Apprenticeship: Canada in decline

Canada is falling back on learning. This is the conclusion of the latest report from the Canadian Council on Learning released on Tuesday.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

Automated English translation - (sometimes hilarious) mistakes can creep in! ;)

ADVERTISEMENT
Add to favorites (0)

Canada is falling back on learning. This is the conclusion of the last report of the Canadian Council on Learning published Tuesday.

The authors find in particular that 25 % of children enter school without having the bases necessary to learn literacy and numeracy. "Although Canadians are keenly aware of its critical importance throughout the lifespan of their children, Canada's public spending on early childhood learning is among the lowest of any industrialized country," notes -your.

As for learning at school age, the report's authors agree that the country has many strengths. "The inclusive and egalitarian nature of our school systems is a particularly interesting trait compared to the systems of our counterparts who are members of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)," it says. That said, although Canadian students consistently perform above average on international tests, the Canadian Council on Learning fears the country will lose its leadership status. He notes that performance is declining in absolute terms as well as relative to other economies.

With regard to post-secondary education, the council deplores the lack of cohesion, strategic planning and coherence across all regions as well as the absence of common goals and objectives. “Canada is losing ground to other countries in post-secondary education. The gap between Canada's performance and that of its competitors has the effect of a significant slowdown on our productivity, our innovations and our access to proven quality, ”one writes.

Finally, the board does not note any progress in terms of adult learning or in the workplace.

Recommendations

In this latest report from the organization, which will close its doors this spring for lack of federal funding, it recommends the establishment of a council of ministers on federal, provincial and territorial apprenticeship. The council also wants the creation of “concrete and measurable” national objectives for each stage of learning. "In the absence of a sustained pan-Canadian approach, many learners will not achieve their goals," it is estimated.

Read also :

Reading Comprehension: Young Canadians Among the Best

Do after-school lessons influence students' academic performance?

Academics proud of the Quebec school system

Your comments about this article

To comment on this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Cote
Nathalie is a journalist. His favorite themes are family, education, health, consumption, the environment and social phenomena. She contributes in particular to the newspaper La Presse.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss anything new!





You might also like:

Apprentissage: le Canada en régression

Le Canada régresse en matière d’apprentissage. Voilà la conclusion du dernier rapport du Conseil canadien sur l’apprentissage publié mardi.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

ANNONCE
Ajouter aux favoris (0)

Le Canada régresse en matière d’apprentissage. Voilà la conclusion du dernier rapport du Conseil canadien sur l’apprentissage publié mardi.

Les auteurs constatent notamment que 25 % des enfants entrent à l’école sans avoir les bases nécessaires à l’apprentissage de la littératie et de la numératie. « Malgré que les Canadiens soient très conscients de son importance cruciale tout au long de la vie de leurs enfants, les dépenses publiques que le Canada consacre à l’apprentissage durant la petite enfance comptent parmi les moins élevées de tous les pays industrialisés », remarque-t-on.

Quant à l’apprentissage à l’âge scolaire, les auteurs du rapport conviennent que le pays fait preuve de nombreuses forces. « Le caractère inclusif et égalitaire de nos systèmes scolaires est un trait particulièrement intéressant comparativement aux systèmes de nos homologues membres de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) », indique-t-on. Cela dit, bien que les élèves canadiens obtiennent régulièrement des rendements supérieurs à la moyenne aux tests internationaux, le Conseil canadien sur l’apprentissage craint de voir le pays perdre son statut de chef de file. Il note que le rendement est en baisse en termes absolus ainsi que relativement à celui d’autres économies.

En matière d’enseignement postsecondaire, le conseil déplore le manque de cohésion, de planification stratégique et de cohérence sur l’ensemble des régions ainsi que l’absence de buts et objectifs communs. « Le Canada perd du terrain face à d’autres pays sur le plan de l’enseignement postsecondaire. L’écart entre la performance du Canada et celle de ses concurrents a l’effet d’un important ralentissement sur notre productivité, nos innovations et notre accès à une qualité éprouvée », écrit-on.

Enfin, le conseil ne note aucun progrès au chapitre de l’apprentissage chez les adultes ou en milieu de travail.

Recommandations

Dans ce dernier rapport de l’organisme qui fermera ses portes ce printemps faute de financement fédéral, on recommande la mise en place d’un conseil des ministres sur l’apprentissage fédéral, provincial et territorial. Le conseil souhaite également la création d’objectifs nationaux « concrets et mesurables » pour chaque stade d’apprentissage. « En l’absence d’une approche pancanadienne soutenue, beaucoup d’apprenants n’atteindront pas leurs objectifs », estime-t-on.

À lire aussi :

Compréhension de l’écrit : les jeunes Canadiens parmi les meilleurs

Les cours après la classe influencent-ils la performance scolaire des élèves?

Des universitaires fiers du système scolaire québécois

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Pour commenter cet article et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Nathalie Côté
Nathalie Côté
Nathalie est journaliste. Ses thèmes de prédilection sont la famille, l’éducation, la santé, la consommation, l’environnement et les phénomènes sociaux. Elle collabore notamment au journal La Presse.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :