Ramadan begins for millions of Muslims

Published / Updated on

PLEASE NOTE: This guide was originally written in French. If you are using the English version of our site, you will see an automatic translation. You can change the language from the menu in the site header or see our English language guides here.

From April 13 to May 12, 2021, millions of people around the world will experience the rhythm of sunrise and sunset. Ramadan begins for Muslims.

Find activities...

Use the search engine

Search by keyword, level, area of learning, discipline and dimension of digital competence.

Let yourself be inspired...

Back to the SCOOP! homepage

Browse the latest resource and activity guides and find those that are still current.

Add to favorites (0)

From Saturday, April 2, 2021, until Monday, May 2, 2022, millions of people around the world will experience the rhythm of sunrise and sunset. This 30-day period corresponding to the ninth month of the Islamic calendar is called Ramadan.

What is ramadan?

During Ramadan, Muslims around the world (but not all!) Of the required age fast every day of the holy month. So they cannot eat or drink until the sun goes down. There are millions of Muslims around the world who celebrate Ramadan every year. In Canada, there are about a million who share the same religious values and norms. You should know that Ramadan goes beyond the deprivation of food and is also a moment of gathering (when there is no global pandemic!). Normally, as soon as the sun goes down, Muslims can gather in community, especially with the poorest, to share a meal after the fast of the day. Some children from the age of 7 are already starting to learn fast with their parents. From puberty, they will then have to experience Ramadan like the adults around them.

Why do Ramadan?

In addition to the fast prescribed for millions of Muslims, Ramadan is also the feast of the Koran (holy book of Muslims) and can result in several prayer sessions at the mosque. In this spirit of spirituality, many important events in the history of Islam are therefore highlighted. Ramadan is also considered the month of charity because, when it ends, Muslims have to pay alms (a gift to people most in need).

When is ramadan?

Ramadan is the name of the ninth month of the Hegirian calendar. This calendar varies from year to year because it is based on the cycles of the moon. The start of Ramadan is therefore based on the observation of the first crescent visible after the new moon. In 2021, Ramadan is from April 13 to May 12.


 

SUGGESTED ACTIVITIES

Subjects covered:

- Ethics and Religious Culture

  • Theme: Religious values and norms
    • Food and clothing practices

Target levels:

– 3rd cycle of primary

– 1st cycle of secondary

Targeted dimensions of digital competence

  • Producing content with digital
  • Communicate with digital
  • Developing and mobilizing information literacy

Suggested digital tools

  • LearningApps
  • Paper or Autodesk Sketchbook

Educational intention of the guide

The following activities will allow students to draw on practices related to Ramadan to address the moral dimension of religions.

Objectives of the activities

  • Watch a capsule on Ramadan and answer related comprehension questions to deepen our knowledge.
  • Create a "sketchnote" to make our thoughts visible and summarize what Ramadan is.

To get activity suggestions for teachers, you must subscribe to the Teacher or School version guides!


SCOOP! this is...
 

Designed to fill short periods or inspire larger projects, the activities offered in the SCOOP! allow the teacher to approach the subject matter in the program in addition to developing the information literacy and digital skills of the students.

You are browsing in guest mode!

Subscribe or to hide ads and see lesson activities!

Don't miss new guides

Receive an email alert (in French) when something new is published on SCOOP! :

Planning with SCOOP!

Other SCOOP! resource and activity guides to explore

Début du ramadan pour des millions de musulmans

Paru / Mis à jour le

ATTENTION : Ce guide a été rédigé en français. Veuillez noter que si vous naviguez sur la version anglaise de notre site, vous verrez une traduction automatique. Vous pouvez changer de langue à partir du menu dans l'entête du site ou consulter nos guides en anglais ici.

Du 13 avril au 12 mai 2021, des millions de personnes à travers le monde vivront au rythme du lever et du coucher du soleil. C'est le ramadan qui débute pour les musulmans.

Chercher des activités...

Utilisez le moteur de recherche

Il permet de chercher par mot-clé, niveau, domaine d'apprentissage, discipline et dimension de la compétence numérique.

Se laisser inspirer...

Retour à la page d'accueil de SCOOP!

Parcourez les plus récents guides de ressources et activités et retrouvez ceux qui sont toujours d'actualité.

À partir du samedi 2 avril 2021, et ce, jusqu’au lundi 2 mai 2022, des millions de gens à travers le monde vivront au rythme du lever et du coucher du soleil. Cette période de 30 jours correspondant au neuvième mois du calendrier islamique se nomme le ramadan.

C’est quoi, le ramadan?

Durant le ramadan, les musulmans du monde entier (mais pas tous!) ayant l’âge requis s’adonnent à un jeûne tous les jours du mois sacré. Ils ne peuvent donc ni manger ni boire jusqu’à ce que le soleil se couche. Ce sont des millions de musulmans à travers le monde qui célèbrent le ramadan tous les ans. Au Canada, il y en a environ un million qui partagent les mêmes valeurs et normes religieuses. Il faut savoir que le ramadan va au-delà de la privation de nourriture et constitue également un moment de rassemblement (quand il n’y a pas de pandémie mondiale!). En temps normal, dès que le soleil se couche, les musulmans peuvent se rassembler en communauté, notamment avec les plus pauvres, pour partager un repas après le jeûne de la journée. Certains enfants à partir de 7 ans commencent déjà à s’initier au jeûne avec leurs parents. Dès la puberté, ils devront alors vivre le ramadan comme les adultes autour d’eux.

Pourquoi faire le ramadan?

En plus du jeûne prescrit pour des millions de musulmans, le ramadan est aussi la fête du Coran (livre sacré des musulmans) et peut se traduire par plusieurs séances de prières à la mosquée. Dans cet esprit de spiritualité, de nombreux événements importants de l’histoire de l’Islam sont donc soulignés. Le ramadan est aussi considéré comme le mois de la charité, car, lorsqu’il s’achève, les musulmans doivent s’acquitter d’une aumône (un don aux gens les plus dans le besoin).

C’est quand le ramadan?

Le ramadan est le nom du neuvième mois du calendrier hégirien. Ce calendrier varie d’année en année, car il est basé sur les cycles de la lune. Le début du ramadan est donc fondé sur l’observation du premier croissant visible après la nouvelle lune. En 2021, le ramadan est du 13 avril au 12 mai.


 

SUGGESTIONS D’ACTIVITÉS

Disciplines visées:

– Éthique et culture religieuse

  • Thème : Des valeurs et des normes religieuses
    • Des pratiques alimentaires et vestimentaires

Niveaux visées:

– 3e cycle du primaire

– 1er cycle du secondaire

Dimensions de la compétence numérique ciblées

  • Produire du contenu avec le numérique
  • Communiquer avec le numérique
  • Développer et mobiliser sa culture informationnelle

Outils numériques suggérés

  • LearningApps
  • Paper ou Autodesk Sketchbook

Intention pédagogique du guide

Les activités suivantes permettront aux élèves de prendre appui sur les pratiques reliées au ramadan pour aborder la dimension morale des religions.

Objectifs des activités

  • Visionner une capsule sur la ramadan et répondre à des questions de compréhension s’y rattachant pour approfondir nos connaissances.
  • Créer un « sketchnote » pour rendre notre pensée visible et résumer ce qu’est le ramadan.

Pour obtenir les suggestions d’activités destinées aux enseignants, vous devez vous abonner aux guides en version Enseignant ou École!


SCOOP! c'est...
 

Conçues pour combler de courtes périodes ou inspirer de plus grands projets, les activités proposées dans les guides SCOOP! permettent à l’enseignant(e) d’aborder la matière au programme en plus de développer la culture informationnelle et la compétence numérique des élèves.

Vous naviguez en mode invité!

Abonnez-vous ou pour masquer les publicités et voir les activités pédagogiques!

Pour ne rien manquer

Recevez une alerte par courriel dès la parution d'un nouveau SCOOP! :

SCOOP! dans ma planif?

D'autres guides d'activités et ressources SCOOP! à découvrir