Blockchain? You said block…. chain?

During REFER 2019, Mathieu Charbonneau from Académie Prodigi presented a workshop on blockchain. There are several learning situations related to this concept that could be experienced by the students. Here are some examples.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! 😉

You might also like:

The Rendez-vous Francophone des Écoles en Réseau is an annual event where the sharing of practices and activities carried out in the classroom is in the spotlight. It is under the theme The school in play (x) that the 2019 edition of the REFER allowed participants to be inspired to develop their practices.

One workshop in which I participated is the one on blockchain presented by Mathieu Charbonneau from the Académie Prodigi. An emerging reality usually known by the biggest geeks and technophiles in this world. It is with the aim of reinventing a cryptocurrency system in a philosophy of complete transparency that the blockchain was created. But how does the blockchain work? Let me try a popularization of this concept which can give a hard time to all the neophytes in the matter.

Block chain 101

What is blockchain? To explain this, Mr. Charbonneau began his presentation by briefly reviewing the history of money and the limits or problems that arise from our current system: centralization, identity, devaluation.

He then shared the functionality he wanted in the scenario where we had to rebuild a whole new system. We can then dream of decentralization, anonymity, absence of devaluation, minimal costs and security. People have tried to create this type of system and several attempts failed before a viable solution emerged.  

To date, the most famous currency is bitcoin. Created by a Japanese, bitcoin serves as a currency of exchange, and can increase in value from year to year.

How does this system work?

Imagine that we are playing poker using bitcoin instead of cash as we know it.

During the game, we imagine that a person asks to see all the traces of what is done during the game. In the current model, banks would play this role. In a dream system, however, everyone could keep their own win and loss record or someone outside of the game might volunteer to do so. In order to ensure that each of the transactions is valid, cryptographic principles are used.

Once the transactions are validated, they are then found in a group and will have to be selected by a “miner” who is responsible for building a block of transactions.

What happens to the blocks afterwards?

To publish their block on the blockchain, the miner must solve a cryptographic puzzle. If he is the first to do so among the other minors competing with him, his block will be accepted in the chain. At that time, he will receive a certain number of bitcoins for his mining service in addition to receiving fees from people whose transactions are now on the blockchain.

Who can be a minor? Everybody! This is why this system is decentralized since it will not only be the big players who will be able to derive income.

This technology is all well and good, but how can it be used in education?

Educational potential of the blockchain concept and this new reality

There are several learning situations related to the concept of blockchain that could be experienced by students. Here are some examples :

Create your own school-wide virtual currency

It is possible to use the principle of cryptocurrency at the school level to allow young people to buy items at the general store, or to consolidate a system of emulation or positive reinforcement.

Create your electronic portfolio

Throughout their educational experience, the student can receive badges and publish them on the blockchain. This formalizes the skills acquired during the year and provides a forum to promote learning.

Explore the issues of intellectual property control and plagiarism

With the phenomenal amount of content published on the internet, intellectual property is a critical aspect to be covered in the classroom. It could be interesting to make a list of the advantages of publishing its content on the blockchain since all the information related to the time of publication would be made public and not editable (it must be remembered that on most websites, it is possible to change the publication date of a web page, article or column).

Explore the notion of privacy with students

One of the purposes of cryptocurrency systems is to ensure the anonymity of people involved in transactions. Privacy is therefore respected. By comparing our current system with that of cryptocurrency, it is possible to identify the limits and advantages of each of the systems to possibly imagine the future of the global economy.

Deepening of the concept of mining from a statistical or financial aspect

The mining process involves solving cryptographic problems that would be very interesting to discuss with our high school kids. How many minors are trying to post on the channel? Approximately how long does it take to fix the problem and publish? What are the elements that increase our chances of finding the answer before anyone else? Is it worth getting into mining? Is it worth investing in cryptocurrency? These are examples of questions that could be considered in a statistical or even financial context.  

Identifying the weaknesses and limits of Bitcoin

Obviously, when you create something new, it's not perfect. Since bitcoin is the first viable cryptocurrency, it is certain that it has its limits and weaknesses. What are they? How could we soften them or stop them? Students could even try adding a secret message or decoding existing secret messages in the Bitcoin blockchain.

Reflect on ethical questions related to our use of ICT

Used very frequently in communication, especially in military, government and private circles, the notion of cryptography has an essential role in cryptocurrency, hence its name. By questioning the current functioning of online banking systems, several ethical questions arise about our digital identity and the traces we leave on the Web.

Submit your process to achieve a skill

It is known that in order to create or modify a habit of life, being accountable is an important aspect. By publishing your personal and / or professional development plan, we are committed to officially initiating this process. Whether you are a pupil, student or professional, this process can be very beneficial and promote motivation.

Finally, it would be interesting to introduce the concepts of blockchain, encryption and cryptography in order to discuss with your students the possible uses they would make of them. What would come out could be very surprising.

What do you think might apply to your context? The future is so close that inventing it with the pupils can only stimulate them since they will be actors in it!

Your comments about this article

You can comment on this article here and add your ideas!

Google advertising


About the Author

Julie R.-Bordeleauhttp://apprendre.education
Former teacher and mother of a military family of 4 boys, Julie R-Bordeleau is an alternative learning guide and author. She loves discovering new educational and holistic resources and approaches that allow her clients to learn and develop in different ways, depending on their needs. Its website julierbordeleau.com, its newsletter and its services are dedicated to adults who are changing the world in their own way, whether they are parents-educators, parents or professionals.

Some announcements

Our Network at Your Service

Use our network to spread your good news or share your projects! Write to us at info@ecolebranchee.com

You can also publish your own text!
Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Receive École branchée news

L'École branchée | Weekly, the publication that feeds your inbox so you don't miss a thing!

Upcoming live trainings (in French)

Blockchain? Tu as dis block…. chain?

0

Le Rendez-vous Francophone des Écoles en Réseau est un événement annuel où le partage de pratiques et d’activités réalisées en classe est à l’honneur. C’est sous le thème L’école en jeu(x) que l’édition 2019 du REFER a permis aux participants de s’inspirer pour faire évoluer leurs pratiques.

Un atelier auquel j’ai participé est celui sur la blockchain présenté par Mathieu Charbonneau de l’Académie Prodigi. Une réalité en émergence habituellement connue par les plus grands geeks et technophiles de ce monde. C’est dans le but de réinventer un système de cryptomonnaie dans une philosophie de complète transparence que la blockchain a été créée. Mais comment fonctionne la blockchain? Laissez-moi tenter une vulgarisation de ce concept qui peut donner du fil à retordre à tous les néophytes en la matière.

Block chain 101

Qu’est-ce que la blockchain? Pour l’expliquer, M. Charbonneau a débuté sa présentation en faisant un bref retour sur l’histoire de la monnaie et les limites ou problèmes qui découlent de notre système actuel : centralisation, identité, dévaluation.

Il a ensuite partagé les fonctionnalités recherchées dans le scénario où nous avions à reconstruire un tout nouveau système. On peut alors rêver de décentralisation, d’anonymat, d’absence de dévaluation, de frais minimes et de sécurité. Des gens ont tenté de créer ce type de système et plusieurs tentatives ont échoué avant qu’une solution viable voie le jour.  

À ce jour, la monnaie la plus connue est le bitcoin. Créé par un japonais, le bitcoin sert de monnaie d’échange, et peut prendre de la valeur d’année en année.

Comment ce système fonctionne-t-il?

Imaginons que nous jouons au poker en utilisant des bitcoins au lieu de l’argent tel qu’on le connaît.

Lors du jeu, on s’imagine qu’une personne demande à voir toutes les traces de ce qui se fait lors de la partie. Dans le modèle actuel, les banques joueraient ce rôle. Or, dans un système de rêve, chacun pourrait tenir son propre registre de gains et de pertes ou une personne à l’extérieur du jeu pourrait se proposer pour le faire. Afin de s’assurer que chacune des transactions est valide, des principes de cryptographie sont utilisés.

Une fois les transactions validées, elles se retrouvent alors dans un groupe et devront être sélectionnées par un “mineur” qui est responsable de bâtir un bloc de transactions.

Qu’advient-il des blocs par la suite?

Pour publier son bloc dans la blockchain, le mineur doit résoudre une énigme cryptographique. S’il est le premier à le faire parmi les autres mineurs en compétition avec lui, son bloc sera accepté dans la chaîne. À ce moment, il recevra un certain nombre de bitcoins pour son service de minage en plus de toucher des frais des personnes dont les transactions se retrouvent maintenant dans la blockchain.

Qui peut être mineur? Tout le monde! Voilà pourquoi ce système est décentralisé puisque ce ne sera pas seulement les gros joueurs qui pourront tirer des revenus.

C’est bien beau cette technologie, mais en quoi ça peut être utilisé en éducation?

Potentiel pédagogique du concept de blockchain et de cette nouvelle réalité

Il existe plusieurs situations d’apprentissage en lien avec le concept de blockchain qui pourraient être vécues par les élèves. Voici quelques exemples :

Créer sa propre monnaie virtuelle à l’échelle de l’école

Il est possible d’utiliser le principe de cryptomonnaie à l’échelle de l’école pour permettre aux jeunes d’acheter des items au magasin général, ou pour consolider un système d’émulation ou de renforcement positif.

Créer son portfolio électronique

Tout au long de son expérience éducative, l’élève peut recevoir des badges et les publier dans la blockchain. Cela officialise les compétences acquises au cours de l’année et offre une tribune pour valoriser les apprentissages.

Explorer les problématiques de contrôle de la propriété intellectuelle et de plagiat

Avec la quantité phénoménale de contenu publié sur internet, la propriété intellectuelle est un aspect essentiel à aborder en classe. Il pourrait être intéressant de dresser une liste des avantages de publier son contenu dans la blockchain puisque toutes les informations liées au moment de publication seraient rendues publiques et non modifiables (il faut se rappeler que sur les plupart des sites internet, il est possible de changer la date de publication d’une page Web, d’un article ou d’une chronique).

Explorer la notion de vie privée avec les élèves

Une des finalités des systèmes de cryptomonnaie est de s’assurer de l’anonymat des personnes impliquées dans les transactions. La vie privée est donc respectée. En comparant notre système actuel avec celui de la cryptomonnaie, il est possible de relever les limites et les avantages de chacun des systèmes pour éventuellement imaginer le futur de l’économie mondiale.

Approfondissement du concept de minage sous un aspect statistique ou financier

Le processus de minage implique la résolution de problèmes cryptographiques dont il serait très intéressant d’aborder avec nos jeunes du secondaire. Combien de mineurs essaient de publier sur la chaîne? Combien de temps cela prend-il approximativement pour résoudre le problème et publier? Quels sont les éléments qui augmentent nos chances de trouver la réponse avant tous les autres? Est-ce que ça vaut la peine de se lancer dans le minage? Est-ce que ça vaut la peine d’investir dans la cryptomonnaie? Ce sont là des exemples de questions qui pourraient être réfléchies dans un contexte statistique ou même financier.  

Relever les faiblesses et les limites du Bitcoin

Il est évident que lorsqu’on crée quelque chose de nouveau, ce n’est pas parfait. Le bitcoin étant la première cryptomonnaie viable, il est certain qu’elle a ses limites et ses faiblesses.  Quelles sont-elles? Comment pourrions-nous les adoucir ou les enrayer? Les élèves pourraient même essayer d’ajouter un message secret ou de décoder les messages secrets existants dans la blockchain du Bitcoin.

Réfléchir à des questions d’ordre éthique en lien avec notre utilisation des TIC

Utilisée très fréquemment en communication, notamment dans les milieux militaire, gouvernemental et privé, la notion de cryptographie a un rôle essentiel sur la cryptomonnaie, d’où son nom. En se questionnant sur le fonctionnement actuel des systèmes bancaires en ligne, plusieurs questions éthiques se posent quant à notre identité numérique et aux traces que nous laissons sur le Web.

Soumettre sa démarche dans l’atteinte d’une compétence

Il est connu que pour créer ou modifier une habitude de vie, le fait d’être redevable est un aspect non négligeable. En publiant son plan de développement personnel et/ou professionnel, nous nous engageons à entamer cette démarche officiellement.  Qu’on soit élève, étudiant ou professionnel, ce processus peut être très bénéfique et favoriser la motivation.

Enfin, il serait intéressant de présenter les concepts de blockchain, de cryptage et de cryptographie afin de discuter avec vos élèves des utilisations possibles qu’ils en feraient.  Ce qui en sortirait pourrait être très surprenant.

Qu’est-ce que vous croyez qui pourrait s’appliquer à votre contexte? Le futur est si proche que l’inventer avec les élèves ne peut que les stimuler puisqu’ils y seront acteurs!

Recevez chaque semaine l’actualité pédagogique que nous préparons pour vous dans notre Hebdo gratuit :



Julie R-Bordeleau est enseignante de formation et maintenant maman à la maison. Elle est aussi auteure, blogueuse, conférencière et pigiste en éducation. Elle collabore notamment avec l’École branchée, Carrefour éducation et Alloprof Parents. Elle adore découvrir de nouvelles ressources et approches éducatives. Apprenante à vie, elle est une passionnée d’éducation hors de la boîte, d'apprentissage libre et d'utilisation du numérique pour apprendre. Par ses multiples activités professionnelles et le blogzine Apprendre , elle inspire et aide les acteurs de changement en éducation qu'ils soient parents, éducateurs, enseignants ou professionnels dans le milieu à oser être le changement qu'ils désirent voir dans le monde. Son mantra: Apprendre de tout, partout, de toutes les façons!