ADVERTISEMENT

Facebook at school, why not?

Joliette - Yves Thibault has been teaching plastic arts in Joliette for 7 years. During these years, he developed a special link with the Joliette Art Museum, which he and his students visit every year. When the head of educational services heard about the Young Curators of the Future project, she immediately thought of the fifth secondary students of the plastic arts concentration at Barthélémy-Joliette school who have agreed to use Facebook as a working tool.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Joliette - Yves Thibault has been teaching plastic arts in Joliette for 7 years. During these years, he developed a special link with the Joliette Art Museum, which he and his students visit every year. When the head of educational services heard about the Young Curators of the Future project, she immediately thought of the fifth secondary students of the plastic arts concentration at Barthélémy-Joliette school who have agreed to use Facebook as a working tool.

As part of the 2010 Shanghai World Expo, some sixty Canadian students took part in this project on the museum profession. They had to choose a work, do a search, put together a conservation file and even create a new work from the first. The work of the young people will be available online very soon and will be presented in the Canadian pavilion at the World Fair.

So why Facebook? “To communicate with other participants, comment on their work and ask questions,” explains teacher Yves Thibault. The Samares school board allowed us to unblock the Facebook site on the school computers for the 10 participants in the project, on the sole condition of reassuring parents about the confidentiality settings. "

The parents of the participants therefore all received a letter explaining how to protect the personal information of children on the networking site: do not enter the sex and date of birth, do not display a photo, etc. Only the name of the school could appear in the personal information. Several young people already had a Facebook profile that they had to modify during the project.

The final Internet platform, developed by a multimedia agency, shows some delays in going online. However, only an avatar and a first name will be used to identify users. Participants will not be able to be contacted by visitors to the website.

The use of Facebook in the classroom still required some adjustments: “Young people only use Facebook for fun, they don't know how to use it as a work tool,” explains Mr. Thibault. He also notes that the students, despite what one might think, have little technical knowledge. “If I had to do it again, I would take more time to clarify the goals of using Facebook. It's not like going to read our friends' profiles for five minutes at night… It's really a working tool that you have to know how to use as such. "

This project is also a good opportunity to make young people aware of Internet safety. “Young people sometimes believe that Facebook is magic. However, they must understand that email or telephone are, in certain situations, more appropriate to ensure confidentiality, ”explains Yves Thibault, who has not received any complaints from parents regarding the project.

For the students of Barthélémy-Joliette high school, the project is now over. Even if they leave high school in a few days, Yves Thibault hopes that Facebook will allow him to stay in touch with his former students and to continue to follow their projects.

To know more : http://www.museejoliette.org
The link to the final platform will be available on the school's website: http://recit.cssamares.qc.ca/bjoliette/

By Marie-Philippe Gagnon-Hamelin

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Facebook à l’école, pourquoi pas?

Joliette - Yves Thibault enseigne les arts plastiques à Joliette depuis 7 ans. Durant ces années, il a développé un lien particulier avec le Musée d’art de Joliette, que ses élèves et lui visitent chaque année. Lorsque la responsable des services éducatifs a entendu parler du projet Jeunes conservateurs du futur, elle a donc tout de suite pensé aux élèves de cinquième secondaire de la concentration en arts plastiques de l’école Barthélémy-Joliette qui ont accepté d’utiliser Facebook comme outil de travail.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)
ANNONCE

Joliette – Yves Thibault enseigne les arts plastiques à Joliette depuis 7 ans. Durant ces années, il a développé un lien particulier avec le Musée d’art de Joliette, que ses élèves et lui visitent chaque année. Lorsque la responsable des services éducatifs a entendu parler du projet Jeunes conservateurs du futur, elle a donc tout de suite pensé aux élèves de cinquième secondaire de la concentration en arts plastiques de l’école Barthélémy-Joliette qui ont accepté d’utiliser Facebook comme outil de travail.

Dans le cadre de l’exposition universelle de Shanghai 2010, une soixantaine d’élèves canadiens ont participé à ce projet sur la profession muséale. Ils devaient choisir une œuvre, faire une recherche, monter un dossier de conservation et même créer une nouvelle œuvre à partir de la première. Les travaux des jeunes seront accessibles en ligne très bientôt et seront présentés dans le pavillon canadien de l’exposition universelle.

Alors pourquoi Facebook? « Pour communiquer avec les autres participants, commenter leurs travaux et poser des questions, explique l’enseignant Yves Thibault. La commission scolaire des Samares nous a permis de débloquer le site Facebook sur les ordinateurs de l’école pour les 10 participants du projet, à la seule condition de rassurer les parents sur les paramètres de confidentialité. »

Les parents des participants ont donc tous reçu une lettre leur expliquant comment protéger les renseignements personnels des enfants sur le site de réseautage : ne pas inscrire le sexe et la date de naissance, ne pas afficher de photo, etc. Seul le nom de l’école pouvait apparaître dans les informations personnelles. Plusieurs jeunes possédaient déjà un profil Facebook qu’ils ont dû modifier le temps du projet.

La plateforme Internet finale, développée par une agence de multimédia, accuse quelques délais de mise en ligne. Toutefois, seuls un avatar et un prénom serviront à identifier les utilisateurs. Les participants ne pourront pas être contactés par les visiteurs du site Web.

L’utilisation de Facebook en classe a tout de même nécessité quelques ajustements : « Les jeunes utilisent Facebook uniquement de façon ludique, ils ne savent pas comment l’utiliser comme un outil de travail », explique M. Thibault. Il constate aussi que les élèves, malgré ce que l’on peut croire, ont peu de connaissances techniques. « Si c’était à refaire, je prendrais plus de temps pour préciser les objectifs de l’utilisation de Facebook. Ce n’est pas comme aller lire le profil de nos amis durant cinq minutes le soir… C’est réellement un outil de travail qu’il faut savoir utiliser comme tel. »

Ce projet est aussi une bonne occasion de sensibiliser les jeunes à la sécurité sur Internet. « Les jeunes croient parfois que Facebook, c’est magique. Ils doivent toutefois comprendre que le courriel ou le téléphone sont, dans certaines situations, plus appropriés pour assurer la confidentialité », explique Yves Thibault, qui n’a reçu aucune plainte de parents concernant le projet.

Pour les élèves de l’école secondaire Barthélémy-Joliette, le projet est désormais terminé. Même s’ils quittent le secondaire dans quelques jours, Yves Thibault espère que Facebook lui permettra de rester en contact avec ses anciens élèves et de continuer à suivre leurs projets.

Pour en savoir plus : http://www.museejoliette.org
Le lien vers la plate-forme finale sera disponible sur le site Internet de l’école : http://recit.cssamares.qc.ca/bjoliette/

Par Marie-Philippe Gagnon-Hamelin

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :