ADVERTISEMENT

"Antidote" your French and that of your students

Have you considered using your IWB to do strategic teaching during the writing process? For six hours, forty participants in the AQUOPS thematic day explored the educational possibilities of Antidote HD, a Quebec software to aid writing in the French language.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

Have you considered using your IWB to do strategic teaching during the writing process? For six hours, forty participants in the AQUOPS thematic day explored the educational possibilities of Antidote HD, a Quebec software to aid writing in the French language.

Dolores Tam, trainer at Druide informatique, is passionate about words. She even says that she eats dictionaries, both at work and on vacation. All day long, she invited teachers to travel through the many features of this powerful software.

“We all know how to use paper dictionaries,” she says straight away. But we will see what it is like to use software that is intended to be a bunch of books. With its 125,000 entries, Andidote HD includes a dozen dictionaries that allow you to work on the subtleties of our beautiful language. "It's a library with twelve books," she imagines. I stretch my arm. I choose one and click. "

Antidote HD is useful for both seasoned writers and teachers. Students will also find what they are looking for, whether they are in elementary school or in adult education, French-speaking or in literacy class, skilled with words or with learning difficulties. Using colorful examples, Ms. Tam demonstrated how this sophisticated software can be used by students during the planning, writing and editing phases.

All the words included in the definitions are in hypertext, which allows you to browse from one term to another. His example? The famous word "unconstitutionally" that every student wants to write because it is the longest word in the dictionary. "By looking in the dictionary, he will be disappointed because the definition does not say more," she says. By double-clicking on the word "constitutional" then on "constitution", he will finally be able to find out what this word means. There is no dead end to learning. "

Many practical tips were revealed throughout the workshop. Did you use the font magnification effect (in the lower left corner of the software window), to highlight your explanations? Did you teach how to use the “replace” button to correct in text? This function will become the students' best friend! Have you challenged them to find the cry of the mouse and the tit using Antidote HD? Have you thought about using the hat (upper right corner) to teach a new word every day? Have you considered using the dictionary of co-occurrences to create a word bank during the planning phase? To use the "inspection" filter to dissect texts from different sources to validate the accuracy of information during a documentary search? Here are so many discoveries greeted by "oh" and "ah" on behalf of the participants.

Ms. Tam concludes by slipping a word on the importance of the teacher for teaching writing strategies. “Antidote doesn't understand,” she insists. Students should be taught that if they correct errors automatically using the corrector, this is the best way to sink! It takes the brain of a human being to write… and to analyze all the precious information contained in Antidote's tools! "

Antidote HD is commercial software produced by Druide informatique. It has been evaluated by the teaching team of Educational software.

Your comments

To comment on this topic and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

École branchée
École branchée
The École branchée, a non-profit organization, is your professional development partner in connection with digital competence in education. We believe that education must be able to benefit from current educational and technological advances to better meet the increasingly diverse needs of learners and promote their success, today and for the rest of their lives. We work there through our professional information services, continuing education and the creation of educational tools.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

« Antidotez » votre français et celui de vos élèves

Avez-vous pensé utiliser votre TBI pour faire de l’enseignement stratégique pendant le processus d’écriture? Pendant six heures, quarante participants à la journée thématique de l’AQUOPS ont exploré les possibilités pédagogiques d’Antidote HD, un logiciel québécois d’aide à l’écriture de la langue française.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! 😉

Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :

Avez-vous pensé utiliser votre TBI pour faire de l’enseignement stratégique pendant le processus d’écriture? Pendant six heures, quarante participants à la journée thématique de l’AQUOPS ont exploré les possibilités pédagogiques d’Antidote HD, un logiciel québécois d’aide à l’écriture de la langue française.

Dolores Tam, formatrice chez Druide informatique, est passionnée des mots. Elle dit même manger des dictionnaires, au travail comme en vacances. Toute la journée, elle a invité les enseignants à voyager à travers les nombreuses fonctionnalités de ce puissant logiciel.

