Tornado season is in full swing in the United States

Published / Updated on

The arrival of spring is synonymous with warmth for most parts of North America. It also coincides with the great weather instabilities that result in hundreds of tornadoes, particularly in the “Tornado Alley”.
 

The onset of spring is synonymous with warmth for most parts of North America.

However, it also coincides with great weather instabilities sometimes resulting in tornadoes destroying everything in their path. The tornado season therefore generally begins in March in the Tornado Alley, in the USA. As of March 19, 2021, we were already talking about thirty of these vortex phenomena that have mainly made landfall in Alabama.

You must know that Tornado Alley is a common term for a central region of the United States covering several states where tornadoes frequently occur. You will have to locate this “tornado alley” on a geographical map a little later in this guide.

The tornadoes that occur in the United States are caused by the air mass conflict, between cold polar air and warm air from the Gulf of Mexico, as shown on the map below:

Wikipedia

Year in and year out, we are talking about 1,200 tornadoes that destroy everything in their path each year in this region of the globe. Check out this graphic which highlights the very eventful springs in terms of tornadoes in the United States:

tornades
The Weather Network, March 19, 2021

In the case of Canada, far fewer such extreme events are observed. In Quebec, there are about five low intensity tornadoes (0 or 1) per year. Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba are more affected with 30 to 45 tornadoes each year.

“The Prairies are the most active tornado region in Canada, especially in the south. Because we are getting closer to the Equator and therefore have more heat, specifies Natalie Hasell. On average, the Prairies experience 30 to 45 tornadoes per year, with 8 to 12 for Manitoba. "

Radio-Canada, May 24, 2019

Your challenge

Concretely, do you know what is a tornado? What elements must be gathered to allow its creation?

Using a graphic design platform such as Can go, make an infographic to illustrate what you know about this extreme meteorological phenomenon. This website could help you in your search for information.


 

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!


Back to the guides reception

SCOOP! this is...
 

Engage your students through motivating learning contexts! Each active pedagogy path SCOOP! first offers a reading ready to share with the students, then ideas for complementary activities for the teacher. Easily tie in disciplinary and digital skills!

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide the advertisements and see the educational activities corresponding to the texts!

Find a guide ...

Guide index

For primary classes

For secondary classes

By dimension of digital competence

So you don't miss a thing

Receive an email alert when a new one is published SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

La saison des tornades bat son plein aux États-Unis

Paru le

 

L’arrivée du printemps est synonyme de chaleur pour la majorité des régions d’Amérique du Nord.

Cependant, cela coïncide également avec de grandes instabilités météorologiques résultant parfois par des tornades qui détruisent tout sur leur passage. La saison des tornades débute donc généralement en mars dans la Tornado Alley, aux États-Unis. En date du 19 mars 2021, on parlait déjà d’une trentaine de ces phénomènes tourbillonnaires qui ont principalement touché terre en Alabama.

Il faut savoir que Tornado Alley est un terme commun pour désigner une région centrale des États-Unis couvrant plusieurs États où se produisent fréquemment des tornades. Tu auras à localiser sur une carte géographique cette « allée des tornades » un peu plus loin dans ce guide.

Les tornades qui se produisent aux États-Unis sont provoquées par le conflit de masse d’air, entre l’air froid polaire et l’air chaud du Golfe du Mexique, tel qu’illustré sur la carte ci-dessous :

Wikipédia

Bon an mal an, on parle d’environ 1200 tornades qui détruisent tout sur leur passage chaque année dans cette région du globe. Regarde ce graphique qui met en lumière les printemps très mouvementés en terme de tornades aux États-Unis :

tornades
MétéoMédia, 19 mars 2021

Dans le cas du Canada, beaucoup moins de phénomènes extrêmes de ce type sont observés. Au Québec, il y a environ cinq tornades de faible intensité (0 ou 1) par année. L’Alberta, la Saskatchewan et le Manitoba sont davantage touchés avec 30 à 45 tornades tous les ans.

« Les Prairies constituent la région la plus active en matière de tornades au Canada, en particulier dans le sud. Parce qu’on se rapproche de l’Équateur et qu’on a donc plus de chaleur, précise Natalie Hasell. En moyenne, les Prairies subissent de 30 à 45 tornades par an, avec 8 à 12 pour le Manitoba. »

Radio-Canada, 24 mai 2019

Ton défi

Concrètement, sais-tu qu’est-ce qu’une tornade? Quels éléments doivent être rassemblés pour permettre sa création?

À l’aide d’une plateforme de création graphique telle que Canva, réalise une infographie pour illustrer ce que tu connais de ce phénomène météorologie extrême. Ce site Web pourrait t’aider dans ta recherche d’informations.


 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!


SONDAGE! Améliorons SCOOP! ensemble!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les élèves.

+

Des parcours de pédagogie active pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités pédagogiques complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonné? pour masquer les publicités et voir les guides pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir