Economic education and serious play: a duo that goes hand in hand

Economic education has not been systematically taught in secondary school for several years in Quebec. Given the growing interest in the gamification of learning and the importance given by the training program to transversal skills and interdisciplinarity, the use of a serious game could however improve the situation.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Economic education has not been systematically taught in secondary school for several years in Quebec. Given the growing interest in the gamification of learning and the importance given by the training program to transversal skills and interdisciplinarity, the use of a serious game could however improve the situation.

The developing project "Tooniie Land" is an adventure leading players aged 10 and over to a world where they must help the king bring prosperity back to his island. This educational video game aims to allow players to familiarize themselves with concepts related to savings, debt, consumption, mutual aid, entrepreneurship and ethics, in particular.

"I grew up without receiving any financial education and it was the same for my parents," explains the Quebec entrepreneur behind the project, Windor Dorméus, of Simiixi Creation. “Today, having reached adulthood and with family responsibilities, I quickly realized that it is important to know how to manage your money, which has often been hard earned.

Tooniie_Land

According to statistics relayed by the company, 20 % of young high school graduates will earn more than 100,000 $ per year within 10 years. In addition, 50 % of graduates are already in debt when they leave high school.

“I grew up with a great love for video games and I believe that now is the time to play more seriously,” concludes Mr. Dorméus. If you are also of the opinion that it is important to educate young people in the realities of personal financial management and wish to support the project, know that it is currently in progress. crowdfunding campaign.

The game will be available on different platforms (iPhone, iPad, Android and PC).

To find out more, also read the article by journalist Yves Therrien, published on February 21 in the daily Le Soleil, “ Demystifying the basics of finance through gambling ".

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Éducation économique et jeu sérieux : un duo qui fait bon ménage

L’éducation économique n’est plus systématiquement enseignée au secondaire depuis plusieurs années au Québec. Vu l’intérêt grandissant pour la ludification des apprentissages et l’importance accordée par le programme de formation aux compétences transversales et à l’interdisciplinarité, l’utilisation d’un jeu sérieux pourrait cependant améliorer la situation.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

L’éducation économique n’est plus systématiquement enseignée au secondaire depuis plusieurs années au Québec. Vu l’intérêt grandissant pour la ludification des apprentissages et l’importance accordée par le programme de formation aux compétences transversales et à l’interdisciplinarité, l’utilisation d’un jeu sérieux pourrait cependant améliorer la situation.

Le projet en développement « Tooniie Land » est une aventure conduisant les joueurs de 10 ans et plus dans un monde où ils devront aider le roi à ramener la prospérité au sein de son île. Ce jeu vidéo éducatif vise à permettre aux joueurs de se familiariser avec des concepts liés à l’épargne, l’endettement, la consommation, l’entraide, l’entrepreneurship et l’éthique, notamment.

« J’ai grandi sans recevoir une quelconque éducation financière et ce fut la même chose pour mes parents », explique l’entrepreneur québécois derrière le projet, Windor Dorméus, de Simiixi Création. « Aujourd’hui, arrivé à l’âge adulte et avec des responsabilités familiales, j’ai vite constaté qu’il est important de savoir gérer ses sous qui ont très souvent été durement gagnés.

Tooniie_Land

Selon des statistiques relayées par l’entreprise, 20 % des jeunes diplômés du secondaire se verraient gagner plus de 100 000 $ par année d’ici 10 ans. De plus, 50 % des diplômés seraient déjà endettés à leur sortie du secondaire.

« J’ai grandi avec un grand amour pour les jeux vidéo et je crois qu’est maintenant venu le temps de jouer plus sérieusement », conclut M. Dorméus. Si vous êtes également d’avis qu’il est important d’éduquer les jeunes aux réalités de la gestion financière personnelle et souhaitez soutenir le projet, sachez qu’il est présentement en campagne de financement participatif.

Le jeu sera disponible sur différentes plateformes (iPhone, iPad, Android et PC).

Pour en savoir plus, lisez aussi l’article du journaliste Yves Therrien, paru le 21 février dernier dans le quotidien Le Soleil, « Démystifier les bases de la finance par le jeu ».

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :