Global climate strike September 27, 2019

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

Several initiatives are being organized around the world to put the fight against climate change and all the impacts caused by global warming to the fore. Young people, with Greta Thunberg as standard bearer, are taking more and more place in the offensive that is being waged, knowing more than anyone that they represent the future and that they will have to assume the consequences of the announced changes. On September 27, 2019, a global climate strike will therefore be the culmination of a week of major actions for the environment.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

Several initiatives are being organized around the world to put the fight against climate change and all the impacts caused by global warming to the fore. Whether the " Pact for transition »Initiated by several personalities from Quebec, the climate clock at Concordia University telling us that it is one to midnight, " The Case of the Century »In France which wants to be a climate justice campaign or this 16-year-old Swedish girl named Greta Thunberg who has been around the media since the speech she delivered at COP24 (intergovernmental meeting for the climate). We recently learned that this same ecologist, standard bearer of a global environmentalist movement, was going to be in Montreal during the climate strike being organized on September 27, 2019.

Source: Twitter

Indeed, on September 27, we will experience the culmination of the International Climate Week, initiated by Global Climate Strike and several environmental groups from around the world. It is therefore at this time that all workers and students will be invited to take to the streets to show their union for this cause.

“IN CANADA, GLOBAL WARMING IS OCCURING TWICE AS FAST AS IN THE REST OF THE WORLD. IN JANUARY, THE PLANET STARTED TO MOBILIZE. TODAY THE POPULATION IS CALLED ON TO TAKE UP THE ENVIRONMENTAL FIGHT”, EXPLAINED THE SPOKESPERSON FOR THE PLANET INVITED TO PARLIAMENT, FRANÇOIS GEOFFROY.

Source: La Presse, September 10, 2019

In Quebec, demonstrations are organized in 17 cities, including Gatineau, Montreal, Quebec, Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières, Saguenay, etc. Internationally, 1,001 cities in 84 countries have announced that they are taking part in the international week of action against climate change.

Young people are taking up more and more space in the offensive being waged, knowing more than anyone else that they represent the future and that they will have to bear the consequences of the announced changes.

“MANY YOUNG PEOPLE HAVE CHOSEN THE PATH OF JUSTICE TO MAKE THEMSELVES HEARD. LEGAL PROCEEDINGS HAVE BEEN FILED IN THE USA, IN BELGIUM AND IN THE NEDERLANDS. YOUNG QUEBECERS HAVE IN TURN ANNOUNCED THEY WANT TO SUE THE GOVERNMENT OF CANADA FOR ITS INACTION IN THE FIGHT AGAINST CLIMATE CHANGE: L'ORGANISME ENVIRONNEMENT JEUNESSE FILED IN NOVEMBER A REQUEST FOR AUTHORIZATION TO THE SUPERIOR COURT OF QUEBEC FOR A CLASS ACTION, ON BEHALF OF ALL YOUNG QUEBECERS AGED 35 AND UNDER. »

Source: Agence Science-Presse, January 16, 2019

The environmental issues in question here are closely linked to the social, legal, political and above all economic aspects of our society:

“MAJOR CLIMATE CHANGES WILL NEED TO BE IF GLOBAL WARMING IS NOT TO EXCEED 2 DEGREES DURING THIS CENTURY, BUT WE WILL ALSO NEED MORE CONSIDERABLE FINANCIAL INVESTMENTS, REPORTED A RECENT 400-PAGE REPORT BY THE INTERGOVERNMENTAL PANEL ON CLIMATE CHANGE (IPCC). »

Source: Agence Science-Presse, November 28, 2018

Your challenge

Invite students to test their knowledge of the causes and consequences of climate change by answering this quiz!


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Disciplines and levels targeted

- Science and technology (lower secondary)

  • Earth and Space: Climate Change

- Ethics and religious culture (2nd cycle of secondary)

  • Reflecting on ethical questions: the future of humanity

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Act as an ethical citizen in the digital age
  • Communicating via digital technology
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy
  • Producing content with digital
  • Collaborate digitally

Suggested digital tools

  • Kahoot
  • Blogger
  • Wix
  • Padlet
  • Middlespot
  • Facebook
  • Mentimeter
  • Edpuzzle

Educational intention of the guide

At the end of these activities, the student will be able to form an opinion on climate change based, among other things, on scientific and technological principles.

Objectives of the activities

  • Read a documentary file on global warming and create a quiz associated with it;
  • Explore the “Together, let’s accelerate the energy transition” Facebook group to choose a topic and explore it further when writing a blog;
  • Learn about the arguments and the vision of climate skeptics;
  • Edit a video on climate change to make it interactive;
  • Understand the causes and consequences of heat islands.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Grève climatique mondiale le 27 septembre 2019

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Plusieurs initiatives s'organisent à travers le monde afin de mettre à l'avant-plan la lutte aux changements climatiques et tous les impacts engendrés par le réchauffement de notre planète. Les jeunes, avec Greta Thunberg comme porte-étendard, prennent de plus en plus de place dans l'offensive qui est menée, en sachant plus que quiconque qu'ils représentent l'avenir et qu'ils devront assumer les conséquences des changements annoncés. Le 27 septembre 2019, une grève climatique mondiale sera donc le point culminant d'une semaine d'actions majeures pour l'environnement.

