ADVERTISEMENT

1 million $ donation: Druide informatique supports literacy research at UQAM

Press Release - Druide informatique grants $1 million to the Fondation de l'UQAM to create the Research Chair on Fundamental Learning in Literacy and to set up the Antidote Scholarship in Orthopedagogy

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

Press Release - Druide informatique grants $1 million to the Fondation de l'Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) to create the Research Chair on Fundamental Learning in Literacy and to set up the Antidote Scholarship in Orthopedagogy. The Chair was launched at the 33rd Colloque et Symposium of the Association des Orthopédagogues du Québec. UQAM is the university in Quebec that trains the largest number of remedial educators and teachers.

"The consequences of illiteracy, at the individual, family and social levels, are major. The research conducted at UQAM has immense potential to improve reading and writing skills for the benefit of learners and those who accompany them. This innovative work is in line with our university's values of the right to education, inclusion and social justice," says Rector Magda Fusaro.

Headed by Professor Line Laplante, an internationally recognized expert in reading and writing intervention and evaluation, the Chair's objective is to develop pedagogical or remedial practices to support children, adolescents and adults in vulnerable situations. "One out of every two Quebecers has poor literacy skills," explains the Chairholder and professor in the Department of Language Teaching. "Thanks to the practices developed by the Chair and shared with the education community, we will be able to train teachers and remedial educators to counter reading and writing difficulties and prevent illiteracy.

The Antidote Scholarship in Remedial Education, in the amount of $25,000 $, will be offered annually to Master's or Doctoral students in education whose thesis or doctoral project is in the areas of remedial education or learning disabilities in reading and writing.

The creation of the Chair and Fellowship is the result of an exceptional donation announced as part of the 25th anniversary celebrations of the Antidote writing assistance software, which is widely used to support learning in writing. "Antidote can also compensate for the more or less severe spelling deficits that dyslexic people have," says André d'Orsonnens, Chairman and CEO of Druide informatique.

"Some of the Chair's work will even evaluate how Antidote could do more to help these learners. The entire francophone world will benefit from UQAM's expertise in education."

"Druide informatique's support for the Research Chair on Fundamental Learning in Literacy, a flagship project of the 100 million ideas campaign, will allow UQAM to continue to innovate in this field, where it is a leader," adds Michelle Niceforo, executive director of the UQAM Foundation.

Druide informatique produces and markets Antidote, a software program to help with writing in French and English, as well as Tap'Touche, a software program for learning how to type. She also created the WebElixir service, which monitors the quality of websites. In addition to these applications, its sales team distributes the books of Éditions Druide, a subsidiary whose mission is to publish literature and reference works.

Created in 1969, the Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) is a public university with an international reputation. At the heart of the city, at the center of the evolution of Montreal and Quebec, it uses its expertise to address the issues that affect our planet. The originality and characteristics of its 300 or so programs of study, its research activities rooted in social concerns, and its creative innovations have helped build its reputation.

The largest fundraising campaign in the history of UQAM, aimed at raising $100 million, was launched in 2018 under the signature 100 million ideas. Thanks to the support of donors, the Fondation de l'UQAM supports many of the University's promising projects and supports the next generation, in keeping with the mission it has pursued since 1976: to contribute to the vitality of training, research and creation, and to promote accessibility to university studies by offering scholarships to students.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Communiqué
Communicated
The press releases published on Ecolebranchee.com are those received for the attention of info@ecolebranchee.com and corresponding to the editorial line. The site reserves the right not to publish all press releases.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Don de 1 million $ : Druide informatique soutient la recherche en littératie à l’UQAM

Communiqué - Druide informatique octroie 1 million de dollars à la Fondation de l’UQAM pour créer la Chaire de recherche sur les apprentissages fondamentaux en littératie et mettre sur pied la Bourse Antidote en orthopédagogie.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Communiqué – Druide informatique octroie 1 million de dollars à la Fondation de l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) pour créer la Chaire de recherche sur les apprentissages fondamentaux en littératie et mettre sur pied la Bourse Antidote en orthopédagogie. Le lancement de la Chaire a eu lieu à l’occasion du 33e Colloque et Symposium de l’Association des Orthopédagogues du Québec. L’UQAM est l’université québécoise qui forme le plus grand nombre d’orthopédagogues et d’enseignants.

