Decoding Learning: Evidence, Promises and Potential of Digital Education

Recent research conducted in Britain on behalf of Nesta identifies evidence that technology supports learning effectively. It also examines emerging technologies with a high educational impact as well as pedagogical practices advantageously exploiting the potential of digital education.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

Recent research conducted in Britain on behalf of Nesta identifies evidence that technology supports learning effectively. It also examines emerging technologies with a high educational impact as well as pedagogical practices advantageously exploiting the potential of digital education. 

Britain spends millions of pounds each year on acquiring technology for its schools. However, one question remains: does this investment improve learning? To find out more, the British organization Nesta (National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts) funded a study by researchers from the London Knowledge Lab (LKL) and the Learning Sciences Research Institute (LSRI) of the University of Nottingham.

The researchers chose to study how technology can support different learning activities rather than focusing on types of technologies.

Indeed, all of their discoveries show that technology alone has no impact on learning. It always depends on how it is used.

Here are some key points where researchers have found technology benefits.
- It improves evaluation;
- It allows you to learn by doing;
- It varies the opportunities to practice;
- It makes the whole world a place to learn;
- It makes learning a more social process.

In conclusion, the researchers note that the evidence exists when we put learning at the heart of the matter. Technology improves learning by promoting connections between learning activities and raising their level.

No one technology is THE best for learning, it depends on the context, they write. Different technologies can support different forms of learning, individually or jointly.

Among the promises, they identified that some learning activities, such as “learning by assessment”, were poorly supported by technological innovation. Others, on the contrary, are saturated: this is the case of "learning by doing", for which a multitude of games offering repetitive exercises exist, particularly in mathematics.

The study underlines the importance of changing the attitude of stakeholders towards technologies in order to avoid their occasional use for a specific task in favor of global integration. How to get there? This requires, according to the researchers, the sharing of ideas, collaboration between teachers and professional development. Also, they absolutely need management support in order to explore the full potential of the tools available to them. Finally, they should not hesitate to seek relevant expertise in the community.

Reference:
Luckin, R., Bligh B., Sleeves A., Ainsworth S., Crook C., Noss R. (November 2012)
Decoding Learning: The proof, promise and potential of digital education. National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts (Nesta).

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
General manager of École branchée, Audrey holds a graduate degree in educational technologies and a bachelor's degree in public communication. Member of the Order of Excellence in Education of Quebec, she is particularly interested in the professional development of teachers, information in the digital age and media education, while actively creating bridges between the actors of the educational ecosystem since 1999. She is involved these days in particular in Edteq Association and as a member of the ACELF Communications Committee. When she has free time, she is passionate about her children, his rabbits, horses, good wine and... Web programming!

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Décoder l’apprentissage : preuves, promesses et potentiel de l’éducation numérique

Une recherche récente réalisée en Grande-Bretagne pour le compte de Nesta recense des preuves que la technologie soutient l’apprentissage de façon efficace. Elle examine aussi des technologies émergentes à fort impact éducatif ainsi que des pratiques pédagogiques exploitant avantageusement le potentiel de l’éducation numérique.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Une recherche récente réalisée en Grande-Bretagne pour le compte de Nesta recense des preuves que la technologie soutient l’apprentissage de façon efficace. Elle examine aussi des technologies émergentes à fort impact éducatif ainsi que des pratiques pédagogiques exploitant avantageusement le potentiel de l’éducation numérique. 

La Grande-Bretagne consacre chaque année des millions de livres sterling à l’acquisition de technologie pour ses écoles. Cependant, une question demeure : cet investissement améliore-t-il l’apprentissage? Afin d’en savoir plus, l’organisation britannique Nesta (National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts) a financé une étude menée par des chercheurs du London Knowledge Lab (LKL) et du Learning Sciences Research Institute (LSRI) de l’Université de Nottingham.

Les chercheurs ont choisi d’étudier comment la technologie pouvait soutenir différentes activités d’apprentissage plutôt que de s’attarder aux types de technologies.

En effet, l’ensemble de leurs découvertes montre qu’une technologie seule n’a pas d’impact sur l’apprentissage. Elle dépend toujours de la façon dont elle est utilisée.

Voici quelques points clés pour lesquels les chercheurs ont trouvé des avantages à la technologie.
– Elle améliore l’évaluation;
– Elle permet d’apprendre en faisant;
– Elle varie les occasions de pratiquer;
– Elle fait du monde entier un endroit où apprendre;
– Elle fait de l’apprentissage un processus plus social.

En conclusion, les chercheurs rappellent que les preuves existent lorsqu’on met l’apprentissage au cœur de la question. La technologie améliore l’apprentissage en favorisant les connexions entre les activités d’apprentissage et en élevant leur niveau.

Aucune technologie n’est LA meilleure pour l’apprentissage, cela dépend du contexte, écrivent-ils. Différentes technologies peuvent soutenir différentes formes d’apprentissage, individuellement ou de façon conjointe.

Parmi les promesses, ils ont identifié que certaines activités d’apprentissage, comme « apprendre par l’évaluation », étaient peu soutenues par l’innovation technologique. D’autres, au contraire, sont saturées : c’est le cas d’« apprendre en pratiquant », pour laquelle une multitude de jeux proposant des exercices répétitifs existe, particulièrement en mathématiques.

L’étude souligne l’importance de changer l’attitude des intervenants face aux technologies afin d’éviter leur utilisation ponctuelle pour une tâche spécifique au profit d’une intégration globale. Comment y arriver? Cela passe, selon les chercheurs, par le partage d’idées, la collaboration entre enseignants et le développement professionnel. Aussi, il leur faut absolument un soutien de la direction afin d’explorer le plein potentiel des outils qu’on met à leur disposition. Enfin, ils ne devraient pas hésiter à aller chercher l’expertise pertinente dans la communauté.

Référence :
Luckin, R., Bligh B., Manches A., Ainsworth S., Crook C., Noss R. (November 2012)
Decoding Learning: The proof, promise and potential of digital éducation. National Endowment for Science, Technology and the Arts (Nesta).

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Audrey Miller
Audrey Millerhttps://ecolebranchee.com
Directrice générale de l'École branchée, Audrey détient une formation universitaire de 2e cycle en technologies éducatives et un baccalauréat en communication publique. Membre de l'Ordre de l'Excellence en éducation du Québec, elle s'intéresse particulièrement au développement professionnel des enseignants, à l'information à l'ère du numérique et à l'éducation aux médias, tout en s'activant à créer des ponts entre les acteurs de l'écosystème éducatif depuis 1999. Elle s'implique ces temps-ci notamment dans l'Association Edteq et en tant que membre du comité des communications de l'ACELF. Quand elle a du temps libre, elle est passionnée par ses enfants, ses lapins, les chevaux, le bon vin et... la programmation Web!

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :