familiarize themselves with it in the next activity related to the GDP (Gross domestic product). Have your students observe the different indicators of development around the world in the left section. In the bottom section, still on the left of the page, you can check one or more countries to refine your data searches. For example, have a look at the colored graph generated with the GDP data.
Let your students discover the different types of graphs available and the different options that can be configured during this activity. Once the site is briefly presented and, after doing a modeling in their presence, ask them to choose one of the development indicators and go in search of some amazing data for them. They will be able to compare their development indicator with several countries in order to interpret the data following the graphs generated. After the students' experimentation period, have them present some graphs obtained by volunteers and take the opportunity to question them in order to further their thinking.
Source: Google public data
 

For further

GDP ranking: richest countries in the world
http://www.journaldunet.com/economie/magazine/classement-pib.shtml

List of countries by GDP (PPP) per capita
http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liste_des_pays_par_PIB_(PPA)_par_habitant

Impacts of climate change on natural resources
http://www.mnr.gov.on.ca/fr/Business/ClimateChange/2ColumnSubPage/STDPROD_092071.html

Map of the distribution of oil and gas in Europe
http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ressources_naturelles_dans_l'Union_européenne

Energy and natural resources
http://ec.europa.eu/news/energy/index_fr.htm#top

Ecological footprint
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HL8HDjlnqfw

Let's reduce our environmental footprint
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maG9OXFDt3M


More about the magazine

The more natural resources a country has, the lower its educational level
http://www.slate.fr/story/51495/niveau-scolaire-ressources-naturelle-pisa
Natural resources: a sad wealth
http://altermondes.org/spip.php?article744

How the degradation of our resources can lead to serious natural disasters
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kU5XGfkIujg

The challenges of the economy - Natural resources
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSmgdcttWxY
World Trade Report 2010
http://www.wto.org/french/res_f/booksp_f/anrep_f/wtr10-2b_f.pdf

 

Classification of activities:

Back to the guides...

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Find activities...

Use the search engine

It allows you to search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

SCOOP! in my plan?

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert when something new is published on SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Le Japon regarderait de près le gaz de schiste canadien

Paru / Mis à jour le

Le Canada devrait fournir au Japon un accès privilégié aux gigantesques réserves de gaz de schiste découvertes dans l’ouest du pays, selon divers médias nippons. Depuis le tsunami de 2011, le Japon cherche de nouvelles sources d’énergie. Profitons-en pour parler « gaz de schiste ».

Après la catastrophe de Fukushima, en mars 2011, les 50 réacteurs nucléaires du Japon ont été mis à l’arrêt par mesure de précaution. L’archipel doit donc trouver des moyens de compenser ce manque et de diversifier son approvisionnement.
C’est la raison pour laquelle, selon divers médias japonais, le pays envisage de  conclure un accord avec le Canada pour lui acheter du gaz de schiste. Le Canada pourrait fournir jusqu’à 40 millions de tonnes par an selon des sources gouvernementales nippones, a rapporté le quotidien Yomiuri Shimbun. Cela représente plus de 45 % du volume de gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) importé par le Japon en 2012.
Source : L’usine Nouvelle
Les courtes situations d’apprentissages, décrites ci-après, permettront notamment aux élèves de se familiariser davantage avec les gaz de schiste.
 


Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :
– Découvrir les différentes sources d’énergie renouvelable sur Terre.
– Générer des graphiques avec les indicateurs de développement dans le monde.
– Se familiariser avec les gaz de schiste et apprendre comment ils se forment dans la terre.
– Expliquer pourquoi la surexploitation des ressources naturelles est néfaste.
– Interpréter les paroles d’une chanson à connotation écologique.


Suggestions d’activités

ACTIVITÉ 1 : Qu’est-ce que le gaz de schiste?

Amorcez une discussion avec vos élèves afin de faire l’inventaire de leurs connaissances en lien avec les gaz de schiste, dont on a abondamment parlé dernièrement dans les médias québécois. Demandez aux élèves de venir écrire des mots- clés en lien avec ce type de gaz et d’expliquer au groupe ce qu’ils en savent.
Présentez-leur ensuite cette courte vidéo explicative décrivant le problème du gaz de schiste expliqué en moins de deux minutes.
 

