Reversing the decline in biodiversity by 2050?

Published / Updated on

The finding is disturbing and unequivocal: two-thirds of wildlife has disappeared in less than 50 years. This shocking statement from the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) sends a red flag that mainly implicates human activity. Around the world, scientists are watching for warning signs of a sixth, most devastating extinction since the dinosaurs. Unless there is a drastic change in the pattern of human consumption, nature will continue its deep decline. Insights into the roles humans can play in preserving biodiversity.
 

The finding is disturbing and unequivocal: two-thirds of wildlife has disappeared in less than 50 years. This shocking statement from the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) sends an alarm signal that mainly involves human activity. We are talking about 4,000 species of vertebrates, divided into 21,000 animal populations around the world which have disappeared following the destruction of their natural habitat, especially for agriculture.

Around the world, scientists are watching for warning signs of a sixth extinction, said to be the most devastating since the fall of the asteroid that wiped out the dinosaurs. Already a million species are threatened and the pace continues to increase. Unless there is a drastic change in the pattern of human consumption, nature will continue its deep decline:

“In an unprecedented report released on Monday, the UN Biodiversity Expert Group (IPBES) paints a grim picture of the future of humans, who depend on nature to breathe, drink, eat, heat or heal. Deforestation, intensive agriculture, overfishing, rampant urbanization, mines: 75 % of the terrestrial environment has been seriously affected by human activities and 66 % of the marine environment is also affected. "

Radio-Canada, May 6, 2019

This sixth announced extinction is the first which is directly related to the habits of humans. It is also the first that could be stopped if concrete and lasting actions are taken quickly. A study published in the journal Nature entitled “Inflecting the curve” models a series of possible action scenarios, to preserve nature or species, but also to reduce the footprint of agricultural production or human consumption, in particular of products from animal husbandry:

"The most ambitious, which combines all these interventions, allows us to estimate that it is possible to reverse the decline of biodiversity by 2050," explains David Leclère, researcher at the International institute for applied system analysis (IIASA ) and lead author of the study. "

La Presse, September 9, 2020

"It is not too late to act, but only if we start doing it now, by effecting transformative change in our society to slow down the drivers of biodiversity loss which threatens humans at least as much as climate change. , also believes Robert Watson. "

Radio-Canada, May 6, 2019

“There are solutions to be able to protect our biodiversity and take the right fork for the future of humanity. One of these solutions is to create protected areas, to increase the percentage of the surface areas of our habitats that are protected, adds specialist Alain Branchaud. "

VAT news, July 12, 2017

Your challenge

You have access here to a list of articles on everything related to the sixth mass extinction. Pick one that appeals to you and produce a mind map on Popplet, for example, to bring out the important elements. You could also decide to create a sketchnote to summarize the article and thus make your thinking visible. To do this you can use Tayasui Sketches.


 

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!


Back to the guides reception

SCOOP! this is...
 

Engage your students through motivating learning contexts! Each active pedagogy path SCOOP! first offers a reading ready to share with the students, then ideas for complementary activities for the teacher. Easily tie in disciplinary and digital skills!

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide the advertisements and see the educational activities corresponding to the texts!

Find a guide ...

Guide index

For primary classes

For secondary classes

By dimension of digital competence

So you don't miss a thing

Receive an email alert when a new one is published SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Inverser le déclin de la biodiversité d’ici 2050?

Paru le

 

La constatation est troublante et sans équivoque : les deux-tiers de la faune sauvage ont disparu en moins de 50 ans. Cette déclaration choc du Fonds mondial pour la nature (WWF) envoie un signal d’alarme qui met principalement en cause l’activité humaine. On parle d’environ 4000 espèces de vertébrés, réparties en 21 000 populations d’animaux à travers le monde qui ont disparu suite à la destruction de leur habitat naturel, notamment pour l’agriculture.

Partout dans le monde, des scientifiques surveillent les signes avant-coureurs d’une sixième extinction, qui serait la plus dévastatrice depuis la chute de l’astéroïde qui a fait disparaître les dinosaures. Déjà, un million d’espèces sont menacées et le rythme continue d’augmenter. À moins d’un changement drastique dans le modèle de consommation de l’homme, la nature poursuivra son profond déclin :

« Dans un rapport sans précédent publié lundi, le groupe d’experts de l’ONU sur la biodiversité (IPBES) peint un tableau sombre de l’avenir de l’être humain, qui dépend de la nature pour respirer, boire, manger, se chauffer ou se soigner. Déforestation, agriculture intensive, surpêche, urbanisation galopante, mines : 75 % de l’environnement terrestre a été gravement altéré par les activités humaines et 66 % de l’environnement marin est également touché. »

Radio-Canada, 6 mai 2019

Cette sixième extinction annoncée est la première qui est liée directement aux habitudes des humains. C’est aussi la première qui pourrait être arrêtée si des actions concrètes et durables sont posées rapidement. Une étude parue dans la revue Nature intitulée « Infléchir la courbe » modélise une série de scénarios d’actions possibles, pour préserver la nature ou les espèces, mais aussi réduire l’empreinte de la production agricole ou de la consommation humaine, notamment de produits issus de l’élevage animal :

« Le plus ambitieux, qui combine toutes ces interventions, nous permet d’estimer qu’il est possible d’inverser le déclin de la biodiversité d’ici 2050, explique David Leclère, chercheur à l’International institute for applied system analysis (IIASA) et auteur principal de l’étude. »

La Presse, 9 septembre 2020

« Il n’est pas trop tard pour agir, mais seulement si nous commençons à le faire maintenant, en opérant un changement transformateur de notre société pour ralentir les moteurs de la perte de biodiversité qui menace l’homme au moins autant que le changement climatique, estime également Robert Watson. »

Radio-Canada, 6 mai 2019

« Il y a des solutions pour pouvoir protéger notre biodiversité et prendre la fourche qui est la bonne pour le futur de l’humanité. L’une de ces solutions c’est de créer des aires protégées, d’augmenter le pourcentage des superficies de nos habitats qui sont protégés, ajoute le spécialiste Alain Branchaud. »

TVA nouvelles, 12 juillet 2017

Ton défi

Tu as accès ici à une liste d’articles sur tout ce qui touche la sixième extinction de masse. Choisis-en un qui t’interpelle et produis une carte mentale sur Popplet, par exemple, pour en faire ressortir les éléments importants. Tu pourrais également décider de créer un sketchnote pour résumer l’article et ainsi rendre ta pensée visible. Pour ce faire, tu peux utiliser Tayasui Sketches.


 

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!


Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Bombardier : que reste-t-il de ce fleuron québécois? 

Bombardier fait parler d’elle depuis plusieurs mois, mais les dernières semaines ont été hautes en rebondissements, surtout pour deux acteurs importants de son «catalogue» : Bombardier Transport et les avions du programme A220 (autrefois C Series). Regards sur les tenants et aboutissants de la restructuration de cette entreprise québécoise.

Rétrospective 2013 et prévisions pour 2014

L’année 2013 vient tout juste de se terminer. Voyons de plus près les événements marquants de cette année et tentons de voir ceux qui auront lieu en 2014.

Campagne de sensibilisation sur la santé mentale

Un adolescent, Brett Rothery, a lancé une campagne de sensibilisation sur la santé mentale qui attire l'attention à travers le Canada. Allons voir de plus près comment Twitter a contribué à cette réussite.