ADVERTISEMENT

Distance learning: feedback from the European School of Varese in Italy

As we know, Italy has been particularly affected by the COVID-19 crisis. How is the educational life going there? Here is a testimonial and advice from a math teacher.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

As we know, Italy has been particularly affected by the COVID-19 crisis. How is the educational life going there? Here is a testimonial and advice from a math teacher. 

by Christophe Alpacca, math teacher in high school

Christophe Alpacca is a mathematics teacher and coordinator at the European School in Varese, Italy. It shares with his testimony on distance education, is an adaptation of the one originally published by Ludomag.

It's been more than 4 years since we set up an iPad project in mathematics and French, my colleague Ms. Benhassine and me. On this occasion, we were able to familiarize ourselves with the tool and especially the applications, in particular Notability. In class, we have been teaching by projecting our iPad onto an interactive whiteboard for almost a year. The Apple Pencil is therefore our chalk and the iPad our board.

Photo: courtesy C. Alpacca

This tool allows a great interaction with the students and a saving of time because the students' work is either taken in photos or sent directly to the teacher by AirDrop, then videoprojected and corrected in front of the class on the teacher's tablet.

In recent weeks, we have been able to reinvest our know-how in distance learning thanks to the Teams application, available free of charge for teachers and students on Office 365. Indeed, by using Teams, it is possible to use the teacher's tablet with screen sharing.

Photo: courtesy C. Alpacca

Thus, the students can attend by video conference a course identical to the one we would do in class. With Teams, we have the possibility of continuing our course as we had accustomed the students. We have seen that there are many platforms with courses already prepared, but they do not necessarily correspond to the program or to our way of teaching. That said, they can occasionally be used.

In any case, videoconferencing makes it possible, regardless of the educational resources used, to take stock once or twice a week with your classes.

Get started with videoconferencing on Teams

After many feedbacks from colleagues overwhelmed by work and by multiple emails and student homework, I realized a explanatory video to allow interested colleagues to get started with videoconferences on Teams easily.

This video is useful for those who have a tablet, but also for those who want to work on a computer. Of course, it is more interesting to make a videoconference on a tablet with a stylus because it allows to complete, to slip comments or to highlight a document prepared beforehand in front of the students. It is an essential tool which makes the teacher's explanations much clearer, less abstract.

This allows the students to follow the speech more easily and the sessions become, according to our students, less tiring than an exchange without screen sharing.

Videoconferencing is essential in my opinion. The pupils need, during this unprecedented period, to hear and see their teacher, to obtain his advice. In addition, it frames them, gives rhythm to their work of the week. And of course, it is very popular compared to the idea of collapsing under multiple emails or sending documents that should be managed independently.

Obviously, the upstream work to achieve a videoconference is essential.

Do not forget that with screen sharing, the slightest movement on the iPad is perceived by the students, so you have to prepare documents and exercises, corrections also if necessary, so as not to get lost. in front of the students. This therefore requires good organization.

In progress, we can stop the projection on the board; in videoconferencing it is more delicate because multiplying the deactivation and the activation of screen sharing risks losing the connection with the students. It should not be forgotten that many users can make videoconferences in this delicate period that we are experiencing, especially as countries are closing their schools one after the other.

Here, teachers have decided to make an average of two videoconferences per week per class. It already requires a lot of effort. The other courses will be done independently, either by exercises created by the teachers themselves, or by exercises drawn from educational sites, for example. I also use the site mathsenligne for years, to discover!

A mode of operation to inspire other teachers

After having surveyed my students, the rhythm imposed by this operation seemed to suit them. We have decided to create, my French colleague Mrs Benhassine and I, a document to offer colleagues a way of operating from which they could, if they wish, draw inspiration. It provides a framework for parents and students so that remote work, during videoconferences, goes as smoothly as possible. We can view this document here. 

Evaluation

Until now, to avoid fraud or consultations between students, I have only assessed occasionally, orally, live, with mics cut off for the other students. But this process does not allow easy assessment of each student. So I ask some, for a better follow-up, to send me their work, which I evaluate. This work can constitute an introduction to the following course and be the subject of a collective correction.

Arts, math and everyday life enhance extra-curricular activities

After 5 weeks of confinement, I decided to promote the extra-curricular activities of the students during confinement, which is not always easy to bear. I presented this idea for the first time in this other Ludomag article

I launched the idea of creating videos related to mental arithmetic from photos of students taken during their confinement. The only rule is that no face, no person must appear in the photo, to respect everyone's image rights. This little challenge allows everyone to express themselves, highlight a passion, an activity, such as cooking, sport, an art, etc. The first name of each student who submitted a photo appears on the video.

Photo: courtesy C. Alpacca

I admired the artistic talents of my students and their families, whether for pastry creations, paintings or artistic photos. The important chapters such as proportionality, fractions, the meaning of the 4 basic operations in calculation, conversions of units of length, volume… have all been discussed in these videos.

In some cases, some answers can be found on the submitted photo; in other cases, the photo is present to illustrate the problem created. Here is an example : 

Photo: courtesy C. Alpacca
Photo: courtesy C. Alpacca

Check out the students' creations! 

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Collaboration spéciale
Special collaboration
École branchée broadcasts texts from actors in the educational community. You can contribute too! Take the opportunity to share your ideas, talk about an educational project experienced in class, etc. Find the details in the menu About / Submit an article.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

Cours à distance : retour d’expérience de l’Ecole européenne de Varese en Italie

Photo par JESHOOTS.COM | Unsplash

mis à jour le :

Comme on le sait, l’Italie a été particulièrement touchée par la crise de la COVID-19. Comment se passe la vie éducative là-bas? Voici le témoignage et les conseils d’un enseignant de mathématiques. 

par Christophe Alpacca, professeur de mathématiques au secondaire

Christophe Alpacca est professeur de mathématiques et coordonnateur à l’école européenne de Varese, en Italie. Il partage avec son témoignage sur l’enseignement à distance, est une adaptation de celui publié initialement par Ludomag.

Cela fait plus de 4 ans que nous avons mis en place un projet iPad en mathématiques et français, ma collègue Mme Benhassine et moi. Nous avons pu, à cette occasion, nous familiariser avec l’outil et surtout les applications, en particulier Notability. En classe, nous enseignons en projetant notre iPad sur un tableau interactif depuis près d’un an. L’Apple Pencil est donc notre craie et l’iPad, notre tableau.

Photo : gracieuseté C. Alpacca

Cet outil permet une grande interaction avec les élèves et un gain de temps car les travaux d’élèves sont soit pris en photos ou envoyés directement au professeur par AirDrop, puis vidéoprojetés et corrigés devant la classe sur la tablette du professeur.

Depuis quelques semaines, nous avons pu réinvestir notre savoir-faire dans les cours à distance grâce à l’application Teams, disponible gratuitement pour les enseignants comme pour les élèves sur Office 365. En effet, en utilisant Teams, il est possible d’utiliser la tablette du professeur avec partage d’écran.

Photo : gracieuseté C. Alpacca

Ainsi, les élèves peuvent assister en vidéoconférence à un cours à l’identique de celui que nous ferions en classe. Avec Teams, nous avons la possibilité de continuer notre cours comme nous avions habitué les élèves. Nous avons vu qu’il existait de nombreuses plateformes avec des cours déjà préparés, mais ils ne correspondent pas forcément au programme ou à notre manière d’enseigner. Ceci dit, ils peuvent ponctuellement servir.

La vidéoconférence permet de toutes façons, quelles que soient les ressources pédagogiques utilisées, de faire le point une à deux fois par semaine avec ses classes.

S’initier à la vidéoconférence sur Teams

Après de nombreux retours de collègues submergés par le travail et par de multiples envois de courriels et de devoirs d’élèves, j’ai réalisé une vidéo explicative pour permettre aux collègues intéressés de s’initier aux vidéoconférences sur Teams aisément.

Cette vidéo est utile pour ceux qui détiennent une tablette, mais aussi pour ceux qui souhaitent travailler sur ordinateur. Bien sûr, il est plus intéressant de faire une vidéoconférence sur tablette avec un stylet car cela permet de compléter, de glisser des commentaires ou de surligner un document préparé en amont devant les élèves. C’est un outil indispensable qui rend les explications du professeur beaucoup plus claires, moins abstraites.

Cela permet aux élèves de suivre plus aisément le discours et les séances deviennent, selon nos élèves, moins fatigantes qu’un échange sans partage d’écran.

La vidéoconférence est selon moi indispensable. Les élèves ont besoin, pendant cette période inédite, d’entendre et de voir leur professeur, d’obtenir ses conseils. De plus, cela les cadre, rythme leur travail de la semaine. Et bien sûr, elle est très appréciée par rapport à l’idée de crouler sous de multiples courriels ou envois de documents qu’il faudrait gérer en autonomie.

Évidemment, le travail en amont pour réaliser une vidéoconférence est indispensable.

Il ne faut pas oublier qu’avec partage d’écran, le moindre mouvement sur l’iPad est perçu par les élèves, il faut donc bien préparer documents et exercices, les corrections aussi s’il y a lieu, pour ne pas se perdre devant les élèves. Cela demande donc une bonne organisation.

En cours, on peut stopper la projection au tableau; en vidéoconférence c’est plus délicat car multiplier la désactivation et l’activation du partage d’écran risque de faire perdre la connexion avec les élèves. Il ne faut pas oublier que de nombreux utilisateurs peuvent faire des visioconférences en cette période délicate que nous connaissons, d’autant que les pays ferment leurs écoles les uns après les autres.

Ici, des professeurs ont décidé de faire en moyenne deux vidéoconférences par semaine et par classe. Cela exige déjà beaucoup d’efforts. Les autres cours se feront en autonomie, soit par des exercices créés par les professeurs eux-mêmes, soit par des exercices piochés sur des sites éducatifs, par exemple. J’utilise d’ailleurs le site mathsenligne depuis des années, à découvrir!

Un mode de fonctionnement pour inspirer d’autres enseignants

Après avoir sondé mes élèves, le rythme imposé par ce fonctionnement semblait leur convenir. Nous avons décidé de créer, ma collègue de français Mme Benhassine et moi, un document pour proposer aux collègues un mode de fonctionnement dont ils pourraient, s’ils le souhaitent, s’inspirer. Il propose un cadre aux parents et aux élèves pour que le travail à distance, lors des vidéoconférences, se passe le mieux possible. On peut consulter ce document ici. 

L’évaluation

Jusqu’à maintenant, pour éviter les fraudes ou les concertations entre élèves, je n’ai évalué que ponctuellement, à l’oral, en direct, avec micros coupés pour les autres élèves. Mais ce procédé ne permet pas d’évaluer facilement chaque élève. Je demande donc à certains, pour un meilleur suivi, de m’envoyer leurs travaux, que j’évalue. Ces travaux peuvent constituer une introduction au cours suivant et faire l’objet d’une correction collective.

Arts, maths et vie quotidienne valoriser les activités extra-scolaires

Après 5 semaines de confinement, j’ai décidé de valoriser les activités extra-scolaires des élèves pendant le confinement, qui n’est pas toujours facile à supporter. J’ai présenté cette idée pour la première fois dans cet autre article de Ludomag

J’ai lancé l’idée de créer des vidéos en lien avec le calcul mental à partir des photos d’élèves prises pendant leur confinement. La seule règle est qu’aucun visage, aucune personne ne doit apparaître sur la photo, pour respecter le droit à l’image de chacun. Ce petit défi permet à chacun de s’exprimer, mettre en lumière une passion, une activité, comme la cuisine, le sport, un art, etc. Le prénom de chaque élève qui a soumis une photo figure sur la vidéo.

Photo : gracieuseté C. Alpacca

J’ai été admiratif des talents artistiques de mes élèves et de leur famille que ce soit pour des créations pâtissières, des tableaux ou des photos artistiques. Les chapitres importants tels que la proportionnalité, les fractions, le sens des 4 opérations de base en calcul, les conversions des unités de longueur, de volume… ont tous été abordés dans ces vidéos.

Dans certains cas, des éléments de réponses se trouvent sur la photo soumise; dans les autres cas, la photo est présente pour illustrer le problème créé. Voici un exemple : 

Photo : gracieuseté C. Alpacca
Photo : gracieuseté C. Alpacca

Allez voir les créations des élèves! 


Recevez gratuitement chaque semaine l'École branchée Hebdo pour ne rien manquer de l’actualité pédagogique!



🤩 Vous avez envie de publier vous aussi à l'École branchée? N'hésitez surtout pas! Découvrez ici comment faire!



ANNONCE FOURNIE PAR GOOGLE
NOTE : Nos abonnés connectés ne voient pas ces annonces!