ADVERTISEMENT

Create your school with Minecraft

Students from the Laval School Service Center recreated their school with Minecraft, as part of a competition set up by the pedagogical team. The project allowed students to discover a new digital tool, in addition to increasing their sense of belonging to their school.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)

By Alexandra Coutlée, educational advisor in digital integration at the Center de services scolaire de Laval

Launched in May 2021 by the pedagogical team of the Laval School Services Center, the “Create your school with Minecraft” competition was a huge success. It had several objectives, including those to introduce a new digital tool to students and their teachers, to increase the feeling of belonging to the school, to shine the creative talent of the students and, in addition, it was a great way to end the year on a motivating note. 

The competition was posted on the site My tech tools, a site for students. It was aimed at elementary and secondary school students attending a CSS de Laval school. Participants had to represent their school as faithfully as possible by working on estimation, measurements and, of course, their creativity.

Students could choose to create as a team or to embark on the adventure alone. Some teachers have made it an end-of-year project. The whole class then participated. The sharing of screenshots and the Minecraft worlds created allowed the jury, made up of four members of the CSS de Laval pedagogical team, to choose the winners.

All participants had the opportunity to receive a certificate of participation and thus became officially recognized as Minecraft builders at CSS de Laval. The winning teams or students also won a 3D reproduction of their school.

Several tutorials were available to guide students in their appropriation of Minecraft Education. This allowed them to discover this version of the famous game, a tool that is accessible free of charge for students and teachers of schools with an educational license of Microsoft Office 365. 

Guided tours of the creations

Winners are announced here, on the contest page. You can take a guided tour of the worlds thanks to videos and images and you can even compare real establishments with virtual ones since a visit with Google Street View is also available.

Special mention and favorite from the jury: a video of Gabriel, a student at Père-Vimont school, who not only built his school to participate in the competition, but also designed the interior which he shows to the using a video of his own, available on the contest page.

Other competitions to introduce students to collaborative and creative CSS de Laval tools are planned for the 2021-2022 school year.

Congratulations to all participants and to the contest winners!

Do you organize similar activities to provide your students with positive digital experiences? Do not hesitate to write to us to tell us about it! info@ecolebranchee.com

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Crée ton école avec Minecraft

Des élèves du Centre de service scolaire de Laval ont recréé leur école avec Minecraft, dans le cadre d'un concours mis en place par l'équipe pédagonumérique. Le projet a permis aux élèves de découvrir un nouvel outil numérique, en plus d'accroître leur sentiment d'appartenance envers leur école.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Par Alexandra Coutlée, conseillère pédagogique en intégration du numérique au Centre de services scolaire de Laval

Lancé en mai 2021 par l’équipe pédagonumérique du Centre de services scolaire de Laval, le concours « Crée ton école avec Minecraft » a connu tout un succès. Il avait plusieurs objectifs, dont ceux de faire découvrir un nouvel outil numérique aux élèves et à leurs enseignants, d’accroître le sentiment d’appartenance à l’école, de faire briller le talent créatif des élèves et, en plus, c’était une belle façon de terminer l’année sur une note motivante. 

Le concours a été diffusé sur le site Mes outils technos, un site destiné aux élèves. Il s’adressait aux jeunes du primaire et du secondaire fréquentant une école du CSS de Laval. Les participants devaient représenter leur école le plus fidèlement possible en travaillant l’estimation, les mesures et, bien sûr, leur créativité.

Les élèves pouvaient choisir de créer en équipe ou encore de se lancer seuls dans l’aventure. Certains enseignants en ont fait un projet de fin d’année. C’est alors toute la classe qui a participé. Le partage de captures d’écran et des mondes Minecraft créés ont permis au jury, composé des quatre membres de l’équipe pédagonumérique du CSS de Laval, de choisir les gagnants.

Tous les participants avaient la possibilité de recevoir un certificat de participation et devenaient ainsi officiellement reconnus en tant que bâtisseurs Minecraft au CSS de Laval. Les équipes ou élèves gagnants remportaient également une reproduction 3D de leur école.

Plusieurs tutoriels étaient disponibles pour guider les élèves dans leur appropriation de Minecraft Éducation. Cela leur a permis de découvrir cette version du célèbre jeu, un outil qui est accessible gratuitement pour les élèves et les enseignants des établissements possédant une licence éducationnelle de Microsoft Office 365. 

Visites guidées des créations

Les gagnants sont annoncés ici, sur la page du concours. On peut faire une visite guidée des mondes grâce à des vidéos et des images et on peut même comparer les établissements réels avec les virtuels puisqu’une visite avec Google Street View est également proposée.

Mention spéciale et coup de cœur du jury : une vidéo de Gabriel, élève à l’école Père-Vimont, qui a non seulement bâti son école pour participer au concours, mais a aussi aménagé l’intérieur qu’il fait visiter à l’aide d’une vidéo de son cru, disponible sur la page du concours.

D’autres concours pour faire découvrir des outils collaboratifs et créatifs du CSS de Laval aux élèves sont prévus pour l’année scolaire 2021-2022.

Félicitations à tous les participants et aux gagnants du concours!

Vous organisez des activités semblables pour faire vivre des expériences d’usages positifs du numérique à vos élèves? N’hésitez pas à nous écrire pour nous en parler! info@ecolebranchee.com

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

Collaboration spéciale
L'École branchée diffuse des textes provenant d'acteurs de la communauté éducative. Vous pouvez contribuer vous aussi! Profitez-en pour transmettre vos idées, parler d'un projet pédagogique vécu en classe, etc. Trouvez les détails dans le menu À propos / Soumettre un article.

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!