ADVERTISEMENT

Interactive slides with the Pear Deck app

As a teacher, we like to vary the activities offered to students (quiz, identification, classification, short answer, process, etc.). With digital, in class or remotely, it's child's play! Ghislain Mireault, Secondary 5 teacher in the social world at Académie Lafontaine, introduces us to the Pear Deck tool, which makes Google Slides and PowerPoint slideshows interactive, in addition to offering interesting monitoring and feedback options.

Published on :

Posted in:
READ THIS ARTICLE IN:

ATTENTION! The English translation is automated - Errors (sometimes hilarious!) can creep in! ;)

Mark as favorite (0)
ADVERTISEMENT

As a teacher, it is interesting to offer interactive activities to students (quiz, identification, classification, short answer, process, etc.) from web platforms. Thus, equipped with their electronic device, the students can follow a more masterful lesson while being invited to carry out short activities as the session progresses.

After having tried several tools allowing to add interactive activities to his presentations, Ghislain Mireault, teacher of 5e secondary school in the social universe at the Académie Lafontaine, adopted Pear Deck. He also presented the tool live during a CréaCamp Découverte last October 21.

Why add interactivity to your presentations? “This allows, among other things, to keep many traces of learning. Also, we can check the understanding of all students instantly and give immediate collective feedback accordingly. Individual feedback can then be given in private since the responses of each student are collated, ”says Mireault.

He mentions having noted a higher level of engagement on the part of his students as well as an increased participation. In short, it's a way to get students to stay active and maintain their focus throughout a lesson. 

“It can be as simple as asking students how they feel at the start of class. Immediately, the teacher can orient his lesson according to the general mood of the group, ”he explains.

Pear Deck features

Concretely, Pear Deck is an add-on that is added to Google Slides or PowerPoint. It allows you to make the presentation slides interactive by adding activities. Existing presentations can be edited, so there's no need to recreate everything.

Once the module is installed, a list of activity templates is available on the right of the screen in Google Slides or PowerPoint. Several types of activities (text, multiple choice, numbers, website, drawing / handwriting, move / drop) can be created / modified: complete sentences, demonstrate a mathematical process, classify events in chronological order, identify places on a map, etc.

When the presentation is ready, the teacher clicks the button Start Lesson and can choose synchronous or asynchronous broadcast mode:

  • synchronous (real-time): the pupils connect to Pear Deck, enter the code provided by the teacher and the interactive pages which scroll on their screen are controlled by the latter;
  • asynchronous (student-paced): Students log into Pear Deck, enter the code provided by the teacher and can complete the activities at their own pace.

Pear Deck, in English only at the moment, is available for free with basic functions. With the premium version (paid), a practical control panel for the teacher is added as well as reports for the students. Importantly, to be able to see the answers given during a session live, you need the premium version. Otherwise, we can go and consult the answers once the session is over.

Here is a tutorial to know more!

Can also review training from October 21 here.

Your comments about this article

To comment this article and add your ideas, we invite you to follow us on social networks. All articles are published there and it is also possible to comment directly on Facebook, Twitter or LinkedIn.

Do you have news to share with us or would you like to publish a testimonial?

Publicize your educational project or share your ideas via our Opinion, Testimonials or Press Releases sections! Here's how to do it!

Do you like what you read?

Subscribe and receive the next 3 issues of École branchée magazine (print or digital, French or English) in addition to our exclusive online files!

Learn more >

About the Author

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
After studying public communication, Martine worked as a journalist for various publications, before pursuing her career as an interactive communications consultant at La Capitale, a financial group, then at Québec Numérique, an organization she took over as general manager before making the jump. as political advisor in the office of the Minister for Digital Government Transformation. Today she is the online Editor-in-Chief and Special Projects Manager at l'École branchée. Her dream: that everyone has access to technology and can use it as a tool for learning and opening up to the world.

Receive the Weekly Newsletter

Get our Info #DevProf and l'Hebdo so you don't miss out on anything new at École branchée!





You might also like:

ANNONCE

Des diapos interactives avec l’application Pear Deck

Comme enseignant, on aime varier les activités proposées aux élèves (quiz, identification, classement, réponse courte, démarche, etc.). Avec le numérique, en classe ou à distance, c'est un jeu d'enfant! Ghislain Mireault, enseignant de 5e secondaire en univers social à l’Académie Lafontaine, nous fait découvrir l'outil Pear Deck, qui rend les diaporamas Google Slides et PowerPoint interactif, en plus d'offrir d'intéressantes options de suivi et rétroaction.

Publié le :

Classé dans :
LIRE CET ARTICLE EN :

Traduction anglaise automatisée - des erreurs (parfois hilarantes) peuvent se glisser! ;)

Marquer comme favori (0)

Comme enseignant, il est intéressant de proposer des activités interactives aux élèves (quiz, identification, classement, réponse courte, démarche, etc.) à partir de plateformes Web. Ainsi, munis de leur appareil électronique, les élèves peuvent suivre une leçon plus magistrale tout en étant invités à réaliser de courtes activités au fur et à mesure du déroulement de la séance.

Après avoir essayé plusieurs outils permettant d’ajouter des activités interactives à ses présentations, Ghislain Mireault, enseignant de 5e secondaire en univers social à l’Académie Lafontaine, a adopté Pear Deck. Il a d’ailleurs présenté l’outil en direct lors d’un CréaCamp Découverte le 21 octobre dernier.

Pourquoi ajouter de l’interactivité à ses présentations? « Cela permet entre autres de garder de nombreuses traces des apprentissages. Aussi, on peut vérifier la compréhension de l’ensemble des élèves de façon instantanée et donner une rétroaction collective immédiate en conséquence. Des rétroactions individuelles peuvent être faites par la suite en privé puisque les réponses de chaque élève sont colligées », indique M. Mireault.

Il mentionne avoir noté un plus haut niveau d’engagement de la part de ses élèves ainsi qu’une participation accrue. Bref, il s’agit d’une façon d’amener les élèves à rester actifs et à maintenir leur attention tout au long d’une leçon. 

« Ça peut être aussi simple que de demander aux élèves comment ils se sentent au début de la classe. Immédiatement, l’enseignant peut orienter sa leçon en fonction de l’humeur générale du groupe », précise-t-il.

Les fonctionnalités de Pear Deck

Concrètement, Pear Deck est un module complémentaire qui s’ajoute à Google Slides ou à PowerPoint. Il permet de rendre les diapos de présentation interactives en y ajoutant des activités. Des présentations déjà existantes peuvent être modifiées, donc nul besoin de tout recréer.

Une fois le module installé, une liste de modèles d’activités est offerte à la droite de l’écran dans Google Slides ou PowerPoint. Plusieurs types d’activités (texte, choix multiple, nombres, site Web, dessin/écriture manuscrite, déplacer/déposer) peuvent être créés/modifiés : compléter des phrases, démontrer une démarche mathématique, classer des événements en ordre chronologique, identifier des endroits sur une carte, etc.

Lorsque la présentation est prête, l’enseignant clique sur le bouton Start Lesson et peut choisir le mode de diffusion synchrone ou asynchrone :

  • synchrone (real-time) : les élèves se connectent à Pear Deck, entrent le code fourni par l’enseignant et les pages interactives qui défilent sur leur écran sont contrôlées par ce dernier;
  • asynchrone (student-paced) : les élèves se connectent à Pear Deck, entrent le code fourni par l’enseignant et peuvent compléter les activités à leur rythme.

Pear Deck, en anglais seulement pour le moment, est disponible gratuitement avec des fonctions de base. Avec la version premium (payante), un pratique tableau de contrôle pour l’enseignant s’ajoute ainsi que des rapports pour les élèves. Fait important, pour pouvoir voir en direct les réponses données pendant une session, il faut la version premium. Autrement, on pourra aller consulter les réponses une fois la session terminée.

Voici un tutoriel pour en savoir plus!

On peut aussi revoir la formation du 21 octobre ici.

Vos commentaires

Pour commenter ce sujet et y ajouter vos idées, nous vous invitons à nous suivre sur les réseaux sociaux. Tous les articles y sont publiés et il est aussi possible de commenter directement sur Facebook, Twitter ou LinkedIn.

Vous avez une nouvelle à nous communiquer ou souhaitez publier un témoignage?

Faites connaître votre projet pédagogique ou partagez vos idées via nos sections Opinion, Témoignages ou Communiqués! Voici comment faire!

Vous aimez ce que vous lisez?

Abonnez-vous et recevez les 3 prochains numéros du magazine École branchée (imprimé ou numérique, français ou anglais) en plus de nos dossiers exclusifs en ligne!

En savoir plus >

À propos de l'auteur

Martine Rioux
Martine Rioux
Après des études en communication publique, Martine a été journaliste pour différentes publications, avant de poursuivre sa carrière comme conseillère en communications interactives chez La Capitale, groupe financier, puis chez Québec numérique, organisme dont elle a pris la direction générale avant de faire le saut comme conseillère politique au cabinet du ministre délégué à la Transformation numérique gouvernementale. Elle est aujourd'hui rédactrice en chef adjointe et chargée de projets spéciaux à l'École branchée. Son rêve : que chacun ait accès à la technologie et puisse l'utiliser comme outil d’apprentissage et d’ouverture sur le monde.

Recevez l'infolettre Hebdo

Recevez l'Info #DevProf et l'Hebdo pour ne rien manquer des nouveautés de l'École branchée!





Ces textes pourraient aussi vous intéresser :