« On sait tous utiliser des dictionnaires papier, affirme-t-elle d’emblée. Mais nous verrons ce que ça donne d’utiliser un logiciel qui se veut un bouquet d’ouvrages. » Avec ses 125 000 entrées, Andidote HD comprend une douzaine de dictionnaires qui permettent de travailler les subtilités de notre belle langue. « C’est une bibliothèque à douze livres, image-t-elle. Je m’étire le bras. J’en choisis un et je clique. »

Antidote HD est utile, tant pour les rédacteurs chevronnés que pour les enseignants. Les étudiants y trouveront également leur compte, qu’ils soient au primaire ou en éducation des adultes, francophones ou en classe d’alphabétisation, habiles avec les mots ou en difficulté d’apprentissage. À l’aide d’exemples colorés, madame Tam a démontré comment ce logiciel, pourtant sophistiqué, peut être utilisé par les élèves pendant les phases de planification, de rédaction et de révision de textes.

Tous les mots inclus dans les définitions sont en hypertexte, ce qui permet de butiner d’un terme à l’autre. Son exemple? Le fameux mot « anticonstitutionnellement » que chaque élève a envie d’écrire parce que c’est le plus long mot du dictionnaire. « En cherchant dans le dictionnaire, il sera déçu parce que la définition n’en dit pas plus, précise-t-elle. En double-cliquant sur le mot « constitutionnelle » puis sur « constitution », il pourra enfin savoir ce que ce mot signifie. Il n’y a pas de cul-de-sac à l’apprentissage. »

De nombreux trucs pratiques ont été dévoilés tout au long de l’atelier. Avez-vous utilisé l’effet de grossissement de la police (dans le coin inférieur gauche de la fenêtre du logiciel), pour mettre en évidence vos explications? Avez-vous enseigné comment utiliser le bouton « remplacer » pour effectuer la correction à même le texte? Cette fonction deviendra la meilleure amie des élèves! Les avez-vous mis au défi de trouver le cri de la souris et de la mésange à l’aide d’Antidote HD? Avez-vous pensé utiliser le chapeau (coin supérieur droit) pour enseigner un nouveau mot chaque jour? Avez-vous pensé utiliser le dictionnaire de cooccurrences pour créer une banque de mots pendant la phase de planification? D’utiliser le filtre « inspection » pour disséquer les textes de différentes sources pour valider l’exactitude des informations lors d’une recherche documentaire? Voilà autant de découvertes accueillies par des « oh » et des « ah » de la part des participants.

Madame Tam conclut en glissant un mot sur l’importance du pédagogue pour l’enseignement des stratégies d’écriture. « Antidote ne comprend pas, insiste-t-elle. Il faut enseigner aux élèves que s’ils corrigent les erreurs de manière automatique à l’aide du correcteur, c’est le meilleur moyen de couler! Ça prend le cerveau d’un être humain pour écrire… et pour analyser toutes les précieuses informations contenues dans les outils d’Antidote! »

Antidote HD est un logiciel commercial produit par Druide informatique. Il a été évalué par l’équipe pédagogique de Logiciels éducatifs.

Vos commentaires sur l'article

Vous pouvez commenter cet article ici et y ajouter vos idées!

Publicité par Google


À propos de l'auteur

École branchée
L'École branchée, organisme à but non lucratif, est votre partenaire de développement professionnel en lien avec la compétence numérique en éducation. Nous croyons que l'éducation doit pouvoir bénéficier des avancées pédagogiques et technologiques actuelles pour mieux répondre aux besoins de plus en plus diversifiés des apprenants et favoriser leur réussite, aujourd'hui et pour toute leur vie. Nous y oeuvrons à travers nos services d'information professionnelle, de formation continue et de création d'outils pédagogiques.

Quelques annonces

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer?

Écrivez-nous sans tarder à info@ecolebranchee.com

Vous pouvez aussi publier votre propre texte!
Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Recevez les nouvelles de l’École branchée

L‘École branchée | Hebdo, la publication qui alimente votre boîte courriel pour que vous ne manquiez rien!

Prochaines formations en direct