Co-modality: learning to combine presence and distance

What are the benefits of co-modality? What nuances does it make sense to consider when choosing this teaching format? How do you live it? Three education experts shared their thoughts on the topic in a panel discussion presented at Distance Learning Week in February 2022.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

By Fatimazzahra Benchekri

What are the benefits of co-modality? What nuances does it make sense to consider when choosing this teaching format? How do you live it? Three education experts shared their thoughts on the subject in a panel discussion presented at the Distance learning weekin February 2022.

During the panel Co-modality: a unique combination of presence and distanceSerge Gérin-lajoie, professor at TÉLUQ University and specialist in distance education, online training and higher education, Normand Roy, professor in the department of psychopedagogy and andragogy at the University of Montreal and France Lafleur, professor in the department of education sciences at the University of Quebec at Trois-Rivières, freely discussed co-modality, a way of teaching that has gained in popularity over the last two years.

What is co-modality?

According to the Office québécois de la langue française, co-modality refers to teaching or training that combines face-to-face and distance modes simultaneously. The two modes take place at the same time and distance students have the opportunity to interact live with the instructor and other students.          

As a reminder, there are four main types of training to date: face-to-face, distance, hybrid and co-modal.

Co-modal education presents both technical and pedagogical challenges. However, co-modality also has benefits for students and teachers, as well as for institutions. For example, it provides educational continuity for those students who are unable to attend class, whether due to health, weather or other reasons.

What are the advantages of co-modality?  

Co-modality primarily allows for more individualized experiences based on student needs. For university students, balancing family life, work and studies is facilitated. The time savings that students are able to make by avoiding commuting hours would be one of the main benefits.

France Lafleur states that since the democratization of co-modality (mainly linked to the pandemic), the rate of full-time enrolment has increased in Quebec universities. It is not for nothing that the number of distance education courses offered has reached record levels, as is the case at the Université du Québec à Montréal, as recently reported in Le Devoir.

On the teachers' side, co-modality appears as a new feedback tool, which allows them to establish and maintain a link with students at a distance, while several technological features are available. These would give co-modality an interactive aspect that is, in some cases, absent even in face-to-face courses. France Lafleur refers to interactivity as the "diamond of distance education".

For educational institutions, co-modality allows them to target a varied and diverse clientele, sometimes located in distant geographical areas (cities, regions, or even countries).

Even for the youngest

The panelists did not just talk about university students. They also mentioned that for some elementary and high school students, especially those with special needs or other health conditions (anxiety, mental health, atypical background, etc.), co-modal education can be relevant, useful and supportive.

In fact, it allows these young people to follow the course live, like their other peers, while being physically in a comfort zone (their home). Thus, co-modality would respond to the multiplication of pathways among young people.

Pedagogical coherence

During the webinar, the modalities to reinforce pedagogical coherence in distance learning were discussed through an action research-training. The modalities are as follows:

  1. Make technology and digital resources accessible to both learners and teachers.
  2. Use a digital learning environment to centralize teacher practice.
  3. Putting the learner at the heart of reflections, choices and decisions in the act of co-modal teaching.

Moreover, this close link between pedagogy and digital gives a pedagogical-digital coherence where 4 elements are in perpetual interaction:

  1. The terms of the ADF
  2. Teaching strategies
  3. Learning targets
  4. Evaluation activities

While implementing these practices, it is important to ensure that the distance will not alter the quality of a course and, on the contrary, will facilitate its implementation. In addition, the management of equipment is of crucial importance when using technological tools and must be taken seriously and constantly checked to ensure that it is working properly for everyone.

The panel discussion can be reviewed here: Comodality: a unique combination of presence and distance.  

Additional resources:

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Fatimazzahra Benchekri
Fatimazzahra is a master's student in educational technology at Laval University. Passionate about reading and writing, she has decided to devote her time to writing in a field in which she feels she is growing, education. With a background in journalism and political science, Fatimazzahra sees education as an ever-changing field where anyone is welcome to share their ideas and motivations.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

La comodalité : apprendre à combiner présence et distance

Quels sont les avantages de la comodalité? Quelles nuances est-il judicieux de prendre en considération lorsqu’on choisit ce format d’enseignement? Comment le vivre? Trois spécialistes de l’éducation ont échangé sur le sujet lors d’un panel de discussion présenté à l’occasion de la Semaine de la formation à distance,  en février 2022.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Par Fatimazzahra Benchekri

Quels sont les avantages de la comodalité? Quelles nuances est-il judicieux de prendre en considération lorsqu’on choisit ce format d’enseignement? Comment le vivre? Trois spécialistes de l’éducation ont échangé sur le sujet lors d’un panel de discussion présenté à l’occasion de la Semaine de la formation à distance,  en février 2022.