ACTIVITÉ 2 : Avantages et inconvénients des énergies renouvelables

Animez une discussion avec vos élèves afin de faire ressortir les avantages et les inconvénients reliés à l’exploitation des énergies renouvelables comme l’énergie solaire et l’énergie solaire thermique, la biomasse, l’énergie éolienne, l’énergie géothermique ainsi que l’énergie hydraulique.
Présentez chaque type d’énergie à l’aide des liens proposés, en faisant la lecture du premier paragraphe pour chacun. Suite à la présentation de chacune, questionnez les élèves en leur demandant de réfléchir et d’indiquer, par écrit, les différents avantages et inconvénients potentiels, selon eux, de ce type d’énergie. Présentez les autres types d’énergie renouvelable et procédez de la même façon. Faites un retour, en grand groupe afin de consigner des notes communes. Vous pourriez, pour faciliter le partage, utiliser un document partagé dans Google Drive, un espace wiki, ou bien une page dans l’outil Didacti, ou autre outil collaboratif en ligne afin que vos élèves puissent facilement consulter le résultat et le bonifier, au besoin.
Voici quelques pistes pour alimenter les discussions en classe :
http://www.energies-renouvelables.fr/avantage_inconvenient_energies_renouvelables.php
 

ACTIVITÉ 3 : La surexploitation des ressources naturelles

Visionnez cette capsule vidéo avec vos élèves afin qu’ils puissent observer des images percutantes de la surexploitation des ressources naturelles. Demandez-leur de porter une attention particulière aux paroles de la chanson du groupe québécois Les Cowboys Fringants intitulé Plus rien, en distribuant un extrait du texte (que vous pourriez récupérer en ligne, comme ici) suite au visionnement de la vidéo. Lisez les paroles avec vos élèves et questionnez-les afin de vérifier leur compréhension de cette chanson écologique. (Attention au droit d’auteur : au Québec, la reproduction d’une oeuvre à raison de 10 % ou moins est considérée comme équitable. Au-delà, vérifiez avec Copibec!)
En petites équipes de travail, invitez les élèves à faire la liste des impacts sur notre société des divers types d’exploitation comme l’empreinte écologique, la pêche, l’agriculture, les industries, l’eau, la terre et la foresterie. Faites un retour collectif des découvertes des élèves afin qu’ils puissent avoir une vision commune des différentes façons de surexploiter les ressources naturelles.
Pistes de réponses possibles, entre autre, sur le site d’Allô-prof et sur le site de la biodiversité canadienne.
 

ACTIVITÉ 4 : PIB des pays les plus riches au monde

Présentez le site Google public data à vos élèves car ils devront se familiariser avec celui-ci dans la prochaine activité en lien avec le PIB (Produit intérieur brut). Faites observer à vos élèves, dans la section de gauche, les différents indicateurs de développement dans le monde entier. Dans la section du bas, toujours sur la gauche de la page, vous pouvez cocher un ou plusieurs pays afin de préciser vos recherches de données. Par exemple, faites observez le graphique de couleur généré avec les données du PIB.
Laissez vos élèves découvrir les différents types de graphiques disponibles et les différentes options paramétrables pendant la présente activité. Une fois le site brièvement présenté et, après avoir fait un modelage en leur présence, demandez-leur de choisir un des indicateurs de développement et de partir à la recherche de données étonnantes pour eux. Ils pourront comparer leur indicateur de développement avec plusieurs pays afin d’interpréter les données suite aux graphiques générés. Après la période d’expérimentation des élèves, faites présenter quelques graphiques obtenus par des volontaires et profitez-en pour les questionner afin de pousser davantage leur réflexion.
Source : Google public data
 

Pour aller plus loin

Classement PIB : les pays les plus riches du monde
http://www.journaldunet.com/economie/magazine/classement-pib.shtml

Liste des pays par PIB (PPA) par habitant
http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liste_des_pays_par_PIB_(PPA)_par_habitant

Impacts du changement climatique sur les ressources naturelles
http://www.mnr.gov.on.ca/fr/Business/ClimateChange/2ColumnSubPage/STDPROD_092071.html

Carte de la répartition du pétrole et du gaz en Europe
http://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ressources_naturelles_dans_l’Union_européenne

Énergie et ressources naturelles
http://ec.europa.eu/news/energy/index_fr.htm#top

Empreinte écologique
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HL8HDjlnqfw

Réduisons notre empreinte environnementale
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=maG9OXFDt3M


Pour en savoir plus

Plus un pays a de ressources naturelles, moins son niveau scolaire est élevé
http://www.slate.fr/story/51495/niveau-scolaire-ressources-naturelle-pisa
Les ressources naturelles : une triste richesse
http://altermondes.org/spip.php?article744

Comment la dégradation de nos ressources peut entraîner de graves désastres naturels
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kU5XGfkIujg

Les enjeux de l’économie – Les ressources naturelles
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fSmgdcttWxY
Rapport sur le commerce mondial 2010
http://www.wto.org/french/res_f/booksp_f/anrep_f/wtr10-2b_f.pdf

 

Classification des activités :

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!