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Plusieurs initiatives s’organisent à travers le monde afin de mettre à l’avant-plan la lutte aux changements climatiques et tous les impacts engendrés par le réchauffement de notre planète. Que ce soit le « Pacte pour la transition » initié par plusieurs personnalités du Québec, l’horloge climatique de l’Université de Concordia nous annonçant qu’il est minuit moins une, « l’Affaire du siècle » en France qui se veut une campagne de justice climatique ou cette jeune Suédoise de 16 ans nommée Greta Thunberg qui fait le tour des médias depuis le discours qu’elle a livré à la COP24 (rencontre intergouvernementale pour le climat). On apprenait récemment que cette même écologiste, porte-étendard d’un mouvement environnementaliste mondial, allait être de passage à Montréal lors de la grève pour le climat qui s’organise le 27 septembre 2019.

Source : Twitter

En effet, le 27 septembre, nous vivrons le point culminant de la semaine internationale pour le climat, initiée par Global Climate Strike et plusieurs groupes écologistes de partout à travers le monde. C’est donc à ce moment que l’ensemble des travailleurs et des étudiants seront invités à sortir dans les rues pour démontrer leur union pour cette cause.

« AU CANADA, LE RÉCHAUFFEMENT CLIMATIQUE A LIEU DEUX FOIS PLUS VITE QUE DANS LE RESTE DU MONDE. EN JANVIER, LA PLANÈTE A COMMENCÉ À SE MOBILISER. ON APPELLE AUJOURD’HUI LA POPULATION À S’EMPARER DE LA LUTTE ENVIRONNEMENTALE », A EXPLIQUÉ LE PORTE-PAROLE DE LA PLANÈTE S’INVITE AU PARLEMENT, FRANÇOIS GEOFFROY.

Source : La Presse, 10 septembre 2019

Au Québec, des manifestations s’organisent dans 17 villes, dont Gatineau, Montréal, Québec, Sherbrooke, Trois-Rivières, Saguenay, etc. À l’échelle internationale, 1001 villes dans 84 pays ont annoncé prendre part à la semaine internationale d’actions contre les changements climatiques.

Les jeunes prennent de plus en plus de place dans l’offensive qui est menée, en sachant plus que quiconque qu’ils représentent l’avenir et qu’ils devront assumer les conséquences des changements annoncés.

« DE NOMBREUX JEUNES ONT PAR AILLEURS CHOISI LA VOIE DE LA JUSTICE POUR SE FAIRE ENTENDRE. DES POURSUITES JUDICIAIRES ONT ÉTÉ DÉPOSÉES AUX ÉTATS-UNIS, EN BELGIQUE ET AUX PAYS-BAS. DE JEUNES QUÉBÉCOIS ONT ANNONCÉ À LEUR TOUR VOULOIR POURSUIVRE LE GOUVERNEMENT DU CANADA POUR SON INACTION DANS LA LUTTE AUX CHANGEMENTS CLIMATIQUES : L’ORGANISME ENVIRONNEMENT JEUNESSE A DÉPOSÉ EN NOVEMBRE UNE DEMANDE D’AUTORISATION À LA COUR SUPÉRIEURE DU QUÉBEC POUR UNE ACTION COLLECTIVE, AU NOM DE TOUS LES JEUNES QUÉBÉCOIS DE 35 ANS ET MOINS. »

Source : Agence Science-Presse, 16 janvier 2019

Les enjeux environnementaux dont il est question ici sont intimement liés aux aspects sociaux, juridiques, politiques et surtout économiques de notre société :

« EN MATIÈRE DE CLIMAT, LES CHANGEMENTS DEVRONT ÊTRE MAJEURS SI ON VEUT QUE LE RÉCHAUFFEMENT PLANÉTAIRE NE DÉPASSE PAS 2 DEGRÉS AU COURS DE CE SIÈCLE, MAIS IL FAUDRA AUSSI DES INVESTISSEMENTS FINANCIERS PLUS CONSÉQUENTS RAPPORTAIT UN RÉCENT RAPPORT DE 400 PAGES DU GROUPE INTERGOUVERNEMENTAL SUR L’ÉVOLUTION DU CLIMAT (GIEC). »

Source : Agence Science-Presse, 28 novembre 2018

Ton défi

Invitez les élèves à tester leurs connaissances sur les causes et conséquences des changements climatiques en répondant à ce quiz!


 

SUGGESTIONS D’ACTIVITÉS 

Disciplines et niveaux visés

– Science et technologie (1er cycle du secondaire)

  • Terre et espace : les changements climatiques

– Éthique et culture religieuse (2e cycle du secondaire)

  • Réfléchir sur des questions éthiques : l’avenir de l’humanité

Dimensions de la compétence numérique ciblées

  • Agir en citoyen éthique à l’ère du numérique
  • Communiquer à l’aide du numérique
  • Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle
  • Produire du contenu avec le numérique
  • Collaborer à l’aide du numérique

Outils numériques suggérés

  • Kahoot
  • Blogger
  • Wix
  • Padlet
  • Middlespot
  • Facebook
  • Mentimeter
  • Edpuzzle

Intention pédagogique du guide

Au terme de ces activités, l’élève sera en mesure de se forger une opinion sur les changements climatiques en s’appuyant, entre autres, sur des principes scientifiques et technologiques.

Objectifs des activités

  • Prendre connaissance d’un dossier documentaire sur le réchauffement climatique et créer un quiz qui y est associé;
  • Explorer le groupe Facebook « Ensemble, accélérons la transition énergétique » pour y choisir un sujet et l’approfondir lors de l’écriture d’un blogue;
  • Se documenter sur les arguments et la vision des climatosceptiques;
  • Modifier une vidéo sur les changements climatique pour la rendre interactive;
  • Comprendre les causes et les conséquences des îlots de chaleur.

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir