European children will give their name to the constellation of Galileo satellites

(Communiqué) The child who has drawn the best drawing on the theme of space or aeronautics in each Member State will give his name to a satellite in the Galileo program. The first two satellites, scheduled for launch on October 20, will bear the names of the young winners from Belgium (Thijs) and Bulgaria (Natalia), where the competition was already organized a few months ago. On September 1, the European Commission launched the competition in the 25 other Member States in order to be able to name the satellites which will be launched until 2019. Children between the ages of 9 and 11 can participate.

Published on :

READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

(Press Release) The child with the best drawing on the theme of space or aeronautics in each Member State will give his name to a satellite of the Galileo programme. The first two satellites, scheduled for launch on October 20, will bear the names of the young winners from Belgium (Thijs) and Bulgaria (Natalia), where the competition was already organized a few months ago. On September 1, the European Commission launched the competition in the other 25 Member States in order to be able to name the satellites which will be launched until 2019. Children aged 9 to 11 can participate.

Antonio Tajani, Vice-President of the European Commission responsible for Industry and Entrepreneurship, said: "With satellite navigation, exploration of the Universe and space observation, the subject of space is of growing importance for citizens and for our economic future. We want to awaken children's creativity and see them become passionate about space and its opportunities from an early age. We reward this creativity by offering a unique opportunity to 27 children: to give their name to a satellite.”

From 1er September to 15 November, children living in the EU and born in 2000, 2001 and 2002 – when the Galileo program started – are invited to draw a picture on the theme of space and aeronautics, scan it or take a digital photo and upload the file to the competition website. In each country, a national jury will choose the best design and the winner will have their name assigned to one of the satellites of the Galileo constellation. Satellite launches will take place regularly from 2012 until the constellation (expected to have 30 satellites) is complete. The order in which the names of the children will be given to the satellites follows the alphabetical order of the Member States in their national language.

The competition is announced in each Member State through press releases and press conferences, letters to schools and teacher associations as well as messages on educational portals. This initiative should also help to arouse the interest of pupils and enable teachers to tackle the subject of space and satellite navigation more easily in class.

You will know everything about the competition by going to the site http://www.galileocontest.eu/fr/competition.

Context

The Galileo program is the European satellite navigation project. It sets up a global satellite navigation system similar to GPS. Given the ever-increasing importance of satellite navigation applications for businesses and citizens, Galileo, by guaranteeing their availability, will ensure Europe's independence in this essential area.

In 20 years, Galileo is expected to bring 90 billion euros to the European economy, in the form of additional income for industry and public and social benefits, not to mention gains in terms of independence.

From 2014/2016, Galileo will offer three initial services thanks to an initial constellation of at least 24 satellites: an open service (2014), a regulated public service (2016) and a search and rescue service (2014). Other services will be implemented later, including a commercial service combining two encrypted signals for higher data throughput and increased accuracy of authenticated data.

For more information about Galileo:

http://ec.europa.eu/enterprise/policies/satnav/galileo/index_fr.htm

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Des enfants européens donneront leur nom à la constellation de satellites Galileo

(Communiqué) L'enfant ayant fait le meilleur dessin sur le thème de l'espace ou de l'aéronautique dans chaque État membre donnera son nom à un satellite du programme Galileo. Les deux premiers satellites, dont le lancement est prévu pour le 20 octobre, porteront les noms des jeunes gagnants de Belgique (Thijs) et de Bulgarie (Natalia), où le concours a déjà été organisé il y a quelques mois. Le 1er septembre , la Commission européenne a lancé le concours dans les 25 autres États membres afin de pouvoir baptiser les satellites qui seront lancés jusqu'en 2019. Les enfants âgés de 9 à 11 ans peuvent y participer.

Publié le :

LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

(Communiqué) L’enfant ayant fait le meilleur dessin sur le thème de l’espace ou de l’aéronautique dans chaque État membre donnera son nom à un satellite du programme Galileo. Les deux premiers satellites, dont le lancement est prévu pour le 20 octobre, porteront les noms des jeunes gagnants de Belgique (Thijs) et de Bulgarie (Natalia), où le concours a déjà été organisé il y a quelques mois. Le 1er septembre , la Commission européenne a lancé le concours dans les 25 autres États membres afin de pouvoir baptiser les satellites qui seront lancés jusqu’en 2019. Les enfants âgés de 9 à 11 ans peuvent y participer.

Antonio Tajani, vice-président de la Commission européenne chargé de l’industrie et de l’entrepreneuriat, a déclaré: «Avec la navigation par satellite, l’exploration de l’Univers et l’observation spatiale, la thématique de l’espace revêt une importance grandissante pour les citoyens et pour notre avenir économique. Nous souhaitons éveiller la créativité des enfants et les voir se passionner pour l’espace et ses opportunités dès leur jeune âge. Nous récompensons cette créativité en offrant une occasion unique à 27 enfants: donner leur nom à un satellite.»

Du 1er septembre au 15 novembre, les enfants vivant dans l’UE et nés en 2000, 2001 et 2002 – date à laquelle le programme Galileo a démarré – sont invités à faire un dessin sur le thème de l’espace et de l’aéronautique, à le scanner ou à en prendre une photo numérique et à transférer le fichier sur le site internet du concours. Dans chaque pays, un jury national choisira le meilleur dessin et le gagnant verra son nom attribué à l’un des satellites de la constellation Galileo. Les lancements des satellites auront lieu régulièrement à partir de 2012 jusqu’à ce que la constellation (qui devrait compter 30 satellites) soit complète. L’ordre dans lequel les noms des enfants seront donnés aux satellites suit l’ordre alphabétique des États membres dans leur langue nationale.

Le concours est annoncé dans chaque État membre par des communiqués de presse et des conférences de presse, des courriers aux écoles et aux associations d’enseignants ainsi que par des messages sur les portails éducatifs. Cette initiative devrait également contribuer à éveiller l’intérêt des élèves et permettre aux enseignants d’aborder plus facilement en classe la thématique de l’espace et de la navigation par satellite.

Vous saurez tout sur le concours en vous rendant sur le site http://www.galileocontest.eu/fr/competition.

Contexte

Le programme Galileo est le projet européen de navigation par satellite. Il met en place un système mondial de navigation par satellite semblable au GPS. Compte tenu de l’importance toujours croissante des applications de navigation par satellite pour les entreprises et les citoyens, Galileo, en en garantissant la disponibilité, assurera l’indépendance de l’Europe dans ce domaine essentiel.

En 20 ans, Galileo devrait rapporter 90 milliards d’euros à l’économie européenne, sous forme de revenus supplémentaires pour l’industrie et d’avantages publics et sociaux, sans compter les gains en termes d’indépendance.

À partir de 2014/2016, Galileo offrira trois services initiaux grâce à une première constellation de 24 satellites minimum: un service ouvert (2014), un service public réglementé (2016) et un service de recherche et de sauvetage (2014). D’autres services seront mis en place par la suite, dont un service commercial combinant deux signaux cryptés pour un débit de données plus élevé et une précision accrue des données authentifiées.

Pour de plus amples informations concernant Galileo:

http://ec.europa.eu/enterprise/policies/satnav/galileo/index_fr.htm

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct