From Facebook to Meta

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

In the following activities, we learn about Mark Zuckerberg and invent a back cover of his biography. And while talking about applications appreciated by young and old, we are interested in the application design process keeping in mind the importance of the notion of inclusion in design.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

In recent weeks, Facebook inc. announced that she was becoming Meta. What concrete impact on user accounts? No. In fact, the social media giant changed its business name to stand out from the name of the Facebook app, which it will remain, as the company also has other platforms like Instagram and Whatsapp. 

Why Meta? 

“Earlier this year, Meta CEO Mark Zuckerberg announced he wanted to build the Metaverse. The metaverse is the extension of the virtual world to the real world. And Meta wants to be part of this new vision of the Internet, where we are no longer just Internet spectators, but also a stakeholder. " 

Source: Radio-Canada

For now, this change, which has taken a lot of space in the news of the various media, does not seem to affect us, but what will it be in a few months, or a few years?

Until then, let's use this news as a pretext for interesting activities to be enjoyed with the students!

 

Suggested Activities

In the following activities, we learn about Mark Zuckerberg and invent a back cover of his biography. And while talking about applications appreciated by young and old, we are interested in the application design process while keeping in mind the importance of the notion of inclusion in design.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides! Click here to find out more!

SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

De Facebook à Meta

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Dans les activités qui suivent, on se documente à propos de Mark Zuckerberg et on invente une quatrième de couverture de biographie. Et tant qu'à parler d'applications appréciées des jeunes et moins jeunes, on s'intéresse au processus de conception d'applications en gardant en tête l'importance de la notion d'inclusion dans le design.

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Dans les dernières semaines, Facebook inc. a annoncé qu’elle devenait Meta. Quel impact concret sur les comptes des utilisateurs? Aucun. En fait, le géant des réseaux sociaux a changé son nom d’entreprise pour se distinguer du nom de l’application Facebook, qui elle demeurera, car la compagnie possède également d’autres plateformes comme Instagram et Whatsapp. 

Pourquoi Meta? 

« Plus tôt cette année, le PDG de Meta, Mark Zuckerberg a annoncé qu’il voulait bâtir le métavers. Le métavers, c’est l’extension du monde virtuel vers le monde réel. Et Meta veut faire partie de cette nouvelle vision d’Internet, où on n’est plus seulement spectateurs d’Internet, mais aussi partie prenante. » 

Source : Radio-Canada

Pour l’instant, ce changement, qui a pris beaucoup de place dans les nouvelles des différents médias, ne semble pas nous affecter, mais qu’en sera-t-il dans quelques mois, ou quelques années?

D’ici là, partons de cette nouvelle comme prétexte à d’intéressantes activités à vivre avec les élèves!

 

Suggestions d’activités

Dans les activités qui suivent, on se documente à propos de Mark Zuckerberg et on invente une quatrième de couverture de biographie. Et tant qu’à parler d’applications appréciées des jeunes et moins jeunes, on s’intéresse au processus de conception d’applications en gardant en tête l’importance de la notion d’inclusion dans le design.

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École! Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus!

SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir