Get girls interested in computer science by arranging classes differently?

Current data shows that girls are on the whole less interested than boys in computer science. Could stereotypes and the layout of computer classrooms have something to do with it?

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Current data shows that girls are on the whole less interested than boys in computer science. Could stereotypes and the layout of computer classrooms have something to do with it?

Allison Master, Sapna Cheryan and Andrew N. Meltzoff , at the University of Washington, studied the impact of classroom design on girls' interest in computer science. As part of their work, they presented photos of a computer class to high school students. In one case, these classes wanted to be stereotyped from the current representation of the computer world. The class thus consisted of, for example, computer parts and equipment and posters from Star Trek. In the other case, these classes were intended to be a non-stereotypical representation of the computer world, and were decorated with art objects and posters depicting nature.

The students were then invited to answer various questions. Among other things, they were asked which class they preferred and their interest in enrolling in a computer course. They were also called to express themselves on the feeling of belonging to the world of computing.

The results indicate that girls prefer the representation of the non-stereotypical computer class in a proportion of 68 %. But the most interesting data is this: the proportion of girls saying they are interested in registering for a computer course in a class considered as non-stereotypical is three times higher than that wishing to take a course in a class considered as non-stereotypical. stereotype.

For their part, the boys did not show a preference for one or the other of the classes. Unlike girls, their interest in taking a computer course does not seem to have been influenced by this variable.

According to the researchers, the results of the study show that changing stereotypes can play a positive role in developing girls' interest in computer science. By extension, it could also spark their interest in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

The research article, titled Computing Whether She Belongs: Stereotypes Undermine Girls' Interest and Sense of Belonging in Computer Science, was published in the Journal of Educational Psychology in August 2015.

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Dominic Leblanc
Dominic leblanc
A graduate in sociology, Dominic Leblanc is an educational advisor in the Programs and Educational Development Department of the Cégep régional de Lanaudière in L'Assomption.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Intéresser les filles aux sciences informatiques en aménageant les classes autrement?

Les données actuelles démontrent que les filles sont dans l’ensemble moins intéressées que les garçons par les sciences informatiques. Les stéréotypes et l’aménagement des salles de classe informatiques y seraient-ils pour quelque chose?

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Les données actuelles démontrent que les filles sont dans l’ensemble moins intéressées que les garçons par les sciences informatiques. Les stéréotypes et l’aménagement des salles de classe informatiques y seraient-ils pour quelque chose?

Allison Master, Sapna Cheryan et Andrew N. Meltzoff , de l’Université de Washington, ont étudié l’impact de l’aménagement des classes sur l’intérêt des filles pour les sciences informatiques. Dans le cadre de leurs travaux, ils présentaient des photos d’une classe informatique à des élèves du secondaire. Dans un cas, ces classes se voulaient stéréotypées à partir de la représentation courante du monde de l’informatique. La classe était ainsi constituée, par exemple, de pièces et de matériel informatique et d’affiches de Star Trek. Dans l’autre cas, ces classes se voulaient une représentation non stéréotypée du monde de l’informatique, et était décorée avec des objets d’art et des affiches représentant la nature.

Les élèves étaient par la suite invités à répondre à différentes questions. On leur demandait, entre autres, quelle classe ils préféraient ainsi que leur intérêt à s’inscrire à un cours d’informatique. Ils étaient aussi appelés à s’exprimer sur le sentiment d’appartenance au monde de l’informatique.

Les résultats indiquent que les filles préfèrent la représentation de la classe informatique non stéréotypée dans une proportion de 68 %. Mais la donnée la plus intéressante est celle-ci : la proportion de filles se disant intéressées à s’inscrire à un cours d’informatique dans une classe considérée comme non stéréotypée est trois fois supérieure à celle désirant suivre un cours dans une classe considérée comme stéréotypée.

De leur côté, les garçons n’ont pas manifesté de préférence pour l’une ou l’autre des classes. Contrairement aux filles, leur intérêt à suivre un cours d’informatique ne semble pas avoir été influencé par cette variable.

Selon les chercheurs, les résultats de l’étude démontrent que le fait de changer les stéréotypes peut participer positivement à développer l’intérêt des filles pour les sciences informatiques. Par extension, cela pourrait également susciter leur intérêt pour le domaine des sciences, technologies, ingénierie et mathématiques (STIM).

L’article de recherche, intitulé Computing Whether She Belongs : Stereotypes Undermine Girls’ Interest and Sense of Belonging in Computer Science, a été publié dans le Journal of Educational Psychology en août 2015.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Dominic Leblanc
Diplômé en sociologie, Dominic Leblanc est conseiller pédagogique au Service des programmes et du développement pédagogique du Cégep régional de Lanaudière à L'Assomption.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :