California is thirsty!

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

The state of California has been experiencing an unparalleled drought for several hundred years. The Government is in the process of legislating so that the population abandons the idea of the American dream.
Classification of activities:

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

"State Governor Jerry Brown took emergency measures two weeks ago, particularly watering lawns, with a ban on watering them more than twice a week or on having jet systems. machines that squirt on sidewalks or driveways. "
Source: LaPresse.ca
“California is currently going through the worst drought in its history. The most populous state in the United States will take years to recover, making water an increasingly coveted resource. Enough to give life to a famous quote attributed to Mark Twain: "In California, whiskey is meant to be drunk, while water leads to brawl." "
Source: La Presse.ca
 


Goals

At the end of the activities, the student will be able to:
- Evaluate the impacts of drought on the population;
- Imagine solutions to avoid drought;
- Compare the Californian situation with that of other desert regions.
 


Suggested Activities

ACTIVITY 1: An alternative to water

Lack of water can force society to change its lifestyle and leisure time. It is important to make students aware of the importance of saving water - no matter where you live. The following activity should allow students to imagine alternatives to the use of water.
After viewing this video and read this item, ask the pupils - alone or in teams - to imagine other alternatives, than those proposed, to reduce their water consumption. The students will then be invited to develop an effective method to convince the population to reduce their consumption, without this being punitive.
Students will then be invited to present their results to the group.

 

ACTIVITY 2: The inhabited desert

Some areas of California have a desert climate (source Wikipedia), but these are also densely populated areas. This region is not the only one of its kind, several other deserts are also densely populated.
Using Google maps, ask students to locate the desert regions where a large population has chosen to settle. Once this location has been established, the students are invited to choose one and try to determine the reasons why the population settled there (presence of important natural resources, forced sedentarization, strategic location, etc. )
Students are invited to take turns presenting the results of their research.
 

ACTIVITY 3: The Californian situation

Using the following links, have students analyze why the situation in California is as it is right now. Students also have the opportunity to see the current impact of this drought on California territory.
California desperately needs the rain
Atlantico.fr
Before / after: The effects of drought in California
HuffingtonPost.fr
Historic drought in California: Obama wants to fight against global warming
LeMonde.fr
Drought in California: they paint their lawns green
HuffingtonPost.fr
Heat, drought and fires in California
Météo-Paris.com
California at a stalemate in development
The Underside of the Cards [video]
 


More about the magazine

Lawn Hunt is on in California
La Presse, August 24, 2014
Water rush in California
La Presse, August 27, 2014
Dead Sea: floods and drought
French CCTV.com
The Dead Sea under threat
Sciences et Avenir.fr

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

La Californie a soif!

Paru / Mis à jour le

L’État de la Californie vit une sécheresse sans pareil depuis plusieurs centaines d’années. Le Gouvernement est en train de légiférer pour que la population abandonne l’idée du rêve américain.

« Le gouverneur de l’État, Jerry Brown, a pris il y a deux semaines des mesures d’urgence visant particulièrement l’arrosage des pelouses, avec interdiction de les arroser plus de deux fois par semaine ou d’avoir des systèmes de jets automatiques qui giclent sur les trottoirs ou les allées. »
Source : LaPresse.ca
« La Californie traverse actuellement la pire sécheresse de son histoire. L’État le plus peuplé des États-Unis mettra des années à s’en remettre, ce qui fera de l’eau une ressource de plus en plus convoitée. De quoi donner vie à une citation célèbre attribuée à Mark Twain: «En Californie, le whiskey est destiné à être bu, tandis que l’eau conduit à la bagarre.» »
Source : La Presse.ca
 


Objectifs

À la fin des activités, l’élève sera capable de :
– Évaluer les impacts de la sécheresse sur la population;
– Imaginer des solutions pour éviter la sécheresse;
– Comparer la situation californienne à celle d’autres régions désertiques.
 


Suggestions d’activités

ACTIVITÉ 1 : Une alternative à l’eau

L’absence d’eau peut forcer la société à changer ses habitudes de vie et ses loisirs. Il est important de sensibiliser les élèves à l’importance de l’économie d’eau – et ce peu importe où l’on vit. L’activité suivante devrait permettre aux élèves d’imaginer des alternatives à l’utilisation de l’eau.
Après avoir visionné cette vidéo et lu cet article, demandez aux élèves – seuls ou en équipe – d’imaginer d’autres alternatives, que celles proposées, pour diminuer sa consommation d’eau. Les élèves seront ensuite invités à élaborer une méthode efficace pour convaincre la population de diminuer sa consommation, sans que ce soit punitif.
Les élèves seront ensuite invités à présenter leur résultat au groupe.

 

ACTIVITÉ 2 : Le désert habité

Certains secteurs de la Californie présentent un climat désertique (source Wikipédia), mais ce sont aussi des secteurs densément peuplés. Cette région n’est pas la seule en son genre, plusieurs autres déserts sont aussi densément peuplés.
À l’aide de Google Maps, demandez aux élèves de situer les régions désertiques où une importante population a choisi de s’établir. Une fois que cette localisation a été établie, les élèves sont invités à en choisir une et à essayer de déterminer les raisons pour lesquelles la population s’est installée à cet endroit (présence de ressources naturelles importantes, sédentarisation forcée, emplacement stratégique, etc.)
À tour de rôle, les élèves sont invités à présenter le résultat de leur recherche.
 

ACTIVITÉ 3 : La situation californienne

En consultant les liens suivants, demandez aux élèves d’analyser les raisons pour lesquelles la situation californienne est telle qu’elle est rendue en ce moment. Les élèves ont aussi la possibilité de voir l’impact actuel de cette sécheresse sur le territoire californien.
La Californie a désespérément besoin de pluie
Atlantico.fr
Avant / après : Les effets de la sécheresse en Californie
HuffingtonPost.fr
Sécheresse historique en Californie : Obama veut lutter contre le réchauffement
LeMonde.fr
Sécheresse en Californie : ils peignent leur pelouse en vert
HuffingtonPost.fr
Chaleur, sécheresse et incendies en Californie
Météo-Paris.com
Californie en impasse de développement
Le Dessous des Cartes [vidéo]
 


Pour en savoir plus

La Chasse aux pelouses est ouverte en Californie
La Presse, 24 août 2014
Ruée vers l’eau en Californie
La Presse, 27 août 2014
Mer Morte : inondations et sécheresse
CCTV.com français
La mer Morte menacée
Sciences et Avenir.fr

Classification des activités :

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Engagez vos élèves grâce à des contextes d'apprentissage motivants! Chaque parcours de pédagogie active SCOOP! propose d'abord une lecture prête à partager avec les élèves, puis des idées d'activités complémentaires pour l'enseignant. Arrimez facilement compétences disciplinaires et numériques!

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques correspondant aux textes!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

Par dimension de la compétence numérique

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Rejoignez-nous sur Facebook!

On y discute de pédagogie active!