Lors du panel La comodalité : une combinaison unique de présence et de distance, Serge Gérin-lajoie, professeur à l’Université TÉLUQ et spécialiste en formation à distance, en formation en ligne et en enseignement supérieur, Normand Roy, professeur au département de psychopédagogie et d’andragogie à l’Université de Montréal et France Lafleur, professeure au département des sciences de l’éducation de l’université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, ont discuté librement de comodalité, une façon d’enseigner qui a gagné en popularité au cours des deux dernières années.

Qu’est-ce que la comodalité?

Selon l’Office québécois de la langue française, la comodalité désigne un enseignement ou une formation qui combine simultanément des modes en présentiel et à distance. Les deux modes se déroulent en même temps et les étudiants à distance ont la possibilité d’interagir en direct avec l’enseignant et les autres étudiants.          

Pour rappel, il existe jusqu’à maintenant quatre types de formation principaux : la formation en présence, à distance, hybride et comodale.

L’enseignement comodal présente des défis aussi bien techniques que pédagogiques. Cependant, la comodalité présente également des avantages qui profitent aux étudiants et aux enseignant(e)s, mais aussi aux établissements. Il permet notamment d’assurer une continuité pédagogique pour ces étudiant(e)s qui sont dans l’impossibilité de se présenter en classe, que ce soit pour des raisons de santé, de conditions météorologiques ou autres.

Quels sont les avantages de la comodalité?  

La comodalité permet principalement de faire vivre des expériences plus individualisées en fonction des besoins des étudiants. Pour les étudiants universitaires, la conciliation vie de famille, travail et études est facilité. L’économie de temps que les étudiants arrivent à faire en évitant les heures de transport serait l’un des principaux avantages.

France Lafleur affirme d’ailleurs que, depuis la démocratisation de la comodalité (principalement liée à la pandémie), le taux d’inscription à temps plein a augmenté dans les universités québécoises. Ce n’est pas pour rien que l’offre de cours à distance atteint des sommets, comme c’est le cas à l’Université du Québec à Montréal, tel que le rapportait récemment le quotidien Le Devoir.

Du côté des enseignants, la comodalité apparaît comme un nouvel outil de rétroaction, qui permet d’établir et de garder un lien avec les étudiants à distance, alors que plusieurs fonctionnalités technologiques sont à disposition. Ceux-ci donneraient à la comodalité un aspect interactif qui est, dans certains cas, absent même lors des cours en présentiel. France Lafleur parle de l’interactivité comme du « diamant de la formation à distance ».

Pour les établissements d’enseignement, la comodalité permet de cibler une clientèle variée et diverse, parfois située dans des zones géographiques lointaines (villes, régions, ou même pays).

Même pour les plus jeunes

Les panélistes n’ont pas qu’abordé le cas des étudiants universitaires. Ils ont aussi mentionné que, pour certains jeunes de niveaux primaire et secondaire, surtout ceux ayant des besoins particuliers ou d’autres conditions de santé (anxiété, santé mentale, parcours atypique, etc.), l’enseignement comodal peut s’avérer pertinent, utile et porteur.

De fait, il permet à ces jeunes de suivre le cours en direct, comme leurs autres camarades, tout étant physiquement dans une zone de confort (leur maison). Ainsi, la comodalité répondrait à la multiplication des parcours chez les jeunes.

Cohérence pédagonumérique

Pendant le webinaire, les modalités pour renforcer la cohérence pédagonumérique en formation à distance ont été évoquées à travers une recherche-action-formation. Les modalités se déclinent comme suit :

  1. Rendre accessible les ressources technologiques et numériques tant aux apprenants qu’aux enseignants.
  2. Utiliser un environnement numérique d’apprentissage afin de centraliser les pratiques des enseignants.
  3. Placer l’apprenant au cœur des réflexions, des choix et des décisions dans l’acte d’enseigner en comodalité.

De plus, ce lien étroit entre pédagogie et numérique donne une cohérence pédagonumérique où 4 éléments sont en perpétuelle interaction :

  1. Les modalités de la FAD
  2. Les stratégies d’enseignement
  3. Les cibles d’apprentissage
  4. Les activités d’évaluation

Tout en mettant en place ces pratiques, il faut néanmoins s’assurer que la distance n’altérera en rien la qualité d’un cours et, au contraire, facilitera sa déclinaison. De plus, la gestion du matériel est d’une importance cruciale lors de l’utilisation d’outils technologiques et est donc à prendre au sérieux et à vérifier constamment pour s’assurer du bon fonctionnement pour tous.

Le panel de discussion peut être revisionné ici : La comodalité : une combinaison unique de présence et de distance.  

Ressources complémentaires :

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Fatimazzahra Benchekri
Fatimazzahra Benchekri
Fatimazzahra est étudiante à la maîtrise en technologie éducative à l’université Laval. Passionnée par la lecture et la rédaction, elle a décidé de consacrer son temps à écrire dans un domaine au sein duquel elle se sent grandir, l’éducation. Ayant une expérience dans le journalisme et dans le monde des sciences politiques, Fatimazzahra voit en l’éducation un champ d’action en perpétuelle mouvance où toute personne est la bienvenue à partager ses idées et ses motivations.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :