Instagram: gateway to museums

Published / Updated on

Museums have found a new winger despite themselves: Instagram. The proliferation of self-portraits featuring works of art allows museums to reach a new clientele. Zoom on a phenomenon in full expansion.

Who never went on Instagram to watch and maybe envy her favorite celebrity's new haircut, her best friend's exotic trip or the appetizing dinner of the new couple of the hour? Well now, you can add the selfie of your sister-in-law with The Mona Lisa in your likes, because museums around the world are opening their doors wide to unexpected publicity for them: the photos on Instagram

“Instagram has given museums an extraordinary promotional boost. It creates a ripple effect… Digital will never replace experience, and the selfie is proof that you were there. ”

Source: La Presse, November 5, 2018

Museums are therefore seeing their popularity increase among the youngest who are constantly looking for the perfect setting to take their picture. Joining the useful with the pleasant is the expression which seems quite appropriate here to speak about a tendency which brings people to discover works while taking the opportunity to embellish their page Instagram. Moreover, the Musée d'art contemporain and the Arsenal de Montréal are taking full advantage of this new lease of life, they who have more than doubled their subscribers on social networks in the past year.

“This has significantly contributed to increasing the reputation of the museum and the influence of our exhibitions. You can show the dynamism, culture and life of the museum and even develop a family and an ecosystem. ”

Source: La Presse, November 5, 2018

Among our neighbors to the south, the trend has been pushed even further with the appearance of original public places specially designed for taking photos named museums Instagram. These pop-up interactives showcase some crazier scenery than the next where all the themes go through. Candy, dog, illusion, pizza, ice cream, horror, rain ... Tens of thousands of people line up for hours to photograph themselves in one or other of these most popular concepts. InstagrammableCan we see these attractions as having true artistic merit to the height of a museum or are they just really beautiful selfie backdrops? The question arises… Paige Solomon, creator of one of these museums Instagramsaid to have difficulty defining the genre but is unequivocal on the above question:

“Personally, I think it's a crime to say that you're a museum. But at the same time, the public wants to understand what we are and it's the closest thing to which we can be compared ”

Source: La Presse, November 5, 2018

The educational tracks are reserved for teachers subscribed to SCOOP !, by the École branchée.

if you are already a subscriber or learn more here!
Classification of activities:

Back to the guides reception

SCOOP! this is...
 

Engage your students through motivating learning contexts! Each active pedagogy path SCOOP! first offers a reading ready to share with the students, then ideas for complementary activities for the teacher. Easily tie in disciplinary and digital skills!

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide the advertisements and see the educational activities corresponding to the texts!

Find a guide ...

Guide index

For primary classes

For secondary classes

By dimension of digital competence

So you don't miss a thing

Receive an email alert when a new one is published SCOOP! :

D & #x27; other activity guides to discover

Join us on Facebook!

We discuss active pedagogy!

Instagram : porte d’entrée pour les musées

Paru le

Qui n’est jamais allé sur Instagram pour regarder et peut-être jalouser la nouvelle coupe de cheveux de sa vedette préférée, le voyage dépaysant de son meilleur ami ou le souper appétissant du nouveau couple de l’heure ? Et bien maintenant, vous pourrez ajouter l’égoportrait de votre belle-soeur avec La Joconde dans vos likes, car les musées à travers le monde ouvrent grandes leurs portes à une publicité inespérée pour eux : les photos sur Instagram

«Instagram a donné un souffle promotionnel extraordinaire aux musées. Cela crée un effet d’entraînement… Le numérique ne remplacera jamais l’expérience, et le selfie est la preuve que tu étais sur place.»

Source: La Presse, 5 novembre 2018

Les musées voient donc leur cote de popularité augmenter chez les plus jeunes qui recherchent sans cesse le décor parfait pour se prendre en photo. Joindre l’utile à l’agréable est l’expression qui semble toute désignée ici pour parler d’une tendance qui amène les gens à découvrir des oeuvres tout en profitant de l’occasion pour embellir leur page Instagram. D’ailleurs, le Musée d’art contemporain et l’Arsenal de Montréal profitent pleinement de ce nouveau souffle, eux qui ont plus que doublé leurs abonnés sur les réseaux sociaux dans la dernière année.

«Cela a contribué de façon significative à augmenter la notoriété du musée et le rayonnement de nos expositions. On peut montrer le dynamisme, la culture et la vie du musée et même développer une famille et un écosystème.»

Source: La Presse, 5 novembre 2018

Chez nos voisins du Sud, la tendance a été poussée encore plus loin avec l’apparition de lieux publics originaux conçus spécialement pour la prise de photos nommés musées Instagram. Ces pop-up interactifs mettent en scène des décors plus fous les uns que les autres où tous les thèmes y passent. Bonbon, chien, illusion, pizza, crème glacée, horreur, pluie… Des dizaines de milliers de personnes font la file pendant des heures pour se photographier dans l’un ou l’autre de ces concepts des plus instagrammablesPouvons-nous considérer ces attractions comme ayant une véritable valeur artistique à la hauteur d’un musée ou ce sont simplement de très beaux décors à égoportraits? La question se pose… Paige Solomon, créatrice d’un de ces musées Instagramdit avoir de la difficulté à définir le genre mais est sans équivoque sur la question ci-haut:

«Personnellement, je pense que c’est un crime de dire qu’on est un musée. Mais en même temps, le public veut comprendre ce que nous sommes et c’est la chose la plus proche à laquelle on peut nous comparer»

Source: La Presse, 5 novembre 2018

Les pistes pédagogiques sont réservées aux enseignant(e)s abonnés à SCOOP!, par l’École branchée.

si vous êtes déjà abonné(e) ou apprenez-en plus ici!

Retour à l'accueil des guides

SCOOP! c'est...
 


L'actualité résumée pour les jeunes.

+

Des idées d'activités pour l'enseignant(e)!

 
 

Chaque guide de la collection SCOOP! propose une situation de lecture comme mise en contexte, puis des idées variées pour la classe. L'approche permet d'arrimer compétences disciplinaires et compétence numérique, tout en éduquant aux médias!

Chercher un guide...

Index des guides

Pour le primaire

Pour le secondaire

D'autres guides d'activités à découvrir

Le personnage de BD Archie mourra cet été

L'éditeur Archie Comics a annoncé dernièrement que leur célèbre personnage de bande dessinée, Archie Andrews, était pour mourir héroïquement dans l’épisode de juillet 2014. Qui est Archie et quelle fin les auteurs de la série lui réservent-ils?

Un homme-ordures milite pour la cause environnementale

À New-York, un homme porte sur lui les déchets qu’il génère depuis près de deux semaines. Son objectif? Sensibiliser la population sur la quantité de déchets générés par les Américains chaque jour.

Une solution citoyenne pour la tordeuse d’épinette

Une épidémie qui fait des ravages depuis des décennies sur le territoire de l’Amérique du Nord pourrait être ralentie, même stoppée, à l’aide de l’action de citoyens.