« Les conséquences de l’analphabétisme, sur les plans individuel, familial et social, sont majeures. Or, les recherches menées à l’UQAM ont un potentiel immense d’améliorer les compétences en lecture et en écriture, au bénéfice des personnes apprenantes et des gens qui les accompagnent. Il s’agit de travaux novateurs s’inscrivant dans le droit fil des valeurs de notre Université en matière de droit à l’éducation, d’inclusion et de justice sociale », déclare la rectrice Magda Fusaro.

Dirigée par la professeure Line Laplante, experte internationalement reconnue de l’intervention et de l’évaluation en lecture-écriture, la Chaire a pour objectif de développer des pratiques pédagogiques ou orthopédagogiques afin d’appuyer les enfants, adolescents et adultes en situation de vulnérabilité. « Un Québécois sur deux a de faibles compétences en littératie », explique la titulaire et professeure au Département de didactique des langues. « Grâce aux pratiques développées par la Chaire et partagées avec le milieu de l’éducation, nous serons en mesure de former le personnel enseignant et les orthopédagogues afin de contrer les difficultés en lecture-écriture et de prévenir l’analphabétisme. »

La Bourse Antidote en orthopédagogie, au montant de 25 000 $, sera offerte annuellement aux étudiants et étudiantes de la maitrise ou du doctorat en éducation dont le projet de mémoire ou le projet doctoral s’inscrit dans les domaines de l’orthopédagogie ou des difficultés d’apprentissage en lecture-écriture.

La création de la Chaire et de la Bourse résulte d’un don exceptionnel annoncé dans le cadre des célébrations du 25e anniversaire du logiciel d’aide à la rédaction Antidote, largement utilisé pour soutenir les apprentissages en écriture. « Antidote peut également compenser les déficits plus ou moins sévères en orthographe que présentent les personnes dyslexiques », précise André d’Orsonnens, président du conseil et chef de la direction de Druide informatique.

« Certains travaux de la Chaire permettront même d’évaluer comment Antidote pourrait en faire davantage pour aider ces apprenants. C’est tout le monde francophone qui bénéficiera de l’expertise uqamienne en éducation. »

« Le soutien de Druide informatique à la Chaire de recherche sur les apprentissages fondamentaux en littératie, un projet phare de la campagne majeure 100 millions d’idées, permettra à l’UQAM de continuer d’innover dans ce domaine, où elle fait figure de meneuse », ajoute la directrice générale de la Fondation de l’UQAM Michelle Niceforo.

Druide informatique produit et commercialise Antidote, le logiciel d’aide à la rédaction du français et de l’anglais, ainsi que Tap’Touche, le logiciel d’apprentissage de la frappe au clavier. Elle a aussi créé le service WebElixir, qui veille à la qualité des sites Web. En plus de ces applications, son équipe commerciale distribue les livres des Éditions Druide, une filiale dont la mission est de publier de la littérature et des ouvrages de référence.

Créée en 1969, l’Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM) est une université publique dont le rayonnement est international. Au cœur de la ville, au centre de l’évolution de Montréal et du Québec, elle met à contribution ses expertises pour faire face aux enjeux qui touchent notre planète. L’originalité et les caractéristiques de ses quelque 300 programmes d’études, ses activités de recherche ancrées dans les préoccupations sociales, et ses innovations en création ont contribué à bâtir sa renommée.

La plus importante campagne de financement de l’histoire de l’UQAM, visant à récolter 100 millions de dollars, a été lancée en 2018 sous la signature 100 millions d’idées. Grâce à l’appui de donatrices et de donateurs, la Fondation de l’UQAM soutient de nombreux projets porteurs de l’Université et appuie la relève, conformément à la mission qu’elle poursuit depuis 1976 : contribuer à la vitalité de la formation, de la recherche et de la création, et favoriser l’accessibilité aux études universitaires par l’offre de bourses aux étudiantes et aux étudiants.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Communiqué
Communiqué
Les communiqués publiés sur Ecolebranchee.com sont ceux reçus à l'attention de info@ecolebranchee.com et correspondant à la ligne éditoriale. Le site se réserve le droit de ne pas publier tous les communiqués.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :